Led Zeppelin
Led Zeppelin II


4.5
superb

Review

by The Door Mouse USER (29 Reviews)
April 21st, 2006 | 61 replies


Release Date: 1969 | Tracklist


Ah, Led Zeppelin, where do I start. They changed the way we look at music. Blending heavy metal, classic rock, blues, and folk music and made it sound perfectly awesome. I think you can all agree with me that no one can do better than what they did. One of there biggest catalysts of there career is there 2nd album Led Zeppelin II.

The band members:
Robert Plant-vocals
Jimmy Page-electric guitar and acoustic guitar
John 'Bonzo' Henry Bonham-drums
John Paul Jones-bass, mandolin

1) Whole Lotta Love- Best opening track ever on any album made. Its a remarkable song with a great everything but the guitar stands out the most in this song including great opening riff at the beginning. Awesome great bass guitar comes in. At around 1:20 in the song it starts getting weird but cool, great effects come in and Bonham goes crazy on the cymbals. Then at 3:03 it speeds up with one of pages great guitar solo. As this song closes out then it goes to the beginning and dim down. I whole lotta love this song. (4.5/5)

2) What Is And What Should Never Be- Starts out very clam and soft with a great bass line. Later in the song Bonham does a pretty basic drum fill and then it gets louder and better. The lyrics are strong, the music is good and it�s got a nice bluesy feel to it. (4/5)

3) The Lemon Song- This song has a nice bluesy feel to it also. It has Plant�s distinctive vocals, Page's cool guitar riff; an awesome bass line by John Paul Jones and to finish it of Bonham has strong drums to carry them through the song. This song perfectly fits in with the whole album. (4/5)

4) Thank You- This is an great song for just chillin' and relaxation. Starts off soft the gradually gets louder then softer as Plant comes in with absolutely stunning lyrics. As the bass goes along with its flowing rhythm and the drums are soft but still Bonham like you stay entertained the whole song as page just plays a mellow acoustic. (4/5)

5) Heartbreaker- This is one of the best songs by LZ. It starts out with the catchiest guitar riff ever. All the instruments come in to play and then with great lyrics. Then the highlight of the song comes in. Page just flat out goes wild on his axe shredding his guitar for a good minute. The rest of the member come in and work to the end of the song with a good driving feel and then the great epic song comes to an end. (5/5)

6) Living Loving Maid (She's Just A Woman)- I have mixed feelings about this song. The previous song Heartbreaker leads right into it and you think its going to be a great song because its connected to Heartbreaker but do not let it fool you. It has got a cool riff and an above average background. The thesis of the song is bad and it's just the lowest point of the album. The one good part about the song is its bluesy. (3.6/5)

7) Ramble On- This is a great tune. You hear Page come in with great acoustic and then John Paul Jones coming in with terrific bass. This sounds really relaxed and mellow and all that good stuff then the chorus comes in. RAMBLE ON!!!! And it is just really cool with some electric guitar. Then back to some more mellow stuff for a while and goes right into that chorus. It does that cycle one more time and at the final chorus it has layers and layers of excellent vocals and lyrics. What a song. (5/5)

8) Moby Dick- Or as I like to call it Bonzo's happy time. Starts out with a really good guitar riff and your immediately drawn to this song like a magnet. Some really cool, quick guitar solos and then the best part of the whole album. Bonzo goes nuts on the drums for like 2 minutes and I thought I was going to have a heart attack. As his finest moment comes to and end then it goes back to Page and Jones doing there thing and I was in shock after it. Only Bonham. (5/5)

9) Bring It On Home- This song is the definition of blues. Really good basic blues riff. Then plant comes in with really good harmonica that I love and then and nice electric guitar comes in and it speeds maintaining the bluesy feel with wicked punchy drums and a sweet bass line. This song really does finish this album really well. (5/5)

Overall: This album is really great. From WLL to BIOH it kept me entertain through out the whole thing. That is what and album is all about. (4.5/5)



Recent reviews by this author
Okkervil River The Stage NamesPrefuse 73 One Word Extinguisher
Explosions in the Sky All of a Sudden, I Miss EveryoneSpoon Ga Ga Ga Ga Ga
Ghostface Killah IronmanDream Theater Train of Thought
user ratings (2748)
Chart.
4.4
superb
other reviews of this album
1 of

Comments:Add a Comment 
Iluvatar
Staff Reviewer
April 21st 2006


16089 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

This barely justifies its existece in my opinion (the review, not the album). Another Zep. II review. It wasn't bad, you could have touched on some new things that the other reviews didnt at least, though.

Jimmy
April 22nd 2006


717 Comments


I don't know, "were" do you start?

Jimmy
April 22nd 2006


717 Comments


Ugh, I almost stopped reading after the opening paragraph...

"One of there biggest catalysts of there career is there 2nd album Led Zeppelin II."

I really had to push myself to finish reading after that mess of a sentence. This review is uninformative, poorly written and adds absolutely nothing to the previous reviews of this album. Before you post anymore reviews, listen to spat's advice and work on improving your grammar and descriptive language. Read some of the reviews written by other members.

Jimmy
April 22nd 2006


717 Comments


Sorry, but I have trouble adding the constructive part to the criticism.

south_of_heaven 11
April 22nd 2006


5436 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

give him a break, it was his first review, and its still better than most 1st reviews.
Alright, it wasnt bad for your first time, but you really should run a grammer and spell check through this thing before you submit it.
Keep on working, you'll be fine in no time!

Jimmy
April 22nd 2006


717 Comments


I'm sorry you feel I was being harsh. I felt I was simply being honest.This Message Edited On 04.22.06

JohnXDoesn't
April 22nd 2006


1283 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

It's not so much the spelling and grammer I don't appreciate as the content. The reviewer has potential, but the fanboyism when it comes to Zep runs too deep. I seldom see anything by any reviewer of their albums that is negative or questioning. Grand statements such as "the catchiest riff ever", "best opening track ever on any album ever", and "the definition of the blues" lol, is just irritating to read. Especially for the umpteenth time. This Message Edited On 04.22.06

JonG
April 22nd 2006


19 Comments


What are people accomplishing by reviewing albums that have been reviewed multiple times?

JohnXDoesn't
April 22nd 2006


1283 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

MX (Jeremy) encourages the practice. Sputnik is all about "rating your music". It's a fun little community project. Not to be taken too seriously, it's all for fun, I suppose. And let's face it, if it didn't happen this place might slow to a crawl sometimes. So that's how this place operates. It's a bit loosey goosey and classic albums are born everyday, apparently. But I'm getting used to it. Jom says to just have fun with it, so I've taken that to heart lately.

Zesty Mordant
April 22nd 2006


1196 Comments


Am I the only person that thinks Moby Dick is a bad bad song?

JohnXDoesn't
April 22nd 2006


1283 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

You are not the only one, no. Nothing wrong with Bonham's playing, of course. And maybe that kind of thing was the order of the day in some quarters at the time, but I find it dreadfully dull and self-indulgent by any standard. Drum solo, yay.....

The Jungler
April 22nd 2006


4827 Comments


Am I the only person that thinks Moby Dick is a bad bad song?

Hey, it's a hell of a lot more interesting than that Poison song, Drum Solo (included on one of there live LPs)
As for the review, the grammar was pretty awful, though the rest of the review was all bad. Some of the track descriptions were actually pretty good. Try typing it on Microsoft Word next time (or listening to that little paperclip guy). Better luck next time.This Message Edited On 04.22.06

metallicaman8
April 22nd 2006


4677 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

I think you guys need to cut this kid some slack sure it's a pretty bad review, but it's his first review and judging from the horrible grammar he's probably only 12 maybe 13. I would call this a valiant effort for some one of such a young age, especially considering it's an album thats already had several very good reviews done on it, so this review is pretty bad it looks worse because of the comparison to other reviews. I would recommend next time perhaps reviewing an album thats not quite so well known. So that their won't be sooo many reviews to try and beat. Also, If i'm wrong and you're older than 13, 14 at the very most. Then get with it dude you're grammar is terrible for a person of your age.This Message Edited On 04.22.06

tom79
April 22nd 2006


3376 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Great album, Heartbreaker is so good.

Digging: Wil Wagner - Laika

FrddyBrnRgrJhn
April 22nd 2006


81 Comments


"Then get with it dude you're grammar is terrible for a person of your age."


hehehe nicely said. YOU'RE grammar isn't so hot either

Thor
April 22nd 2006


10200 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Not really a necessary review, seeing as how we have so many already.

metallicaman8
April 22nd 2006


4677 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

I'm aware that my grammar "is not so hot either" but I myself am only 13 years of age so what do expect?

FrddyBrnRgrJhn
April 22nd 2006


81 Comments


yeah it's cool, i wasn't being completely serious. we all make grammar mistakes. i'm only 15, so i make my fair share of them.

metallicaman8
April 22nd 2006


4677 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

aha I wasn't being completely serious either. I just now realized that my message sounded wuite serious and a little angst, my bad. I just ment to poke fun at people my age and our annoying slang and all that hoo-ha.

Two-Headed Boy
April 22nd 2006


4527 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

Aw, this review ain't too bad, especially for a first. Well done, man.

Led Zep never really appealed to me. I think they're pretty over-rated. Except When The Levee Breaks. Fantastic song.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy