Godsmack
1000hp


1.5
very poor

Review

by jitteryzeitgeist USER (36 Reviews)
August 11th, 2014 | 60 replies


Release Date: 08/05/2014 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Why the hell did I even listen to this? Oh, and they rip off the song 'Lateralus'.

In my recent Clutch review of Earth Rocker, I described a band who has stuck to their guns, kept things simple, followed a formula, and produced a series of great albums. I described a band who speaks in confidence and rules their sonic universe with a crooked grin and a swagger that would be difficult to break. I also spoke on the gulf of difference between this swagger and Tapout Tuffguy lunkheaded rock. Little did I realize I'd be speaking about the opposite side of that rock coin so soon, and here it is with longtime nu-metal leftovers Godsmack and their newest album, the comically juvenile 1000hp. The cover you see up there describes this album to T; there are no surprises at all.

Before we even get started on this review, I'd like to point out that 'Turning to Stone' on this album has a direct rip-off intro riff of Tool's song 'Lateralus'. I mean, blatant rip-off. That right there is a display on the creative bankruptcy that permeates every corner of this band's work. That being said, there's also 'Nothing Comes Easy', which comes incredibly close to sounding like the intro for 'Orion' by Metallica. It gets worse, folks.

1000hp has Godsmack putting out 11 mid-tempo rockers of extraordinarily little variance. Each song follows a the ABABCB song structure to the point where you can guess ninety percent of the song before it happens. Now, numerous bands can do verse/chorus/verse/bridge songs and make it work, but Godsmack has dynamics so flat and uninspired that this ends up making the entire album sound like the same damn song. Once in a while they try to spice things up, like the interlude section of 'Generation Day', but that damn thing just drones on and on and on and on...

Sully Erna, a semi-competent singer, is a terrible wordsmith. Despite all of his different approaches to the same problem, his songs are mostly about somebody else being a dick and over-baked rock clichés on how difficult life is and not belonging (There's even a song called 'I Don't Belong'), and as a real surprise there's confident Sully telling you how awesome and amazing he is and you suck for not being him. I almost had an epileptic fit when he claims he isn't going to 'burn out like a has-been old cliche', because the entire album is cliché. It's truly terrible.

Their instrumentation is exactly the same now as it was on their debut album. If you've ever heard a Godsmack song then you know exactly the kind of music you'll find here. Even the filtered wah-wah sound from the their first album is still here in full force.

This album is just so, so damn bad.



Recent reviews by this author
In This Moment BloodClutch Earth Rocker
Nothing More Nothing MoreSoilwork The Living Infinite
Killswitch Engage Disarm the DescentShinedown Amaryllis
user ratings (83)
Chart.
2.4
average
other reviews of this album
gordodustin (3)
Not as good as their last effort, but still an overall solid album to add to their discography....


Comments:Add a Comment 
FeedingNetherlands
August 11th 2014


343 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

сука пизды дам мразь

FeedingNetherlands
August 11th 2014


343 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Nice review, the rating is about right

jitteryzeitgeist
August 11th 2014


98 Comments

Album Rating: 1.5

How do you have this album as a 4.0

FeedingNetherlands
August 11th 2014


343 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I'm a DIE-HARD GODSMACK FAN

jitteryzeitgeist
August 11th 2014


98 Comments

Album Rating: 1.5

Oh, I can read Russian by the way.

пошел на хуй

jitteryzeitgeist
August 11th 2014


98 Comments

Album Rating: 1.5

Oh, excuse me.

пошла́ на хуй

Didn't mean to be impolite.

FeedingNetherlands
August 11th 2014


343 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

No, you can't, you used a translator.

FeedingNetherlands
August 11th 2014


343 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I'm not a girl, by the way, so you can insult me any time you want.

TheSupernatural
August 11th 2014


1293 Comments


That "Turning to Stone" plagiarism bit seems pretty accurate

jitteryzeitgeist
August 11th 2014


98 Comments

Album Rating: 1.5

Dude they ripped Lateralus so bad on that. I mean, it's not a very common style and a very well known tune.

jitteryzeitgeist
August 11th 2014


98 Comments

Album Rating: 1.5

Also, make 'Nothing Comes Easy' a ripoff to the intro for 'Orion'.

I put Blackening but I picked the wrong fade-in Metallica intro. Corrected.

Betray
August 11th 2014


4779 Comments

Album Rating: 1.5 | Sound Off

WOW THAT FUCKING INTRO ARE YOU SERIOUS

Bumped down to 1.5 for that wowowowowowowow

Digging: Circa Survive - Descensus

jitteryzeitgeist
August 11th 2014


98 Comments

Album Rating: 1.5

I put the plagiarism of Lateralus in the summary because it's honestly the most interesting thing going on here in this album.

Aftertheascension
August 11th 2014


945 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

album art is ass

Digging: Dissection - Storm of the Light's Bane

Betray
August 11th 2014


4779 Comments

Album Rating: 1.5 | Sound Off

"his songs are mostly about somebody else being a dick and over-baked rock clichés on how difficult life is and not belonging ... and as a real surprise there's confident Sully telling you how awesome and amazing he is and you suck for not being him."

Hate when albums do this

Aftertheascension
August 11th 2014


945 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

the rating for this album dropped like a rock

Get it? GS is a rock band? Damn I suck at being funny.

KjSwantko
August 11th 2014


9448 Comments

Album Rating: 1.5

Listening to this now and it's pretty much as bad as expected. Even for this band I'm still surprised they have a song called "FML"

KjSwantko
August 11th 2014


9448 Comments

Album Rating: 1.5

And yeah what's up with Tool ripoff song? Ironically, it was the only one on here I found listenable and interesting.

FearThyEvil
August 11th 2014


12761 Comments


Wow, that Tool rip-off is unreal.

emester
August 11th 2014


4378 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0 | Sound Off

1000 hp and 0 torque.

Digging: Sacriphyx - The Western Front



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy