Inanimate Existence
A Never-Ending Cycle of Atonement


4.0
excellent

Review

by Andrew Gold CONTRIBUTOR (71 Reviews)
August 5th, 2014 | 40 replies


Release Date: 06/24/2014 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Inanimate Existence offer penance for their fallen comrades.

Ironically, Inanimate Existence has had a short-lived yet very animate existence thus far. Formed only four years ago, this nouveau Californian death metal act already has two solid LPs under their belt and show no signs of slowing down. Their latest, A Never-Ending Cycle of Atonement, seems to be a meta representation of technical death metal as a whole. It’s a dense record, as well as a visceral one. Seldom are there moments of refrain, and even during these softer phrases there’s always a lingering sense of dread, knowing at any second a grisly riff will come barreling out of your speakers. Even the brief moments of melodic progression are layered in such a way that incites apprehension rather than tranquility. A fine example would be “Out of Body Experience,” which has abundant clean guitar textures and the only instance of clean vocals on the album. However, both elements are used as atmospheric constituents, making the track’s heavier moments seem as though they were always there, veiled under a false sense of security. Combine this with a superb production job and technically proficient musicians and you have the recipe for a fantastically ferocious metal album, and more importantly, an impactful one.

Sonically picking up where Anata and Gorod left off, Inanimate Existence don’t pull any punches. After a minute-long intro serving as the calm before the storm, the band grasp onto your auditory senses and drag them into a grimy abyss of maniacal riffing and unyielding blast-beat barrages. The recurring progressive overtones are exactly that – overtones; rarely the center of attention, but vaguely present throughout the long haul. A Never-Ending Cycle of Atonement is meta in the sense that it recognizes the never-ending cyclical nature of genre stereotypes – bands that regurgitate and rehash the same material without the slightest incentive of breaking new ground (i.e. Arch Enemy) – and Inanimate Existence offer penance for their contemporaries; a public display of atonement in a brutal 45-minute package.



Recent reviews by this author
Thomas Giles Modern NoiseBlack Veil Brides Black Veil Brides
Dysphoria The ApogeeWeezer Maladroit
Septycal Gorge Scourge of the Formless BreedXerath III
user ratings (50)
Chart.
3.9
excellent

Comments:Add a Comment 
Insurrection
Contributing Reviewer
August 4th 2014


21639 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

felt like this needed a write-up

Digging: Soen - Tellurian

emester
August 4th 2014


4229 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Alright I see Suffocation (awesome) in the rec by review but I see Fallujah (not a fan...) in the related artists on the band page. Should I still give this a go?

Digging: The Black Twilight Circle - Tliltic Tlapoyauak

Insurrection
Contributing Reviewer
August 4th 2014


21639 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

yeah id say this has more in common with suffocation than it does with fallujah

ExplosiveOranges
August 4th 2014


3636 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Short but sweet. Nice review, Ins. I might have to give this a go.

Digging: Bloodbath - Grand Morbid Funeral

emester
August 4th 2014


4229 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

cool! I'm intrigued again :D

Insurrection
Contributing Reviewer
August 4th 2014


21639 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

i wouldnt go in expecting something like early suffocation though, just because early suffo is so much better than most other dm

thanks EO, its good stuff

ExplosiveOranges
August 4th 2014


3636 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

That definitely doesn't look like a death metal album cover, though.

emester
August 4th 2014


4229 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

its more black metalish

zaruyache
August 4th 2014


7254 Comments


I came here specifically because the album cover made me think this was atmospheric bm. Still not disappointed by the music, though. I actually like this!

Digging: Sleepytime Gorilla Museum - In Glorious Times

Atari
Contributing Reviewer
August 4th 2014


20068 Comments


Thought this was bm too haha

nice review tho Ins

Digging: Circa Survive - Descensus

Kusangii
August 4th 2014


336 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Excellent work, glad to see this finally got reviewed. Album is just brilliant, easily my AOTY so far

ScuroFantasma
August 4th 2014


2428 Comments


Great review Ins. I really like the album art for some reason.

Digging: Behemoth - The Satanist

trilogique21
August 5th 2014


427 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

if it wasnt loud and compressed to shit this would be really god damn good

TheNotrap
August 5th 2014


8121 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

The album has a nice concept and the music is interesting, specially the first half. Despite the filler instrumentals, their debut is also worth listening to.

Nice review.

Digging: Pink Floyd - The Endless River

Gameofmetal
August 5th 2014


3202 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Damn I was literally thinking last night that I should do a review of this.

Gameofmetal
August 5th 2014


3202 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Not fond of super short reviews though. I like ones that goes into more detail but this is dece.

ADV123
August 5th 2014


180 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

I need to check this out badly...been meaning to forever.

Atari
Contributing Reviewer
August 5th 2014


20068 Comments


Sturm?

Insurrection
Contributing Reviewer
August 5th 2014


21639 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

atari?

Damn I was literally thinking last night that I should do a review of this.


go for it man. i was surprised this didnt have one already

Thor
August 5th 2014


10202 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

album rules



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy