Shai Hulud
That Within Blood Ill-Tempered


2.0
poor

Review

by SubtleDagger USER (35 Reviews)
April 20th, 2006 | 17 replies


Release Date: 2003 | Tracklist


The issue that seems to always be addressed with Shai Hulud is the sheer pretentiousness in their lyrics. Let me come right out and say I don't care at all about the lyrics (aside from a few choice places where I have to hear the band members reciting them in boring spoken passages as if they mean something, which only happens for one annoying section). Yes, they're lame and overly pretentious. Yes, anyone who loathes Shai Hulud could inherently argue that the lyric "Without pretention" at the start of the second track is kind of useless given that the song is about a foreword to "The Hobbit" by J.R.R. Tolkien. However, I seriously don't give a crap about the pretentious lyrics, title, and overall attitude of these kids and I'm not going to bother getting analytical about it. This is mostly because these lyrics are not bad enough for me to discount the album for it.

Nope, the problem here is the music.

You see I was checking out my record store's hardcore record section back in 2003 when I came across this. A sticker saying "Florida hardcore, good listen" was plastered atop it. Well why not? I grabbed it and put down the thirteen bucks for it. To this day, it is rarely taken out of my CD case (save for occasions like this). And yet, I have come to find that Shai Hulud has a near spotless rapport in the hardcore community, and even in the pop-punk community where they got a slight fanbase of New Found Glory fans (Chad Gilbert was on vocal duties for Shai Hulud for some time). I was also later to find this was effectively their last album.

Well, as far as I am concerned, Shai Hulud prove on this album that they are simply not coherent, lyrically or musically. Cohesion by all accounts seems to be a completely lost concept for them. I don't like monotone hardcore screams, I'll be the first to admit, and this record is full of them. Not even that breaks the record so much for me as the fact that Shai Hulud seems content with writing a perfectly good riff, then slowing or speeding up the tempo, and finally playing a completely different riff that has absolutely no relation to the original one (and is usually not any good). Repeat this process about a thousand times and you have That Within Blood Ill-Tempered.

Why? I just want a song with a decent amount of structure. I mean, I listen to bands that can be insanely random: The Dillinger Escape Plan, Between The Buried And Me, PsyOpus, all sorts of technical metal bands. But the thing that seperates them from this band is that those bands know how to connect ideas. Shai Hulud clearly has no clue how to do this. They go from one riff on a very basic scale (usually E minor, which the actual "good" riffs on this album have a major overreliance on), then switch to a completely random chord that has no relation to anything at a tempo that has even less relation to anything over and over again, and ultimately make me turn the CD player off. I cannot tell you the number of times I have attempted to give this album a chance and have just decided I'd rather listen to a band who knows what they're doing.

Even my favorite song on here infuriates me with how much these guys can ruin a perfectly good formula. That song is "Two And Twenty Misfortunes" and feel free to take a listen to it to see what I mean. The song makes it just thirty seconds over the two minute mark before becoming a total exercise in annoyance. It is past the point of being bad... it seriously just makes me think to myself, "Look you stupid jerks, this song had PROMISE. Why do you have to completely ruin it in favor of stupid extensions on a great riff?!" It really is completely and totally frustrating to see so much potential wasted like this in almost every song on this record. They all seem decent enough when they start, a good enough riff comes by, an actual sort of melody, and then we have to shift to something else that is rendered completely meaningless. Consider this and the fact that that is the farthest any song on this record reaches before hitting that annoying area and you'll see why I'm lambasting it.

So why a two and not a zero? Because the band clearly knows what they're doing; they have talent and there are good, albeit fleetingly good, riffs on here. I am sure there are good albums in their discography before this one. That being said, this is simply not one of them. I will have no difficulty sliding it back into my case of CD's where it will probably stay until I get the unreasonable urge to give it another chance. And then, of course, I will be sorely disappointed all over again.



Recent reviews by this author
Saccharine Trust Surviving You, AlwaysFrodus And We Washed Our Weapons In The Sea
Inade The Crackling of the AnonymousComus First Utterance
Upsilon Acrux Last Train OutFlying Lotus 1983
user ratings (354)
Chart.
4.1
excellent
other reviews of this album
Brokenjewel (5)
A complex and consciously artistic metalcore triumph....

Nick Greer EMERITUS (4.5)
...


Comments:Add a Comment 
Lartsa
April 20th 2006


23 Comments


Too bad they broke up.This Message Edited On 04.20.06

SubtleDagger
April 20th 2006


737 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

There are still whispers of them doing a reunion tour all over the place. I've heard all kinds of stuff over the past year and given the hardcore scene's persistence with that sort of thing, I wouldn't doubt it.

And granted, I don't think they're a bad band at all; I would probably enjoy their other records quite a bit. This record is just not my bag, though.

SubtleDagger
April 20th 2006


737 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

I actually rate on a ten scale and half it. This is about a four due to the fact that's it's really short and the song I mentioned is about seventy-five percent good. In other words, I have no issue with saying forty percent of the album is decent. The other sixty percent I could do without.

In hindsight, I would edit out the first paragraph (it's leftovers from another original starting paragraph) but I have no clue how.
EDIT: Nevermind.This Message Edited On 04.20.06

XxcheetoxX
April 21st 2006


78 Comments


They're not broken up, I'm seeing them in May or June.

emocorepunkboy
September 11th 2006


3 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

i think they are recording a new record in 2006/07.
read ap mag for july or something to read the article on "oral history of shai hulud" thay didnt break up unless it was after that issue

RighteousAnger
January 5th 2007


10 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

This has to be the dumbest album review of an amazing record I've ever seen;trust me, I've read a lot of them. I really really enjoy how you call the lyrics pretentious yet fail to mention why you think that. Maybe you read that in another dumb review? Maybe you just don't understand the lyrics? Just because it's more intelligent than the norm does not mean that it's pretentious.

The great thing about Shai Hulud is that the lyrics and music go hand in hand; it'd be unfair to the band to assume otherwise. Take the song "Given Flight By Demon's Wings" for example. EVERY line in the song is accompanied with a riff that genuinely displays the emotion in the actual lyrics. If there's an uplifting line in the song, you can hear it in the riff. If there's a pissed off line, you'll hear it. Let me know if you can find another metal/hardcore band that does that while keeping the intelligence and technicality at the level that Shai Hulud does. All I hear is sheer brilliance.

I can't wait for the worm's debut on Metal Blade so they can keep making every other "melodic harcore/metal" band look like complete idiots.

Abaddon2005
October 3rd 2007


684 Comments


I cannot tell you the number of times I have attempted to give this album a chance and have just decided I'd rather listen to a band who knows what they're doing.


So why a two and not a zero? Because the band clearly knows what they're doing


Should fix that.



bshaulov
December 4th 2008


2 Comments


Funny, I clearly see you stating you listen to BTBAM, but you gave their album colors a 2.5. What? This sounds less like a review and more like hate trolling. You also didn't read over your review very well.

"I cannot tell you the number of times I have attempted to give this album a chance and have just decided I'd rather listen to a band who knows what they're doing."

"So why a two and not a zero? Because the band clearly knows what they're doing; they have talent and there are good, albeit fleetingly good, riffs on here. I am sure there are good albums in their discography before this one."

Give me a break. You gave Savage Garden and Dashboard Confessionals a 4. Either you are trolling or you have no knowledge of music.

Next time you review an album you plan on rating a two, at least choose a genre you enjoy.



Essence
December 4th 2008


3585 Comments


Not a bright one are ya bshaulov?
Look at the post above yours.

SubtleDagger has not been active on the review sections for about 9 months now, your time is wasted.This Message Edited On 12.04.08

Zeromus Dark
December 5th 2008


45 Comments


I Kind of agree with bshaulov. Too bad no one will ever read his comment. Everyone is entitled to their opinion, I suppose.

Spec
May 7th 2011


27170 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Decent review but you're fucking wrong!

RosaParks
April 8th 2012


14908 Comments


worst review ever

Trebor.
Contributing Reviewer
April 8th 2012


50362 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Ummmmmmmmmmm








who gives a fuck about the lyrics?

Digging: Viper the Rapper - You'll Cowards Don't Even Smoke Crack

ChuckyTruant
May 29th 2012


15716 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Agreed

Digging: The Contortionist - Language

Spec
May 29th 2012


27170 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

cool review

expire
May 29th 2012


162 Comments


jersey represent!!!

SadAndHolyGlow
November 12th 2012


1520 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5 | Sound Off

Great review. I totally agree with your thought on how inconsistent they are and how they can't seem to make a cohesive musical structure. Pos'd!

Digging: Death From Above 1979 - You're a Woman, I'm a Machine



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy