Prawn
Kingfisher


3.0
good

Review

by Robert Lowe CONTRIBUTOR (92 Reviews)
August 27th, 2014 | 18 replies


Release Date: 08/12/2014 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Prawn get lost at sea

For better or for worse, Prawn have been one of the more consistent groups in the emo revival scene. Their mixture of The Appleseed Cast-esque post-rock sensibilities and a very mellow pop-punk delivery not unlike Into It. Over It. Prawn have released several several quality releases filled to the brim with mellow, calming, and at times atmospheric vibes. However, consistency can be a detriment when a sound becomes too safe and familiar. This is the case on Prawn's latest release Kingfisher, which is solid, but doesn't offer anything new.

Prawn have steadily been refining their chops in their rather long lifespan by emo standards (over seven years), and this progression culminated with their 2012 release Ships. Ships was less raw than previous works, it was catchier, it was tighter, and it had an appropriately short runtime considering how tiring and same sounding this brand of emo can be. Kingfisher has almost as many standout moments as Ships, but they're spread out over ten tracks instead of six, and the tracks as a whole have a more homogenized sound that effectively blends all the songs together. Similar to fellow post-rock influenced emo band Moving Mountains' latest release, much of the band's energy and charm is lost when their sound becomes too mellow, too slow, too familiar, and most importantly, too safe.

Prawn are a very strong band with a lot of potential, but at this point in their career, they need to be branching out more. Everything that's good about this record has been done better, fresher, and with more energy by similar bands, and Prawn themselves. Kingfisher is a fine record by most emo revival standards, but Prawn could have, and already have done better.



Recent reviews by this author
Have Mercy A Place Of Our OwnPianos Become the Teeth Keep You
Tiny Moving Parts Pleasant LivingEmpire! Empire! (I Was a Lonely Estate) You Will Eventually Be Forgotten
Kyary Pamyu Pamyu Pikapika FantajinBrave Bird T-Minus Grand Gesture
user ratings (66)
Chart.
3.8
excellent
other reviews of this album
ExplosiveOranges (4)
Not the crowning jewel of the emo revival scene, but a bright gem nonetheless....


Comments:Add a Comment 
Trebor.
Contributing Reviewer
August 27th 2014


50850 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

flag plz

Digging: Bobby Barnett - Little Wounds

tommygun
August 27th 2014


25094 Comments


but rob isn't this just a copy/paste of every other emo revival review you've written?

with the band and album names changed, of course :D

Digging: Banks - Goddess

Trebor.
Contributing Reviewer
August 27th 2014


50850 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

naw cos I wrote 3 paragraphs instead of 1

but yeah every damn emo band has been disappointing me lately

hopefully the new tiny moving parts will change that

SnakeDelilah
August 27th 2014


8653 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

they're from ridgewood damn

Digging: Casualties of Cool - Casualties of Cool

ExplosiveOranges
August 27th 2014


3599 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

flag plz

Goddammit.

Digging: Apparitionist - Godspeed

skoopy48
August 27th 2014


1561 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Damn I usually agree with your opinions treb but not this time. This album rules

DrJohn
August 27th 2014


489 Comments


Well, while I won't pretend caring about the emo scene or this album, one could wait for an album already reviewed on the front page to pass, before posting his own... it is a matter of good manners imho.

Trebor.
Contributing Reviewer
August 27th 2014


50850 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

u wot m8

fromtheinside
August 28th 2014


19029 Comments


"hopefully the new tiny moving parts will change that"

duh

Digging: Ibex Throne - Ibex Throne

Arcade
Contributing Reviewer
August 28th 2014


3174 Comments


why does emo revival suck so aggressively

Digging: Damien Rice - My Favourite Faded Fantasy

SowingSeason
Staff Reviewer
August 28th 2014


16785 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

I'm with you Trebor. I don't understand the massive hype surrounding this.

Digging: Damien Rice - My Favourite Faded Fantasy

Trebor.
Contributing Reviewer
August 28th 2014


50850 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

nice nice

I'm so hesitant to check out the new Maybeshewill

SowingSeason
Staff Reviewer
August 28th 2014


16785 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

It's fairly good. I liked it a lot at first but it's grown off me significantly. It's watered down by their standards but still better than most post rock out there right now.

Diamondize
August 28th 2014


1367 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

boring

F0RBES
September 21st 2014


276 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

this is maybe like the second best record all year and that riff at the end of absurd walls, well i could listen to it all day.

SnakeDelilah
October 9th 2014


8653 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

IT'S THE FLOOOOOOOOOOOR I'M REACHING FOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOR

F0RBES
November 14th 2014


276 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

I'm surprised this is only at 3.8. Especially since that TMP album is at 3.9.

NightProwler
November 15th 2014


6539 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Album didn't impress me much - it lacks some bite or nerve.
But it sounds pretty and has a nice atmosphere, so will probably 3.5 it

Also, good review Treb, sounds about right

Digging: Astpai - Burden Calls



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy