Invent, Animate
Everchanger


3.0
good

Review

by ExplosiveOranges USER (28 Reviews)
September 16th, 2014 | 30 replies


Release Date: 08/26/2014 | Tracklist

Review Summary: An enjoyable but ultimately forgettable addition to Invent, Animate's discography.

Progressive metal is one of the more difficult genres to define, particularly because it has a tendency to overlap into other subgenres of metal. From death to black to power to thrash to metalcore, prog will always find a way to fit in, for better or worse. Thus, we come to the year 2014, and a new progressive metal movement has been standing strong for several years now. You’ve got newer bands like Periphery and Tesseract dominating regional sales, while giants such as Dream Theater and Gorguts are still managing to deliver impressive work. Sadly, there’s practically no room for the little fish to move up the food chain. Many end up as generic copycats of The Contortionist or Veil of Maya, and others simply fail to gain enough recognition to stay afloat. Nonetheless, every few years, a gem is salvaged from the rocks of “djent”. A small piece of coal that survived under enormous amounts of stress to become a diamond. Is Texas-based metalcore band Invent, Animate’s new album Everchanger this hidden diamond among the crevices? Well, the short answer is no, but if you can go into Everchanger with the right attitude and lower expectations, it’s a fairly strong piece of iron at least.

Vocally speaking, you’ve got your standard hardcore/metalcore shouting, your death growls, and some higher pitched screams every now and then. However, the clean singing and gang vocals are executed surprisingly well, particularly on “Naturehold” and “Luna”. Unfortunately, this doesn’t quite make up for rather subpar lyrical work, with lines such as An innocent night can’t hear as you cry/”What the fuck am I missing?”/And as you fall and sink to the ground some loved ones die/Some loved ones fight to survive. This probably won’t come as too much of a grievance for those with enough experience in the genre to look past mopey, generic lyrics, but may be somewhat bothersome to others. However, the instrumental work is surprisingly good, with chugging breakdowns (i.e. “The Desperate Are Calm”, “Moon Phase”) being used fairly liberally alongside crunchy riffs and thunderous drums. The leads also shine in tracks such as “Forest Haven”, and the production job is excellent, with a structured and concise yet somewhat distorted approach.

However, the one fatal flaw that Everchanger falls victim to is lack of originality. You’re not going to find anything on here that you haven’t already heard, and chances are that it’s been done better. And this doesn’t by any means make Everchanger a bad album. It’s still undeniably well-executed and an enjoyable listen. But Invent, Animate simply haven’t quite found their niche yet. They’re still stuck using the same old bag of tricks as every other “Sumeriancore” band in the scene. And that’s ultimately what causes them to fall short of their full potential. So, if you’re looking for a nice, new album to go through for a couple listens before another major label release from a bigger band, Everchanger is a comfortable fit for the time being. But if you want something to truly blow you away, then this will ultimately end up as yet another disappointment.



Recent reviews by this author
Francis Harris Minutes of SleepTrvth Inner Thoughts
Acres SolaceDark Fortress Venereal Dawn
Bear in Heaven Time Is Over One Day OldA Slow Descent Secrets of a Melting Moon
user ratings (34)
Chart.
3.8
excellent

Comments:Add a Comment 
ExplosiveOranges
September 15th 2014


2662 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

http://www.revolvermag.com/news/invent-animate-stream-new-album.html

http://tragicherorecords.bandcamp.com/album/everchanger

A quick little metalcore rev. Comments and criticism welcome as always.

Digging: Leon Vynehall - Music For The Uninvited

Gameofmetal
September 15th 2014


1161 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Great review. Probably pretty accurate but I bet I'll enjoy it a lot more. Judging from your description and my listens of the single and previous releases this is probably a 3.5 or even a 4 for me. Mopey lyrics hit me in the heartstrings lol. They seem like a good band. I'll probably give it a listen sometime soon.

ExplosiveOranges
September 15th 2014


2662 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Thanks, man. It was initially a 3.5 for me, but it wore off its charm quickly. You'd definitely dig this, though.

JohnnyOnTheSpot
September 15th 2014


744 Comments


"Great rev as always, man. Will probably pass on this one." [2]



Digging: Ludique - The Road

emester
September 15th 2014


3325 Comments


Yeah this aint for me. Really beginning to hate all of this djenty wanky Progressive metal crap

Digging: Aphex Twin - Syro

Insurrection
Contributing Reviewer
September 15th 2014


21093 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

smells like a new contrib in the works. good job

will probably check this out cause i need my prog metal fix

Digging: The Contortionist - Language

ExplosiveOranges
September 15th 2014


2662 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

@Johnny You bastard!

@emester Yeah man, I feel ya. I can kinda dig "djent" depending on the length and experimentation within the songs, but it's turned to mediocrity for the most part.

melonade
September 15th 2014


377 Comments


Progressive djent dear god what has this world come to

Digging: Myrkur - Myrkur

ExplosiveOranges
September 15th 2014


2662 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

And thanks Ins! You'll probably dig a lil bit.

ConorIsNotHere
September 15th 2014


1277 Comments


"smells like a new contrib in the works. good job" [2]

Album is quite good yeah.

Digging: Banks - Goddess

Lethean
September 15th 2014


145 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

this is ridiculous

Digging: Cowards - World Champions in Male Chastity

Gameofmetal
September 15th 2014


1161 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Don't be a meanie

ExplosiveOranges
September 15th 2014


2662 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

@Conor Thanks! Nice dig btw.



Insurrection
Contributing Reviewer
September 15th 2014


21093 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

is that a naked slenderman in the album art?

ExplosiveOranges
September 15th 2014


2662 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Possibly. I mean, we saw Gandalf in Slugdge's new album art, so anything is possible.

ConorIsNotHere
September 15th 2014


1277 Comments


Cheers EO, it is quite the jam ;]

Calc
September 15th 2014


12191 Comments


this label has he is legend, strawberry girls, Finch, and this crap.....

Digging: Jizue - Shiori

SowingSeason
Staff Reviewer
September 15th 2014


16008 Comments


Great review as per usual. Love that album art.

Digging: Yellowcard - Lift a Sail

ComeToDaddy
September 15th 2014


259 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Nice review man, this is pretty much every qualm I have with this album too, though it wasn't quite so big an issue for me. Even if it's been done before, it was a fun listen

Digging: Spectral Lore - III

ScuroFantasma
September 16th 2014


1829 Comments


sweet review Explo, might give this a listen at some point, sounds like I might dig parts of it.

Digging: Eluveitie - Origins



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy