The Ruins Of Beverast
Unlock the Shrine


4.0
excellent

Review

by Anthemic USER (6 Reviews)
August 18th, 2014 | 29 replies


Release Date: 2004 | Tracklist

Review Summary: An imaginative album that stands out in the crowd.

The Ruins of Beverast is a German atmospheric black metal project formed in 2003 by Alexander von Meilenwald. TROB has released four full length LPs, starting with their debut in 2004, “Unlock the Shrine.” This is an incredibly unnerving-sounding ambient release with relatively clear production for the genre, distorted electric guitars, and incredibly fast blast beats as the pillars holding up Meilenwald’s unique vocals. With a deep guttural sound and plenty of reverb, they stand out among the waves of same-sounding harsh vocals in a lot of black metal.

The album has an eerie sound, illustrated on the spoken opening to the first song, “Between Bronze Walls,” then leading into slow, repetitive guitar riffs and a simple drum beat that lasts until the end of the song, while more quotes that I can only assume come from a movie, and Meilenwald’s booming vocals play over the music. Every song is unique with various instrumental interludes, spoken interludes, strange passages of ambient noise, and kick-ass black metal with all of Alexander’s vocal fury. “Euphoria When the Bombs Fell,” the third track on the album, opens right with furious blast beats and a wall of distorted electric guitars. This track is easily the harshest on the album, though it has breaks with an orchestra singing over a funky drum beat midway in the song at the ending fade-out. The title track, “Unlock the Shrine,” open with more speech from a deep and robotic voice before the instruments kick in over some inaudible dialogue, which fades out into a single lasting guitar chord for several seconds when furious blast beats and deep echoing vocals make an entrance, really kicking off the track. There’s a notable (but short) guitar solo towards the end, and then it’s more of the same until the end of the track.

At times, “Unlock the Shrine” leaves the listener bored due to over repetition, but that’s a rarity for the most part. It’s an amazing album full of imaginative songwriting that truly takes you on a journey through Meilenwald’s twisted mind. With strange interludes and odd instrumentation, anyone who enjoys atmospheric or even experimental black metal should enjoy this album.



Recent reviews by this author
Paysage d'Hiver NachtNyktalgia Peisithanatos
Lugubrum De TotemMake a Change...Kill Yourself II
Elderwind The Magic of Nature
user ratings (84)
Chart.
4.1
excellent

Comments:Add a Comment 
Anthemic
August 17th 2014


335 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I've been having a little bit of writer's block lately so I just wrote a short review. Pos if you like it, comment why if not.

Riotsugar
August 18th 2014


183 Comments


really good album but I dont like the interludes much.

Foulest Semen is probably his best.

Anthemic
August 18th 2014


335 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

The interludes are either hit or miss with me, though I like most of them.

ComeToDaddy
August 18th 2014


1589 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Pos'd, nice review. To the point and this album deserved one. This album was my least favorite to start with but it grew onto me as Foulest Semen grew off me. Euphoria When the Bombs Fell is too good

Wolfhorde
August 18th 2014


15369 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

"really good album but I dont like the interludes much.



Foulest Semen is probably his best."

Dude, don't even. Rain Upon The Impure.

SourAK
August 18th 2014


1628 Comments


ye i like foulest the best too but that's just me

ComeToDaddy
August 18th 2014


1589 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I definitely like Rain Upon the Impure most too (thus my 5 review on it), but Foulest has its own merits. I just didn't like how pristine the production was, needed a bit of murk like RUtI had

Anthemic
August 18th 2014


335 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I still need to check Semen out.

Wolfhorde
August 18th 2014


15369 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

"I definitely like Rain Upon the Impure most too (thus my 5 review on it), but Foulest has its own merits. I just didn't like how pristine the production was, needed a bit of murk like RUtI had"

Exactly what I'm thinking. I mean I wouldn't say he got musically worse after Rain Upon the Impure but he was REALLY god damn good at raw production which I think fit his music perfectly, which was also shown on the Gott In Uns split.

zaruyache
August 18th 2014


17700 Comments


Probably-important-band-that-people-here-don't-seem-to-appreciate-that-much gets a review pos'd.

Artuma
August 18th 2014


29044 Comments


haven't heard this yet but i'm listening to rain upon the impure for the first time atm and it rules so hard

ComeToDaddy
August 18th 2014


1589 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I think Rain Upon the Impure is on a whole other level to his other releases, but if you enjoy it then you'd probably like this too.



@wolf, Gott In Uns split? Haven't heard of it before, you'd recommend?

Anthemic
August 18th 2014


335 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

That's been all of my reviews so far Zaru.

zaruyache
August 18th 2014


17700 Comments


Mine too! Except that Panopticon one. That was foar funzies.

Hawks
August 18th 2014


50853 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I didn't dig Foulest at all, but Blood Vault is awesome. I gotta give this one a listen.

Digging: Mur - Heartworn

Anthemic
August 19th 2014


335 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Check out Rain Upon the Impure before this one.

Wolfhorde
August 19th 2014


15369 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

"@wolf, Gott In Uns split? Haven't heard of it before, you'd recommend?"

Yeah. Ruins of Beverast, Deathgate Arkanum, Nihil Nocturne and Anti. Deathgate Arkanum and TRoB's songs are best IMO. The TRoB song: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=tW3VGU4tVUU

ComeToDaddy
August 19th 2014


1589 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Shit, I had it turned up to hear all the grime, and when those vocals hit at 2:05 I jumped. This is vicious, I'll check out the rest of the split for sure, thanks man!

Wolfhorde
August 19th 2014


15369 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Yeah, I think his vocals in general (particularly on that split and on RUTI) are incredibly "vicious". There has been a bunch of good stuff released under the banner of Ván in general. Especially if you dig some more "raw" stuff. Truppensturm, Kermania, Graupel, Verdunkeln, Nagelfar.



Our best stuff in terms of BM were pretty much always "hidden gems" like this. If you dig some Bathory-esque stuff you could also have a crack at Mayhemic Truth or their follow-up band Morrigan (I'd recommend their earlier material, though)

ComeToDaddy
August 19th 2014


1589 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Yeah this song sounds just like a cut from RUTI, after finishing it I can say I'm a huge fan.



I loved Nagelfar's first album but I haven't heard of the rest. I honestly haven't delved thoroughly into bm because there's so much to get through, but I'll dive into some of those recs, starting with Mayhemic Truth since Bathory is my jam. Thanks a heap



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2017 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy