Plebeian Grandstand
Lowgazers


4.5
superb

Review

by f k a s l u t USER (3 Reviews)
August 27th, 2014 | 61 replies


Release Date: 03/31/2014 | Tracklist

Review Summary: One of the most frantic and chaotic albums you will hear this year.

Those who were fortunate enough to listen to 2010's How Hate Is Hard to Define were treated to an absolutely chaotic and unrelenting experience. It was a dense album that surprisingly wasn't immediate as one would expect. Taking multiple listens to sift through the noise and dissonance, ultimately to find a band that are on top of the game when it comes to any kind of chaotic hardcore. Adding a dab of black metal influence only made their sound more harsh and unassessable. It was an uncompromising beast of an album that took no prisoners. It was hardcore at its most extreme, and overall a fantastic album.

Fast forward 4 years and Lowgazers is the same fare. Plebeian Grandstand hasn't softened up a little bit as apparent from the start as "Thrvst" goes straight for the jugular. The rest of the album follow suit, every song is crazy and seems to be this close to absolutely losing it, making for an enthralling listen. As uncompromising as it is, they still make room for slower section, including ambient ones, (most notably on "Relief of Troth") that really help break the album apart. The faster, crazier sections seem that much faster and crazy when they are juxtaposed against a slow, or ambient part of a song. This does a great job at never making the album grow stale, or completely engulfing the listener when going through it.

It's a dense album that will surely take multiple listens to really appreciate Lowgazers, but is a rewarding one. Lowgazers takes the cake of being the most dense of the two, in no way is this a bad thing. It ends of being better overall because of it. The only obvious downfall is how quiet the vocalist is compared to the band. He tends to get drowned out by the rest of the band at times and he should have been put a little higher in the mix. This is a minor gripe as he is still as absolutely furious as ever. If the idea of a blackened, grimier, and more chaotic Converge excites you, and seems like a good time check this out. You won't be let down.


user ratings (53)
Chart.
3.9
excellent
related reviews

How Hate is Hard to Defin
recommended by reviewer
The secret Luce

Comments:Add a Comment 
chesse13
August 27th 2014


4178 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

CONSTRUCTIVE CRITICISM PLEASE!


THIS IS GOOD ONE OF MY FAVES THIS YEAR SO GOOD

Digging: -

SomeGuyDude
August 27th 2014


89 Comments


Little casual in language, some grammatical issues here and there, but the review sounds objective and gets the point across without getting too bogged down in details.

Pos'd, and I agree with the rating. This album is balls-out crazy.

ChoccyPhilly
August 27th 2014


7831 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5 | Sound Off

Sweet this finally has a review. Still letting this all sink in but the first two tracks are so good

Digging: The Visit - Between Worlds

Gestapo
August 27th 2014


728 Comments


review is bad ok but album rules so u are forgiven

chesse13
August 27th 2014


4178 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

thanks someguydude. yeah philly this took me a bunch of listens to really get all of it, but it clicked and oh man it is good

chesse13
August 27th 2014


4178 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

review is bad ok but album rules so u are forgiven

how?

Gestapo
August 27th 2014


728 Comments


jk i didnt read it but im sure its fine

ChoccyPhilly
August 27th 2014


7831 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5 | Sound Off

I'd argue this is a bad review but there really isn't any other way of describing this other than the second paragraph. So i suppose you did it justice, pos'd

chesse13
August 27th 2014


4178 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

you bastard

@gestapo

chesse13
August 27th 2014


4178 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

I'd argue this is a bad review


how?

ChoccyPhilly
August 27th 2014


7831 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5 | Sound Off

Well not a bad review but a rushed review

chesse13
August 27th 2014


4178 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

does it read rushed? because i didn't rush typing it. there really isn't a whole lot to say about it but idk

ChoccyPhilly
August 27th 2014


7831 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5 | Sound Off

yeah exactly but it just could be me. To be fair, you might as well be describing one song because that's pretty much the extent of the sonic variation

chesse13
August 27th 2014


4178 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

yeah exactly. this album isn't really diverse when it comes to that. it works because it does it well enough so you don't really mind there isn't much sonic variation.

ChoccyPhilly
August 27th 2014


7831 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5 | Sound Off

The lyrics on this are pretty redundant, I still don't know a single word that's said throughout. Definitely AOTY contender

chesse13
August 27th 2014


4178 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

idk if you could call that redundant though. it would be if he used the same words and themes throughout and just said the same thing over again. the words aren't easy to understand... would you call jane doe redundant lyrically?


also this band is from france so idk if they are ever saying things in english haha

ChoccyPhilly
August 27th 2014


7831 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5 | Sound Off

Funny you say that but that was one of the reasons I could never get into Jane Doe. First of all it's the "mood I have to be in" and how the lyrical themes doesn't match with the music. I understand the whole point of it (sheer aggression/anger) but the music is always what I hear first.

I definitely don't listen to this for the lyrics

wacknizzle
August 27th 2014


13602 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

Deja vu, was about to order this on vinyl but I can't decide between it or No Absolutes by Gaza

Digging: Redwood Hill - Collider

chesse13
August 27th 2014


4178 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

i personally like this a little more so i'd go with this. you really can't go wrong with either.


or you could get both

wacknizzle
August 27th 2014


13602 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

Even though Gaza is a hard 5 I might get this before it sells out and becomes even more expensive



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy