Acres
Solace


4.0
excellent

Review

by ExplosiveOranges USER (30 Reviews)
September 7th, 2014 | 33 replies


Release Date: 03/31/2014 | Tracklist

Review Summary: A long, lonesome walk on a foggy morning.

Fog. There’s always that eerie feeling you get when walking through it. What creates this uncanny aura within the mind? Perhaps it’s the metaphorical meaning of not being able to find your path though the burden. Maybe it’s the expansiveness of the blanket, how it seems to go on forever. Maybe it’s the unbearable silence, which you can hear so clearly that it becomes chilling. Or maybe it’s none of those things. Maybe the feeling of loneliness, the sense of purpose you feel walking through the acres of fog, brings solace instead of discomfort. Perhaps it brings about a spirit of pensiveness, the ability to simply ponder upon these thoughts in peace and solitude. Now, try to imagine that feeling in an auditory form. What band could create such a soundscape? Behold South England post hardcore band Acres. With their second EP, Solace, Acres manage to combine largely atmospheric elements with their traditional post hardcore sound, and yield surprisingly solid results.

Turn towards the production side of things, and you’ll discover that the mixing is done extremely well. Nothing feels too loud or out of place, and even the softest parts of the songs are fully audible. The guitar work is also well done, with the more melodic and acoustic riffs managing to create a wonderful atmosphere along the more simplistic chugging riffs and tortured vocals. And speaking of vocals, the pained and melancholic screams on the EP provide a stark contrast to the more mellow moments, as well as help bring a fiery and emotional passion to the music. The drums assist in the buildup of tracks such as “Peninsula” and “The Tallest of Mountains”, and provide steadfast support throughout the other songs. At only about 24 minutes and five tracks long, Solace is never a drag, and you’ll be too invested in the music to even notice how abruptly it ends.

But most of all, Acres manage to embrace the mantra of “simplicity is virtue” to their advantage. The music isn’t by any means rhythmically complex, and the songs are pretty short. The lyrics aren’t anything you haven’t read before, and the leads are pretty basic, even for the genre. And yet, it works. Because for everything they lack mechanically, Acres make up with the drive their music has emotionally. From the droning of the guitars to the ambient noise at the end of “Distant Hills”, the atmosphere built by the band manages to come together and create an aural spectacle. The only real negative on the album is the lack of variety in the vocals, but even then, the vocals are only used during the appropriate times and places within the songs, helping to reinforce the highly structured approach.

Fog. There’s always that strange sensation you feel walking through it. But in the end, after it’s all cleared up, there’s that feeling of relief. The realization that in spite of the blinding hazes once obstructing your path, clarity and direction have risen in front of you regardless. And that even though the experience was somewhat discomforting, you wouldn’t change it around, even if you could. That’s exactly the way Solace feels: It’ll initially give you some chills and feel unclear, but in the end, you’ll feel better for having gone through it.



Recent reviews by this author
Electric Wizard Time to DieLeon Vynehall Music For The Uninvited
Francis Harris Minutes of SleepInvent, Animate Everchanger
Trvth Inner ThoughtsDark Fortress Venereal Dawn
user ratings (42)
Chart.
3.9
excellent

Comments:Add a Comment 
ExplosiveOranges
September 7th 2014


2833 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

http://acresuk.bandcamp.com/album/solace

Try to catch the two puns I make in the first paragraph. Anyways, I went for a more personal approach on this one. Feel free to let me know how it turned out!

Digging: Electric Wizard - Time to Die

JohnnyOnTheSpot
September 7th 2014


893 Comments


nice review man. I would've liked more convincing of these 'largely atmospheric elements' you describe in the first
paragraph though, as well as emphasis on the loneliness, sorrow, etc. like, are those just part of your fog analogy, or are
they also descriptors for the album itself? I think if you added some more meat to your third paragraph it would tie
together nicely.

easy pos, and I'm being nitpicky of course

Digging: Godflesh - A World Lit Only By Fire

danielcardoso
September 7th 2014


2253 Comments


Nice one, man. Pos'd.

Gestapo
September 7th 2014


728 Comments


their ep was cool still have to dive into this

Digging: Motionless in White - Reincarnate

ExplosiveOranges
September 7th 2014


2833 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

@Johnny Yeah, I did kinda overdo that whole intro paragraph thingy. This is an experiment among other things, so I'll wait to
see if I can amass some more constructive feedback, and then play around with the review a little. You do raise good points,
though.

@dan Thanks!

@Diamondize/Sour/Gestapo/Whatever the fuck your name is Yup, you might dig.

Gestapo
September 7th 2014


728 Comments


hahahaha none of those are me

Mongi123
Contributing Reviewer
September 7th 2014


10374 Comments


Pos pos pos

ExplosiveOranges
September 7th 2014


2833 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Thx Mongi you should check

Gyromania
September 7th 2014


15791 Comments


idk man, i've gone for many a walk in fog and i've never felt sorrow. wrong word, methinks. seems like you contemplate these things more than me. i'm with you that it's simultaneously serene and eerie, perhaps one more than the other depending on your environment/headspace, but i'm not on board with a fair few of these descriptors.

"Perhaps it brings about a spirit of pensiveness, the ability to simply become one with the world around you, if ever so briefly."

i'm not sure what you mean by 'simply become one with the world around you". doesn't make much sense to me - if anything it gives a feeling of isolation and confusion (again, this can be a pleasant thing, however).

“simplicity is virtue”

doesn't make sense

"But in the end, after it’s all cleared up, there’s that feeling of completion"

again, awkward word choice, i'd say. i don't experience a feeling of completion when the fog is gone

the meat and bones of the review is excellent, but i'm not a fan of that opening paragraph and conclusion. good review nonetheless.

oh and: i think italics work better than bolding for that one bit in your review. it's the only part in the review like that so the eyes go there and it looks funny

Digging: Lantlos - .neon

YakNips
September 7th 2014


11284 Comments


its so weird that u jam emo now

Digging: The World is a Beautiful Place... - Between Bodies

Calc
September 7th 2014


12212 Comments


these intros seem to be getting pretty common.

Digging: Milo - A Toothpaste Suburb

ScuroFantasma
September 8th 2014


1931 Comments


good review. I'm not going to say I'll check this out because I say that all the time and there's so many album i want to listen to.

Digging: Eluveitie - Origins

scottpilgrim10
September 8th 2014


3784 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

Sweet review, any album on the charts deserve a review pos

Digging: Weezer - Everything Will Be Alright in the End

VheissuCrisis
Contributing Reviewer
September 8th 2014


977 Comments


There's a few things that stick out in the opening paragraph, particularly the hopelessness and sorrow, which I don't agree with. The whole intro is pretty poetic, and though you've largely pulled it off it does leave it open for people to disagree with you.

Having said that, the rest is up to your typical standard, and I'm tempted to give this a go. Pos'd!

CaptainDooRight
September 8th 2014


29421 Comments


I mean how could I not be attracted to that art. I mean how

I mean pos

I mean I should prolly check dis, I mean this

Digging: Blut Aus Nord - Memoria Vetusta III ? Saturnian Poetry

VheissuCrisis
Contributing Reviewer
September 8th 2014


977 Comments


Just listened to this and it sounds incredibly DSHS, just shorter songs. Pretty good.

Hopelust
September 8th 2014


1075 Comments


Album cover reminds me of Barrow. By the sound of your review, it might have similar musical qualities.

ShitsofRain
September 8th 2014


5899 Comments


why is this not getting overlooked by sputnik?

Digging: Anthony Shakir - Frictionalism 1994-2009

Atari
Contributing Reviewer
September 8th 2014


19790 Comments


nice review man. don't really have any gripes haha

Digging: Spectral Lore - III

Omaha
Staff Reviewer
September 8th 2014


10211 Comments

Album Rating: 3.7

this does sound like a nice album



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy