Morning Effort
I heard you the first time, it just wasn't funny


4.0
excellent

Review

by Mark A. USER (59 Reviews)
August 28th, 2014 | 31 replies


Release Date: 08/23/2014 | Tracklist

Review Summary: I heard you the first time, it just wasn't funny is catchy, wry, and exactly what it needs to be in order to differentiate itself from the pack

Up until recently, I didn't really know what it was like to try to keep up with new releases that might strike my listening fancy. Most of the time I ended up listening to those albums way after the fact, missing many bands along the way. 2014 has been the year that has marked the change for that, and I heard you the first time, it just wasn't funny is a byproduct of an incessant urge to stay up to date with new releases. Morning Effort's most recent EP is certainly charming, but the 11-minute release is more than that. It's the perfect combination of sloppily endearing instrumentals, shout-along lyrics, and self-referential humor (a song called "***ty kinsella rip-off" can attest to that). I heard you the first time, it just wasn't funny is catchy, wry, and exactly what it needs to be in order to differentiate itself from the pack. It doesn't overstay its welcome, which makes highlights such as "Midwestern Self-Depreciation" all the more sweet. The jaunty beginning to "All-nightr" shows the perfect transitioning of the low-key emo stylings into a more energetic pop punk feel. "For Tabasco Use Only" apes Your Favorite Weapon's vocals a bit more aggressively while having a fun stop-start rhythm that keeps its identity despite the vocal similarities. Much like the kid who is the first to make fun of himself stops the other children from picking on him, Morning Effort lay their quirkiness out in the open which allows the listener to enjoy all aspects of the music, including the negatives such as poor production quality and at times sophomoric lyrics. I heard you the first time, it just wasn't funny is the surprise of the year thus far, and boasts of great things for the future of the band.



Recent reviews by this author
Mac Miller FacesThe Banner Greying
Joyce Manor Never Hungover AgainMr. Muddle General's Quarters
Ab-Soul These Days...As Blood Runs Black Ground Zero
user ratings (17)
Chart.
3.5
great
other reviews of this album
Tristan Jones (3)
Everything you love -- or hate -- about bedroom emo in less than ten minutes....


Comments:Add a Comment 
thelastsignal
August 28th 2014


1673 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Super short (I know, I know), and Tristan's review obviously did it justice. I just felt like justifying my 4 rating. Let me know how I did. Neg me if I failed haha, kind of anticipating it.

Digging: The Banner - Greying

thelastsignal
August 28th 2014


1673 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

double post dammit

ExplosiveOranges
August 28th 2014


3913 Comments


Soundoff powers, activate!

Digging: Millicent Waffles - Under Dark Blue Blanket

Judio!
Contributing Reviewer
August 28th 2014


6584 Comments


Always love reading great 1-paragraphers like this. Hard pos.

"Up until recently, I didn't really know what it was like to try to keep up with new releases that might strike my listening fancy...2014 has been the year that has marked the change for that"

Yep same here man.

Digging: Radiohead - In Rainbows

thelastsignal
August 28th 2014


1673 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Thanks Judio, appreciate it man! Yeah, I mean I could legitimately have a top 50 of the year without even throwing in some albums that I didn't care for, and that's crazy to me.

You know you love me, Oranges. ;]

Trebor.
Contributing Reviewer
August 28th 2014


50960 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

wag

Digging: Friendzone - Collection 1

ExplosiveOranges
August 28th 2014


3913 Comments


In all seriousness, good rev. I'm not the biggest fan of soundoff-style reviews, but you managed to pull it off. If anything, Treb approves.

thelastsignal
August 28th 2014


1673 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Treb, I'm getting into emo. Care to point me in the right direction?

Oranges, I totally get that. I think it's not really my style, but I like being able to write them when I come across a short release that I enjoyed but don't have a ton to say about.

Trebor.
Contributing Reviewer
August 28th 2014


50960 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

cap'n jazz
mineral
sunny day real estate
american football
snowing
empire! empire!


thelastsignal
August 28th 2014


1673 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I have american football, snowing, and sunny day real estate. I love american football and snowing, sdrs is just okay. I will check the other three out soon. Thanks man.

Atari
Contributing Reviewer
August 28th 2014


20166 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

great short review man, i need to check this one out

Digging: Johann Sebastian Bach - Brandenburg Concerto No. 5 in D major, BWV 1050

ExplosiveOranges
August 28th 2014


3913 Comments


Don't get me wrong, I'm sure that short reviews can be just as good as longer reviews, but when the review is so short that there are legitimate soundoffs longer than it, I start to tread lightly. Doesn't mean it can't be pulled off well, though. Look at Sobhi or Treb.

Atari
Contributing Reviewer
August 28th 2014


20166 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

this is barely even shorter than your last review oranges lol

thelastsignal
August 28th 2014


1673 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Thanks Atari, I think you'd dig this honestly. Pretty fun stuff.

Honestly, I'd rather have a short, succinct review than one that drones on and on for 6-7 paragraphs but that's personal preference.

Trebor.
Contributing Reviewer
August 28th 2014


50960 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

agreed

ExplosiveOranges
August 28th 2014


3913 Comments


Lol, you're right Atari. My reviews have been getting shorter. I think I've come to realize that that isn't a bad thing.

Atari
Contributing Reviewer
August 28th 2014


20166 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

haha just giving you a hard time man

the screams in this remind me of the hotelier tbh

SowingSeason
Staff Reviewer
August 28th 2014


17017 Comments


I can almost cover this review with my thumb

Digging: Have a Nice Life - The Unnatural World

ComeToDaddy
August 28th 2014


421 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

If Johnny's review hadn't already convinced me to listen, this would have. Pos'd, nailed the short format

Digging: Taake - Stridens hus

JohnnyOnTheSpot
August 28th 2014


1984 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0 | Sound Off

Damn, these guys are catching on

Digging: Kate Carr - Fabulations



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy