The Relapse Symphony
Shadows


3.5
great

Review

by Dalton DuBois USER (31 Reviews)
August 12th, 2014 | 18 replies


Release Date: 07/08/2014 | Tracklist

Review Summary: The dream is dust, the deed is done, and I’ve got my hands around the gun

The 2010’s have so far been an interesting period in terms of influences, with descending branches of bands taking their own styles and infusing them with the signature traits of their favorite bands. The Relapse Symphony is such a band, accumulating over half a million Facebook likes in only a little over a year. The Relapse Symphony take cues from Avenged Sevenfold and Black Veil Brides and combine with their own unique mix of Post-Hardcore and Pop Punk to create an infectiously catchy debut album complete with varied guitar passages, addictive hooks and a surprising amount of variety.

The determining factor of whether someone will enjoy this album or not will likely rest on their enjoyment of vocalist Bret Von Dahl. His range and note delivery is spot on and he has no problem carrying a tune, however he shares the same problem that Vic Fuentes and multiple other vocalists have in the fact that their nasally tone can be quite off-putting to some. If you can look past this minor stylistic difference, you’ll find that his vocal capabilities allow him to keep up with the often fast paced instrumentation without difficulty. His harsh vocals are another story entirely; after the second chorus in the ballad “Forever Slowly” this becomes apparent as he can jump from a low guttural to a high shriek with ease. The shame of it all is that his screams are underutilized on this album or throughout the majority of their discography. Gang vocal chants are another common feature prevalent throughout the album and will often help to elevate the impact of a verse. The lyricism is your standard optimistic affair in the vein of Black Veil Brides, often touching on themes of romance, finding strength in yourself and standing up for what you believe.

The instrumentation can be summed up in three words; catchy, technical and melodic. You have three types of songs on here, motivational anthems such as “We are the Broken”, pop punk jams such as “Angels Take Us, Demons Save Us” and darker rock numbers like the title track. The guitarists stand out here, riffing, sweeping and soloing away for the majority of the album and often take the spotlight in front of the other instruments. This doesn’t mean that the other instruments are lazy by any means, what’s surprising the most is that there’s quite a bit of technical bass work going on in the background, unfortunately the crisp production style undermines the bass’s impact a bit too much. The drumming throws in some interesting fills and pedal work here and there but it’s mostly your standard affair. There’s a fair amount of strings and piano littered throughout various tracks on the album as well, adding an extra dimension and bringing forth more atmosphere.

When a band takes more cues from their influences than most they always run the risk of possibly being written off as a copy band (Vampires Every-Manson), however The Relapse Symphony have blended their style so well that they have cemented their place in the scene as a unique band with plenty to offer, and it’ll be interesting to see if they can consistently deliver and capitalize on their strengths in future releases.



Recent reviews by this author
Neurotic November Fighting WordsThe Illustrator A Tale of Modern Theatrics
Mayday Parade Black LinesJayyVon 10CMD
The Beatle Bronies Apple RoadFronzilla Party People's Anthem
user ratings (13)
Chart.
2.3
average
related reviews

Born To Burn

Comments:Add a Comment 
SourAK
August 11th 2014


1628 Comments

Album Rating: 1.0

ive been listening to way too much good music lately so im gonna check this

emester
August 11th 2014


7694 Comments


"The Relapse Symphony take cues from Avenged Sevenfold and Black Veil Brides"
Oh boy two of my favorites -_-...
Not gonna touch this even with a 50 foot pole in that case...


Digging: Eternal Champion - The Armor of Ire

VaxXi
August 11th 2014


1572 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

Sounds like the band missed an opportunity to have some really good pro-chorus hooks. Or maybe im just expecting bands that have post hardcore attached to their names to have more screaming. Also the vocalist sounds like he would fit right in a disney made boy band.

VaxXi
August 11th 2014


1572 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

Hmm, my biggest gripe with this album is that it feels to weak in aspects and areas where it really shouldnt, and like I

said before the vocalist sounds like he could fit right in with Jonas Brothers or some shit. I do agree that the main

melodies from the guitarist are nice though.

TheSpirit
Contributing Reviewer
August 11th 2014


21006 Comments


This isn't a bad review, just kind of boring. I probably won't listen to this.

Digging: Dance Gavin Dance - Mothership

SourAK
August 11th 2014


1628 Comments

Album Rating: 1.0

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=VEbSsJ6rCIU



omg what did i just sign up for

emester
August 11th 2014


7694 Comments


Cant say Im a fan snide :[

SourAK
August 11th 2014


1628 Comments

Album Rating: 1.0

aye but i said i would and im not a beta who turns back

VaxXi
August 11th 2014


1572 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

Like I said, nothing really hooks onto me, just sounds like the song drones its 3-5 minutes then its gone out of my head for good. The lyrics aren't really anything worth writing home about, especially in that broken song and the electronic aspects dont really mix well though thats more of production bland issues it seems to me.



Also again, that vocalist just does not fit in well with the others. But eh, thats just my thoughts. maybe if I listen to it a bit more and few more tracks my opinion will change.

VaxXi
August 11th 2014


1572 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

If I can find a stream anywhere, id rather not dig for a torrent for something I may or may not like.

Insurrection
Contributing Reviewer
August 11th 2014


24007 Comments


your writing keeps getting better and better man, pos'd

just a couple minor things id say: the second paragraph has three "however"s pretty close to each other, maybe switch one out with another adverb just to avoid repetition? also in the third paragraph a colon should replace that comma before the list like: catchy, technical, and melodic.

an a7x and BVB combo sounds really redundant so i think ill stay away from this

SourAK
August 11th 2014


1628 Comments

Album Rating: 1.0

wow im actually on that exact song right now

SourAK
August 11th 2014


1628 Comments

Album Rating: 1.0

http://youtu.be/QH0A9F9kxXs

AmbushReality
August 12th 2014


23 Comments


Listening to the We Are the Broken track, and it sounds like a BVB b-side after recruiting a couple pop punk guitarists. Don't get me wrong, I like Black Veil Brides, no shame. But the vocalist can't sing and the hooks/lyrics are extremely cheesy and nearly cringe-worthy. I respect everyone's opinion, but I don't know how this record could be a 3.5 after hearing this.

VaxXi
August 12th 2014


1572 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

Im with Ambush on that on, but then again stuff like BvB and A7x or whatever has never really appealed to me.

Apollo
August 12th 2014


10667 Comments


that song you posted is terrifyingly bad haha

beachdude
Contributing Reviewer
August 12th 2014


793 Comments


Average record is average

Inferis
August 17th 2014


454 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

this album makes no goddamn sense to me. I personally know these guys so I was gonna review it for them but... I don't get it. It's weak in parts that make no sense. Vocalist not the strongest part of the band? Don't put him in my face when you're mixing it. This could have been a lot better than it was. The last track, for whatever reason, has the right production for their sound but the rest don't at all.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2016 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy