Talons
New Topographics


4.0
excellent

Review

by Dan H. CONTRIBUTOR (53 Reviews)
July 30th, 2014 | 31 replies


Release Date: 08/04/2014 | Tracklist

Review Summary: The stories behind the ruins.

The banality of modern life is often at its most powerful when it’s completely stripped down and examined in its starkness. A plethora of images are conjured up when we think about modern life in all its different forms, from workers trudging to and from factories in smog filled landscapes, to abandoned buildings which have surrendered to nature and have slowly been reclaimed by the earth. New Topographics is derived from a photography project bearing the same name, and it sought to capture the power, if not at first the beauty, of the stark and the real - the images which we so often glance over in passing, or even worse, wilfully fail to see at all. Our heavily airbrushed society places such an emphasis on one dimensional external beauty, that the various forms it takes are often completely ignored. Talons, like William Jenkins’ exhibition before them, are challenging this concept by capturing the moody, the expansive, the eerie and the state of ruin by showing that if you look hard enough, you can find something to admire just about anywhere.

New Topographics sees Talons expand their sound exponentially, to one which builds ambitiously and without fear, to one where repetition is welcomed with open arms and dense atmospheres obscure practically all else from view. The songs all feel incredibly comfortable in their own skin, and they swell slowly adding more little by little, all the while ensuring that they don’t collapse under their own weight. Just take mammoth opener ‘Monuments;’ heavily reverberated guitars scream unaided until they’re joined by a thick bassline and foreboding violins - building and building in stature until finally a brief respite is allowed. Rather like the remainder of the album, the song quickly regains momentum, surging once again into the thick of things until its completion. Most importantly, it’s the atmosphere and the feelings which are evoked that makes ‘Monuments’ so powerful. It conjures pictures of desolate landscapes, neglected and ravaged by time. It makes you picture the despair that comes with finding out that you’re no longer significant, and further compounds it with the knowledge that you will never again be restored to your former glory. It may be sad, but it also allows you to explore the bountiful times and the stories behind the wreckages. It lets you wonder just how important it used to be, how vital a hub it once was, and it encourages you to imagine the lives that were once touched by its existence.

It continues this provocative theme throughout. It paints bleak, but very real pictures through its crushing volleys of guitars and strings, and it strikes a deeply ingrained emotional chord, one which can only truly be hit when we’re completely engulfed by something efficacious. Despite how long it lingers in the eerie and perturbed, New Topographics still manages to be accessible, and it leaves you feeling pensive rather than destitute. Just like the exhibition many years ago, Talons have proven that there really is beauty everywhere, especially in the places where you least expect it.



Recent reviews by this author
Ben Howard I Forget Where We WereFACT Witness
Willis Earl Beal Acousmatic SorceryInterpol El Pintor
Maybeshewill Fair YouthRise Against The Black Market
user ratings (19)
Chart.
3.8
excellent

Comments:Add a Comment 
VheissuCrisis
Contributing Reviewer
July 30th 2014


996 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

So the guys of Talons were kind enough to give me an advance copy. Which is good, because it took me
quite a while to digest it.

I can see Sputnik enjoying this.

http://www.clashmusic.com/features/album-premiere-talons-new-topographics

ExplosiveOranges
July 30th 2014


3198 Comments


Nice review, man. Mindpos. Do you think I'd dig this?

Digging: Run the Jewels - Run the Jewels 2

ChoccyPhilly
July 30th 2014


7306 Comments


Looks good and great review. Will definitely listen

Digging: ACIN - ACIN

RadicalEd
July 30th 2014


2702 Comments


Godspeed in the rec section and review sounds interesting. Will check.

Digging: Jakob - Sines

VheissuCrisis
Contributing Reviewer
July 30th 2014


996 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

@Orange - Definitely man, check out the opener and if you don't like it, I think you'll at least
appreciate the sound they've managed to craft.

@Ed Godspeed is there because the way some of the stuff builds here really reminds me of them, Mladic
popped into my head a few times.

Cheers all.

djunior
July 30th 2014


810 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Nice! Wasnt aware they had new material coming. Looking forward to hearing this.

Digging: Bing & Ruth - Tomorrow Was The Golden Age

protonjon
July 31st 2014


85 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

"crushing volleys of guitars and strings" nice.

Digging: Thank You Scientist - Maps of Non-Existent Places

Omaha
Staff Reviewer
July 31st 2014


10288 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5 | Sound Off

Shit new Talons

VheissuCrisis
Contributing Reviewer
July 31st 2014


996 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Its really rather good JR, sitting between a 4.2/4.3 for me.

thelastsignal
August 1st 2014


1370 Comments


Awesome review per usual, album sounds like it would be amazing. Will check.

SowingSeason
Staff Reviewer
August 5th 2014


16463 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Great review. This sounds like something I'll adore.

Digging: Zella Day - Zella Day

henryChinaski
August 5th 2014


2799 Comments


Oh man I bet this rules. Will check out later. Nice write-up!

Digging: From Indian Lakes - Absent Sounds

SowingSeason
Staff Reviewer
August 5th 2014


16463 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

The Wild Places...

Uh Muh Gud so beautiful

JS19
August 5th 2014


4352 Comments


These guys rule live as well

Digging: Gates - Bloom and Breathe

VheissuCrisis
Contributing Reviewer
August 5th 2014


996 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Thanks guys.

Check it Sowing, I don't want to whore out the Godspeed reference just so people listen, but there's definitely echoes of them here.

SowingSeason
Staff Reviewer
August 5th 2014


16463 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

They remind me a little of Maybeshewill, with all the strings and epic atmospheres. I already checked it, love it, and want to give it about a 3.7 to a 4.1 somewhere. The problem is that in my history, I've never been able to really stay connected to an instrumental album. I'm so into lyrics that albums without words usually end up fading over the years. Oh well, might as well take the chance on this and if nothing else I'll get enjoyment out of it for the rest of 2014.

VheissuCrisis
Contributing Reviewer
August 5th 2014


996 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Glad to hear it man, though I know what you mean about connecting to instrumental albums to a degree. They have to be pretty intense to get any sort of rating above a 3, as the twinkly stuff, although pretty, doesn't have any lasting power for me (no lyrics, no energy etc).

Speaking of Maybeshewill, new song just released.

Gyromania
August 5th 2014


15941 Comments


that first paragraph is pretty awful. "The banality of modern life is often at its most powerful when it’s completely stripped down and examined in its starkness." this doesn't make any sense, sounds like pseudo-intellectual ruminations. modern life isn't banal (idk why anyone would say it is) but what you're saying is unoriginality is at its most powerful (what?) when it's stripped down and examined in its plainness.

"A plethora of images are conjured up when we think about modern life in all its different forms, from workers trudging to and from factories in smog filled landscapes, to abandoned buildings which have surrendered to nature and have slowly been reclaimed by the earth."

idk about you, but when i think 'modern' i think technological advancements and innovative architecual design etc.

"the images which we so often glance over in passing, or even worse, wilfully fail to see at all"

oxymoron. how can we willingly fail to see something? i can understand you saying 'willfully fail to acknowledge'.

"Our heavily airbrushed society places such an emphasis on one dimensional external beauty"

this is such an ambiguous statement. like, what do you mean when you say "society" places emphasis. what is this one-dimensional external beauty that we place such emphasis on? pretty sure beauty can be seen in many things in many mediums

i didn't read past there but i checked out a few tracks from this. it isn't bad, but not really my thing atm. post-rock fails to do much for me these days unless it's hammock or sigur ros

Digging: Lantlos - .neon

percyforward
August 5th 2014


40 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

This is quite the joyride.

VheissuCrisis
Contributing Reviewer
August 5th 2014


996 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

@Gyromania. So.....you like the review?

I attempted a different style here, one where I attempted to talk about the issues which were the
influences for the album. In such few words it can be difficult to get across exactly what you mean
(perhaps I could've done a better job), and as such its possible to interpret what I've written
differently (as you've clearly done).

I'm not responding to each point you've written as I'm up early tomorrow and even after lengthy
discussion I'm sure we wouldn't agree anyway, but your seem a bit severe rather than constructive in
your criticism.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy