Savant
Alchemist


2.0
poor

Review

by ExplosiveOranges USER (39 Reviews)
August 18th, 2014 | 29 replies


Release Date: 2012 | Tracklist

Review Summary: A terribly average dubstep album weighed down by its length and lack of variety.

Dubstep has become somewhat of a controversial genre in recent years. On one hand, there are the critically praised “true dubstep” producers from the U.K. who stick with the mellow, garage-influenced sound of early dub. On the other end, there are the more commercially successful “brostep” artists from the U.S., who have designed a much more aggressive sound based around buildup and bass drops. The main problem with “brostep” is the fact that it simply relies upon the formula of “vocal sample-synth buildup-bass drop” too often, causing it to become a stagnant, repetitive subgenre. Even attempts by mainstream artists such as Skrillex to “experiment” have resulted in blatant rip-offs of better producers, like Burial. So, along comes Norwegian brostep producer Aleksander Vinter, A.K.A. Savant, who claims that “Savant syndrome” gives him the ability to produce a ridiculously huge amount of music easily. However, does quality outweigh quantity? Look no further than his most popular work, Alchemist, for the answer.

Initially, the album is actually quite fun to listen to, with the strong opener “Mother Earth”. Of course, it’s still dumb, party music, but it’s enjoyable, dumb, party music. However, as the album begins to progress, it becomes more and more dull and repetitive, falling victim to the same issues that have plagued the subgenre for years. Savant simply fails to throw in almost any sort of variety into his music. It just follows the same generic format over and over again. But then the worst part dawns on the listener: The album is one hundred minutes long. Artists such as Kill The Noise and even early Skrillex can be enjoyable to listen to because despite the formulaic, continuous structure, the music doesn’t drag on for long enough to become unbearable. But one hundred minutes of buildup to the next monotonous bass fart for every single song is borderline torture. Sure, there are some promising tracks such as “Melody Circus”, “Sledgehammer”, and “Pirate Bay”, but then there are the tracks that drag on such as “Sky Is The Limit”, “Konami Kode”, “The Horror”, and “Manslaughter”. There’s just too much filler to give off any feeling of a truly complete album.

Truth be told, it’s possible that brostep is destined to simply die out and be remembered as nothing more than dumb, party music. But with better artists such as Seven Lions and Reso, Savant is likely to fall behind and simply be remembered as the guy who produced a ridiculous amount of music, but could never make his one gem. If you’re a big fan of Excision or Skrillex, you’ll most likely get into this easily, but anyone looking for a new and interesting take on the genre will be disappointed greatly.



Recent reviews by this author
Carcass Surgical Remission/Surplus SteelKnife Party Abandon Ship
Black Milk If There's a Hell BelowSoen Tellurian
Big Nig Big Ass WankersWinterfylleth The Divination Of Antiquity
user ratings (33)
Chart.
3.8
excellent
related reviews

Protos

Orakel
recommended by reviewer
Skrillex Bangarang
Excision X-Rated

Comments:Add a Comment 
ExplosiveOranges
August 18th 2014


3606 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5 | Sound Off

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=MHZSF6JnYxI

First dubstep review! Comments and criticism welcomed as always.

Digging: Apparitionist - Godspeed

Rinx7
August 18th 2014


16 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0 | Sound Off

This album would be significantly better if it was only like 8 or 10 songs. The problem with every Savant album is the same, they are very wide, but pretty shallow.

danielcardoso
August 18th 2014


2561 Comments


Good review, pos'd from me.

thelastsignal
August 18th 2014


1500 Comments


Nice review, man! I can give you some in-depth criticism tonight if you'd be interested. Pos'd of course. This sounds pretty terrible.

Digging: Achilles - Hospice

Slut
August 18th 2014


2476 Comments


A terribly average dubstep album weighed down by its length and lack of variety.

pretty much what mine said about this guy. so over indulgent

ExplosiveOranges
August 18th 2014


3606 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5 | Sound Off

Thanks, fellas! Yeah sig, feel absolutely free to do so.

pretty much what mine said about this guy. so over indulgent

I used to like this guy, until I realized there was much better brostep, let alone dubstep, that was out there.

VaxXi
August 18th 2014


710 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Well written, but going to have to disagree.

ExplosiveOranges
August 18th 2014


3606 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5 | Sound Off

Fair enough.

BMDrummer
August 18th 2014


9401 Comments


good review

Digging: Fugazi - First Demo

BelchingSlime
August 18th 2014


25 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

You've got some valid points (especially about the length), but I don't see how you think this lacks variety. If you find this monotonous, I don't know what other dubstep you could even stand.

ExplosiveOranges
August 18th 2014


3606 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5 | Sound Off

Burial, Digital Mystikz, Seven Lions, Reso, Sepalcure, Kill the Noise, and Distance, just to name a few. But I can understand where you're coming from. As I said, I used to like this guy a lot more back in the day.

VaxXi
August 18th 2014


710 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Looking at what you listen to, you seem like the wrong kind of guy to review an album like this. No offense though, as you do bring valid points (like Savant needing to stop stuffing 20 tracks onto each of his albums) though I do feel like Savant is a guy that people who are more into the dance-ish electronic music should be reviewing.

Also nice spots on Mystikz and Sepalcure. Theyre awesome.

ExplosiveOranges
August 18th 2014


3606 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5 | Sound Off

@Vax Fair enough, but once again, this is all technically subjective. If you like the guys music, that's fine. I just feel as though he has more potential to create interesting music. Maybe that's just a shame on me. And thanks!

VaxXi
August 18th 2014


710 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Yeah I know, subjective and stuff. Also I would say Protos is worth checking out from him, since its more rock and pop centered than electronic centered. It's far from perfect but it's quite nice.

VaxXi
August 18th 2014


710 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

That is if youre looking for something interesting from Savant, I would say start by listening to Rider In Red.

ExplosiveOranges
August 18th 2014


3606 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5 | Sound Off

I'll think about it.

Judio!
Contributing Reviewer
August 18th 2014


6480 Comments


Excellent review, and major props for reviewing totally outside your comfort zone! Can't stand dubstep personally so I won't even bother with this guy.

Digging: The Twilight Sad - Fourteen Autumns and Fifteen Winters

ExplosiveOranges
August 18th 2014


3606 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5 | Sound Off

Thanks, Judio! Nice dig btw.

Brostep
Staff Reviewer
August 18th 2014


3488 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0 | Sound Off

yeah, sweet review. totally agree re: score as Savant is just one of those people who keeps churning out songs that are decent but not more and sticking way too many of them onto an album. one thing I will say (aside from: don't necessarily do an intro to the genre as half your review - I want to hear about the music, not dubstep as a whole! and I've done this far too many times myself) is that your last paragraph seems just a bit elitist. i.e. "if you like x music, you'll love this, but it's still shit." and obviously your tone isn't nearly that harsh but you should judge the music not on whether it's dumb party music but on whether it's good dumb party music. this is coming from the guy who named himself brostep obviously but there's such thing as good brostep (reso, SL, skrillex, etc) and not all of it is bad dumb party music although most of it is dumb party music.

Rinx7
August 18th 2014


16 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0 | Sound Off

I like dumb electro music. I think Feed Me's first EP was real good. This album is still a 2.0. MAYBE a 2.5. Savant makes a lot of songs that all sound very similar and don't bring a whole lot to the genre. The only standout track on this album is Sledgehammer.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy