Secret Band
Secret Band


5.0
classic

Review

by Tyler. USER (5 Reviews)
August 1st, 2014 | 436 replies | 28,446 views


Release Date: 07/31/2014 | Tracklist

Review Summary: "Inside I approgate dip, wection frip, it’s sobuhdayo, the gose tun the bae dun swip"

I don't think anyone at this point of the band's career doubted Jon's ability to be the lone frontman for Secret Band. On their self titled EP he proved that he could hold a song on his own and make the listener forget they even used clean vocals in the first place. In fact if Secret Band proved anything it was their songwriting is at their best when Jon was at the helm. Their songwriting was free to unhinge itself even more and the band could ironically further expand their sound pallet with one less singer. Swan and Mess now have the liberty to be as fucking weird as they wanted to be. Their EP showed more experimental direction taken by the band, which only continues on their S/T LP.

In addition to being more experimental, this is also the heaviest this group of musicians have ever sounded. Songs like Projectile Comet show Swan writing guitar parts that almost reach over into Metal, rather than a fun Post Hardcore band with Funk Influences. The band writes these heavy sections with just as much charisma as anything else they've written, and it's a welcome change. They do a good job at breaking the album up and it stops it from seeming so repetitive. Charisma would be a good word for this album. Will Swan proves that you could easily pick his guitar playing out of a line up and everyone else does more than pull their own weight.

However, that's to be expected of these guys. Never has a band sounded so carefree, but yet were so tight and so keen on songwriting. This is a 'moments' album, and most songs have multiple of them. All without resorting to being a one trick pony, as the album has a bunch of interesting tempo/ mood switches that insure for an unpredictable listen that never goes into over indulgent or aimless. Every song feels like it is exactly as long as it needs to be and they don't waste, nor keep you wanting more.

I honestly don't believe any one else could have fronted this album so well. Mess works so well because of the golden C-word I mentioned earlier. He doesn't have the range as some other harsh vocalists but what he does have is a mastery of cadence. After being in Dance Gavin Dance for so long he knows exactly what he is doing here and his years of experience has never sounded so good. His lyrics only enhance the album's fun/carefree nature, chock-full of so many Mess-isms any fan of his lyrics will come out more than pleased. His general weirdness brings the album up from a great modern post hardcore album, to an amazing one.

But ultimately music is subjective, and every once and a while god seems to craft an album out of pure happiness, love, and orphan tears to create an album just for you. An album that seems like it just exactly what you want from it. This is what #MessedGod have given all of us. If you're looking for a good time, look no further, this album has all you need.


user ratings (168)
Chart.
4
excellent
other reviews of this album
Daniel Davis (4)
Secret Band is a side project that flawlessly performs its purpose....


Comments:Add a Comment 
Slut
August 1st 2014


2469 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

criticism plz. i love this album for real though

Slut
August 1st 2014


2469 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

that was a fast pos lmao thanks stranger

BMDrummer
August 1st 2014


7083 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

guess I should check this out, have a pos

Digging: Shellac - Dude Incredible

mryrtmrnfoxxxy
August 1st 2014


13134 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0 | Sound Off

cool review maybe read it out loud once through there are still some awkward parts

i love this album [2]

Digging: Electric Wurms - Musik Die Schwer Zu Twerk

Slut
August 1st 2014


2469 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Yippeeee!

mryrtmrnfoxxxy
August 1st 2014


13134 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0 | Sound Off

Not a lot like birds lol

fucking lol

Slut
August 1st 2014


2469 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Okay. I'm going to go through it again and fix the awkward parts in a couple minutes

BMDrummer
August 1st 2014


7083 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

digging this so far

thelastsignal
August 1st 2014


1368 Comments


Nice review, man. I still have to check these guys out.

Feather
August 1st 2014


1310 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0 | Sound Off

yay you listened to me and posted it. Review reads great and I agree.

pos.

Slut
August 1st 2014


2469 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

check them out yo. AOTY for me. I'm glad you're liking it BMDrummer

Slut
August 1st 2014


2469 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

rock on feather

Participation
August 1st 2014


26 Comments


You guys are stupid, this isnt a secret

BMDrummer
August 1st 2014


7083 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

currently leans toward a 4.5, almost sounds like an eventual 5 though

OwMySnauze
August 1st 2014


1005 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

"Secret Band includes members of Dance Gavin Dance. It was a secret we had behind Jonny's back. Now he knows about it."

Digging: The Contortionist - Language

MalleusMaleficarum
August 1st 2014


14322 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

the review seems to assume that the reader knows all there is to know about the band and its members already. doesnt do much by the way of describing what this album or band sounds like tbh. just kinda reads like you wrote it for your buddies who already jam the album anyway lol

not gonna neg tho cuz its not necessarily poorly written nahmean

deathschool
August 1st 2014


8006 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Sweet review, pos. Those 5s are a little hmmm, but I do dig this a lot.

Digging: Thumpermonkey - We Bake Our Bread Beneath Her Holy Fire

Participation
August 1st 2014


26 Comments


'the review seems to assume that the reader knows all there is to know about the band and its members already. doesnt do much by the way of describing what this album or band sounds like tbh. just kinda reads like you wrote it for your buddies who already jam the album anyway lol'

this.makes.no.sense.

deathschool
August 1st 2014


8006 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Nah. Mal has a point, but I don't mind reviews like this.

Slut
August 1st 2014


2469 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Noted malleus. I was thinking that most people who jam and like this already know the background and I didn't want to waste space but you're kinda right. Lol as long as it's at least well written I'm fine.

This album was just an insta 5. Thanks!



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy