Causa Sui
Pewt'r Sessions 3


3.5
great

Review

by Raul Stanciu STAFF
August 25th, 2014 | 25 replies


Release Date: 08/18/2014 | Tracklist

Review Summary: There is no such thing as summer without Causa Sui.

After reestablishing themselves last year as a prime psychedelic rock act, releasing the magnificent Euporie Tide, Causa Sui needn't have rushed to come up with something new for quite a while. The fans are still grasping the beauty of that album, yet the Danish quartet chose to move on. The latest material was born from new jamming sessions with Ron Schneidermann, that ran in parallel with the tight recordings of Tide. Since these Pewt'r Sessions are more free jazz-oriented, the guys made sure they threw everything into the mix. As a result, the third volume heavily contrasts his predecessor, plus it even feels the loosest so far from the entire series.

The three tunes are surely cut from hour-long jams and pieced together, especially the 27-minute closer, 'Incipiency Suite'. Oscillating synthesizers and a wah guitar start this prolonged journey, carving the path for the rhythm section which locks itself into a long, steady groove. Then comes the second guitar that leads them, churning from a few sparse notes to Eastern-tinged patterns. The intensity differs as each instrument does its own thing. Around midpoint, new sounds emerge and continue to grow to a familiar, gentle Causa Sui riff. It's all done in the pure hypnotic way we are used to hear, until the gorgeous coda rises in between multiple noisy soundscapes. It is a shame the song ends on such a beautiful note, only because you would expect these chords to be further expanded. Still, we have to remember it's a jam session that works really well at times. Even though it feels like it could have been trimmed a bit, I believe it would have lost its overall vibe.

The two, shorter compositions aren't to be skipped either. Like 'Incipiency Suite', both boast a rather haunting feeling that's more characteristic to the Pewt'r Sessions. 'Abyssal Plain' starts with a long improvised intro, before morphing into a slow, wobbly piece. The loud climax features some cool drum fills and moaning guitars, that give way to the unsettling lullaby, 'Eutopia', acting like a shorter passage to the mammoth closer. It is quite repetitive, but it features some nice, eerie keyboards and a great, deep bass line.

Even with all the positive aspects put together, the album fails to live up to the really high standards set by Euporie Tide, unless you really dig jam rock. Of course, you can't look at it with the same eyes since it consists more or less of just a few cool jamming sessions laid to tape. Nevertheless, it's interesting to hear the intense chemistry between the band and Schneidermann and such breaks are welcomed in Causa Sui's discography. However, these free roaming cuts will merely provide you a glimpse of their musical prowess or perhaps a closer look at their usual rehearsals. Of all the Pewt'r Sessions, this might be weakest and still, it is a solid work that will feed the fans until a proper, studio record lands sometime soon (fingers crossed).




Recent reviews by this author
The Ting Tings Super CriticalMark Lanegan Phantom Radio
KMFDM Our Time Will ComeThe Asteroid No. 4 The Asteroid No. 4
Amplifier MystoriaKarma To Burn Arch Stanton
user ratings (4)
Chart.
3.8
excellent

Comments:Add a Comment 
insomniac15
Staff Reviewer
August 25th 2014


3459 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I wasn't aware of this record until a week ago, so I kinda rushed the review. Hopefully it came out okay.

Eutopia - http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=B1fG3vgeHpc

Digging: The Ting Tings - Super Critical

JamieTwort
Contributing Reviewer
August 25th 2014


21110 Comments


Had no idea these guys had a new one out. I'll check this out eventually, I liked their previous album a lot. Never really got into the other Pewt'r sessions albums though.

insomniac15
Staff Reviewer
August 25th 2014


3459 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Yeah, the Pewt'r Sessions are a bit hit and miss. There are a few cool tracks though. I wasn't aware either, it was a quiet release I guess. The vinyls are coming in the next couple of weeks.

I was so angry the last chords on Incipiency Suite stopped there lol. Those would've been the start of a really cool song. Maybe they'll use them later.

JamieTwort
Contributing Reviewer
August 25th 2014


21110 Comments


I got Euporie Tide on vinyl last year, not sure if I'll pick this one up or not.

Great review btw.

insomniac15
Staff Reviewer
August 25th 2014


3459 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Thanks. Man, I really love that album, I got it on CD. I had expectations for this, but since they are another volume of Sessions I knew it won't top it lol.
Hopefully, next year or sometime soon they'll come up with another rehearsed record.

Mad.
August 25th 2014


3999 Comments


Wait, new Causa Sui!?? What?!

insomniac15
Staff Reviewer
August 25th 2014


3459 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Yeah, exactly. No one saw it coming.

Wolfhorde
August 25th 2014


13672 Comments


Whoa, ninja'd hard.

Mad.
August 25th 2014


3999 Comments


Great review, makes this look very interesting since I haven't heard any of the Pewt'r Sessions yet with their jazzier vibes. Listened to Eutopia and am listening to Incipiency Suite now, great stuff so far but not hitting Euphorie/Summer Sessions heights

insomniac15
Staff Reviewer
August 25th 2014


3459 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

True. The entire series has a different vibe. Some tracks are great, but some could've been worked more I guess.

Mad.
August 25th 2014


3999 Comments


Just finished the Suite, has some awesome moments, especially in the first and third quarter but the 'random jazz' noises are a bit annoying. Probably will end up at a 3.5

In terms of instrumental stoner rock, at least I've got the new Methadones Skies to look forward to... ; )

insomniac15
Staff Reviewer
August 25th 2014


3459 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Oh, I forgot about those guys. They take so long to release an album!

ExplosiveOranges
August 25th 2014


3256 Comments


Sweet review, Raul. I just started jamming these guys the other day, so I might wait a little bit before moving on to this one.

Digging: Run the Jewels - Run the Jewels 2

NorthernSkylark
August 25th 2014


3904 Comments


good review

they still have a live album that isn't even in the database

Digging: Jamie xx - Girl/Sleep Sound

insomniac15
Staff Reviewer
August 25th 2014


3459 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

@ exposiveoranges - thanks! well, this isn't a highlight of their career, check out Summer Sessions and Euporie Tide first.

@skylark - the live at Freak Valley right? i'll add it tonight when i get home

Asmodeuss1990
August 26th 2014


200 Comments


Didn't even know this got released. Swaaaaaaaaaag.

Digging: Revocation - Deathless

Mad.
August 26th 2014


3999 Comments


Beatcha to it Raul

I imagine these guys would be amazing live

insomniac15
Staff Reviewer
August 26th 2014


3459 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Yeah, they really are. Check out the full live set from this year's Duna Jam Festival. They play on a beach!

tommygun
August 27th 2014


24992 Comments


nice one raul love your stuff as always

might give this one a go, euporie tide was a jam

insomniac15
Staff Reviewer
August 27th 2014


3459 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Thanks man! It's worth some spins! However, it won't be a classic album of theirs.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy