Interpol
El Pintor


4.5
superb

Review

by Jake Kannel USER (1 Reviews)
August 31st, 2014 | 25 replies


Release Date: 09/09/2014 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Burn your Joy Division T-shirts, there's a new sheriff in town.

Wow. Seeing as I am younger and a newerought a tear to my eye. I can safely say I never was bored with this album, like I tend to be trying to immerse myself inh strong opening tracks or singles just throw out the rest of the album with worthless drab, and this was such a great change.

I think what really kept me interested thrhingly well, there are little to no problems with this record.


user ratings (554)
Chart.
3.8
excellent
other reviews of this album
Dan H. EMERITUS (4.5)
A new animal, a new work of art....

YetAnotherBrick (3)
too much consistency, too little identity...

oahmed (4)
New York cares. So should we still....


Comments:Add a Comment 
NorthernSkylark
August 31st 2014


8530 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

i wish people would stop making these dumb joy division comparisons



review is ok, tho it looks more like a sound-off that got out of hand (won't neg)

go into detail with some individual tracks and explain what makes them stand out from the flock and why this record is so special. (you only get to your actual point in the last paragraph)



What i gather from this review is: interpol is back in form because they once again play rock and rock is awesome. (and it is not possible to like JD and Interpol at the same time)



Digging: Damien Rice - O

adr
August 31st 2014


11588 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

that summary smh

tommygun
August 31st 2014


26602 Comments


people who wear joy div t-shirts have never actually jammed joy div tho :D

NorthernSkylark
August 31st 2014


8530 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

yeah, it's just like ramones

Arcade
Staff Reviewer
August 31st 2014


8283 Comments


i had to stop wearing my joy division shirt cos people would come up to me and tell me how much they liked the wombats.

Digging: Vince Staples - Big Fish Theory

tommygun
August 31st 2014


26602 Comments


LOL p sure i've told this story already but i saw this dude in a club in a joy div shirt and got all excited and went over and asked him what's his fave joy div song and he went bright red and admitted he didn't know any before scurrying off into the crowd

rat bastard!

Arcade
Staff Reviewer
August 31st 2014


8283 Comments


I'm inclined to petition for an intercontinental law whereby purchasing a joy division shirt requires you to prove you know at least 6 joy division songs, and one of them cannot be "love will tear us apart", and "blue monday" doesn't count.

tommygun
August 31st 2014


26602 Comments


sounds good arcade!

jake dude sorry for derailing your thread here

some pointers on your review: try to avoid so much first person and irrelevant chit chat

a conversational tone is nice but nobody wants to hear about how old you are and how long you've been a fan of the band etc - for
the purpose of a review it simply isn't important

that said you got some decent ideas in here just gotta go about presenting them in a more effective way

keep writing man!

:]

Arcade
Staff Reviewer
August 31st 2014


8283 Comments


I wouldn't say derailing, Interpol are probably the biggest joy division cover band going Lol

WhiteNoise
August 31st 2014


3551 Comments


"people who wear joy div t-shirts have never actually jammed joy div tho :D"

Hey! You leave me and my faded and ratty looking unknown pleaseures T-shirt alone! :D

StallionMang
August 31st 2014


7778 Comments


"Burn your Joy Division T-shirts, there's a new sheriff in town."

Um no fuckin thanks

jefflebowski
August 31st 2014


8536 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

ugh, so much undeserved hype over this

NorthernSkylark
August 31st 2014


8530 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

jeff, we are supposed to disagree on everything.. get a grip

jefflebowski
August 31st 2014


8536 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

empire burlesque is the best dylan album and everyone who says otherwise is a wanker



happy now?

NorthernSkylark
August 31st 2014


8530 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

yes, now you are finally making sense. self portrait is his album for sure

totallyjake
August 31st 2014


23 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

boo hoo, i described it as burn your joy division shirts, big deal it was a joke, lets not take things so seriously. And thanks to anyone who gave me advice.

NorthernSkylark
August 31st 2014


8530 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

boo hoo

Funeralopolis
August 31st 2014


14026 Comments


why is there some sort of phenomenon where people wear joy division shirts but don't listen to them, I don't get it. I actually kind of want to get a joy division shirt cus unknown pleasures is one of my favourite albums but I feel like there is a 'that guy' label applied to people who wear one.

Digging: Fleet Foxes - Crack-Up

LepreCon
August 31st 2014


5399 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Not difficult to be better than their last album. People who wear tees of bands they don't even listen to as a fashion statement should be put to death.

NorthernSkylark
August 31st 2014


8530 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

they should be made to wear earphones



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2017 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy