Accept
Breaker


4.0
excellent

Review

by manosg USER (37 Reviews)
August 22nd, 2014 | 23 replies


Release Date: 1981 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Accept is still a band looking for its identity but Breaker is an excellent offering and a taste of things to come.

The year was 1981 and Accept had already released two albums. The quality of their work up until that point was not subpar per se but the band was generally dissatisfied from the outcome of both albums commercially and artistically. Accept’s sophomore effort I’m a Rebel saw a band that didn’t have a specific identity, was influenced by outsiders and their focus revolved around sales. However, I’m a Rebel failed to achieve significant sales and in hindsight this was the best thing that could happen for both Accept and its fans. That failure forced the band to reach a significant decision which influenced their career drastically; they decided to release music that appealed first of all to them.

Breaker is the definitive turning point in Accept’s discography and the beginning of the band’s most successful period. Compared to what followed, Breaker is less metallic but more wild and playful. The music on this album is very influenced by the likes of Scorpions, Judas Priest, UFO and even Rainbow and AC/DC. The songwriting is very strong while the standouts are definitely the guitar work and Udo Dirkschneider’s distinctive vocals. Moreover, what you’ll find on this album is old-school dynamic heavy metal, as you might already have figured out, with energetic tracks such as the anthemic twin guitar title track with a riff that may remind some of you Rainbow’s “A Light in the Dark” or the equally powerful “Run If You Can” with its addictive chorus. Both tracks are standouts as is “Can’t Stand the Night”; an emotional power ballad with an exceptional performance by Udo. A song that reflects the band’s frustration at the time is definitely “Son of a Bitch” with its explicit lyrics; probably Accept’s answer to their critics and to those who influenced them in a negative way. “Midnight Highway” and “Burning” are both tracks that could have been released by the Brian Johnson-fronted AC/DC with a few Uli Jon Roth guitar licks.

Overall, Breaker scores high on the consistency department even though the first side might seem stronger to some listeners. The music may not be exactly ground-breaking but it certainly makes up with its quality. Fans of Scorpions, UFO and old-school metal with twin guitars will certainly enjoy this album that deserves a mention alongside Restless and Wild and Balls to the Wall.



Recent reviews by this author
The Paul Butterfield Blues Band Paul Butterfield Blues BandNina Simone Pastel Blues
Nightfall Athenian EchoesTheatre Of Tragedy Aegis
Toots & The Maytals Funky KingstonThree Seasons Grow
user ratings (82)
Chart.
3.6
great

Comments:Add a Comment 
manosg
August 22nd 2014


6256 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Because Accept and Breaker need more love on here.

Full album: http://grooveshark.com/#!/album/Breaker/465472

Digging: Acrimony - Tumuli Shroomaroom

BigPleb
August 22nd 2014


37130 Comments


Damn manos, you are a reviewing machine!

Awesome work as usual, pos'd hard.

Digging: Kayo Dot - Coffins on Io

manosg
August 22nd 2014


6256 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

haha, thanks man. I was preparing a review for their latest album but ExplosiveOranges did such a great job with that so I decided to write something about this one.

BigPleb
August 22nd 2014


37130 Comments


Ye, I'm not very familiar with this band tbh. What would be a good starting point?

manosg
August 22nd 2014


6256 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

My personal favorite is Restless and Wild so you might want to start with that. If you like it and don't mind checking a couple more, I'd say go with this one and Balls to the Wall. All three are excellent albums.

Voivod
Staff Reviewer
August 22nd 2014


6205 Comments


How come this album didn't have a review already?

Pos



One tiny suggestion:

[i]Breaker[i]

[ i ]Breaker [ / i ]

Digging: Seduced (AT) - The Proclamation

manosg
August 22nd 2014


6256 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Oops, thanks for noticing that. I was surprised as well that this album didn't have a review considering that their first two have.

ksoflas
August 22nd 2014


398 Comments


Sweet review manos.
Pos'd.

Confucius
August 22nd 2014


186 Comments


The album cover is the face of women when I take off my pants and show them my wisdom.

piroga84
August 22nd 2014


129 Comments


good good manos!

Sabrutin
August 22nd 2014


924 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Sweet review, pos'd.

My favorite tracks are definitely "Run If You Can" and "Midnight Highway".

Digging: Riot V - Unleash The Fire

menawati
Contributing Reviewer
August 22nd 2014


16057 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

great review, some excellent tracks on this one

Digging: Lo-Pan - Colossus

manosg
August 22nd 2014


6256 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Thanks guys. Lots of great moments on this one mena, agreed.

Atari
Contributing Reviewer
August 22nd 2014


19926 Comments


it's fitting that you would review this now man, i was planning on checking out some of their older stuff today :D nice review pal

Digging: Transit - Joyride

manosg
August 22nd 2014


6256 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Thanks man, nice timing indeed! Hope you'll enjoy their older stuff. I'm almost sure you will.

Judio!
Contributing Reviewer
August 22nd 2014


6270 Comments


Hard pos, why the fuck haven't I listened to this band yet?

Digging: Porcupine Tree - In Absentia

manosg
August 22nd 2014


6256 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Thanks dude! You'll probably enjoy them, knowing you're a Judas Priest fan.

KILL
August 22nd 2014


71955 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

sweet rockin

Digging: Exodus - Blood In, Blood Out

deslad
August 22nd 2014


365 Comments


Great review as usual man, pos. I haven't really checked out this band but I will centainly do so.

Digging: Rainbow - On Stage

DrJohn
August 22nd 2014


489 Comments


Nice choice… One must appreciate a 5’5’’ front man screeching like that and still going strong at 62. Maybe I wouldn’t go for a 4 here but the album is good... the review as well. Pos and Run if you can is a guilty pleasure.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy