Electric Citizen
Sateen


3.6
great

Review

by Voivod STAFF
July 24th, 2014 | 20 replies


Release Date: 07/01/2014 | Tracklist

Review Summary: ’70s occult rock abiding citizens.

The most important dates in the lives of some people, are the days they met someone special, someone they could spend the rest of their lives with. The relationships established by these people are more and more important, as they take place in a world where cynicism and temptation linger in every step of the way, a world where people are increasingly prompted to act as individuals and not as part of something bigger, like a family. Moreover, if these relationships are further fueled by additional attributes, for example, a mutual interest in arts, they tend to become even more passionate and intriguing.

The mutual life of Cincinnati OH residents Ross and Laura Dolan dates back to their high school days, and so does their passion for rock that came out in the ‘60s and the ‘70s. While the Dolans paid their homage to ‘60s rock with previous outfits, they felt the need to lay their own rendition on occult ‘70s rock and outfits such as Pentagram and Black Sabbath. In doing so, the couple scouted the local scene for quite a while, and recruited some of its most promising musicians. In their final form, Electric Citizen wrote and practised together for a round year before releasing their debut album Sateen, a great occult ‘70s rock retrospective.

To be quite honest, Pentagram and Black Sabbath are not the only cited references in Electric Citizen’s first full length offering. The straight up, hard/heavy rock character of most of the numbers in Sateen hints additionally at Jethro Tull, when they were merely a solid hard rock band with perceivable, but underdeveloped progressive rock tendencies. The Tull reference holds also because of the keyboards, which sound like a faint flute playing on the background, on not too few occasions. While this is legitimately odd, it adds an additional and rather unexpected degree of freedom to what Electric Citizen are offering on Sateen. As attractive as the album sounds as a whole though, one cannot help but notice that the structure of most songs is based on the exact same “linear” formula of evolution, at the expense of diversity (more) and the replay merit (less). The exception that justifies the rule is the wonderful psychedelic opus “Hawk Nightingale”, which stands easily among the best songs of the album.

The rhythm section of Nate Wagner and Nick Vogelpohl is as stiff and boogie-oriented as circumstances dictate, whereas the guitars of Ross Dolan reveal the talent of a seasoned rock musician who seems to be pursuing his musical endeavours as part of the “wrong” era. Apart from the previously mentioned "faint flute" patent, the keyboards of Yusef Quotah are fairly diverse while adopting the right kind of background sonicscapes for each song. Last but not least, the vocals of Laura Dolan are exactly what the hard rock vibes of the record call for, whereas they sound enticingly "lysergic" at the (unfortunately!) few sites where psychedelia prevails. If external references should be given with respect to her vocals, it would be safe to say that she stands on the same level with Jex Thoth and Jinx Dawson from Coven.

In conclusion, Electric Citizen have made a great start for themselves with Sateen, and it is fair to say that we will hear more from Electric Citizen in the future. After all, it’s all a matter of solid foundations and the band is certainly blessed in that sector.



Recent reviews by this author
Sanctuary The Year the Sun DiedVoivod Voivod
Essence Beyond CarnivalismVicious Rumors Live You to Death 2 - American Punishment
Mayhem Esoteric WarfareThe Graviators Motherload
user ratings (11)
Chart.
3.7
great

Comments:Add a Comment 
Voivod
Staff Reviewer
July 24th 2014


6196 Comments

Album Rating: 3.6 | Sound Off

album stream: http://www.roadburn.com/2014/06/hear-electric-citizens-debut-album-sateen-premiere/

As always, constructive criticism is most welcome.

Digging: Alkoholizer - Free Beer... Surf's Up!!!

ExplosiveOranges
July 24th 2014


3134 Comments


I almost forgot about this one. Good review, man. I'll probably check this out soon.

Digging: Winterfylleth - The Divination Of Antiquity

menawati
Contributing Reviewer
July 24th 2014


16056 Comments


is opening paragraph a subtle ode to your gal ?

Digging: Lo-Pan - Colossus

Voivod
Staff Reviewer
July 24th 2014


6196 Comments

Album Rating: 3.6 | Sound Off

^^Not really, I read the story behind the formation of the band and thought that it would cool to talk about relationships that matter at the opening para. It was a spontaneous decision, based on what I've read about the Dolans.

http://electriccitizenband.com/city-beat-cover-story/

menawati
Contributing Reviewer
July 24th 2014


16056 Comments


yes i made that comment after id only got as far as reading the 1st para, my fault for premature ejaculation of commenting.
'll try this anyway looks like it might be good from what you wrote

insomniac15
Staff Reviewer
July 24th 2014


3441 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Really cool cover! I'll check it out, haven't heard about them.

The first paragraph sounds too personal IMO, even though I understand why you chose to include it. You'd expect to grow into some story (or some classic album praise, like the ones they include on a reissue or something like that - I have a couple of those) rather than an album review. Great one, btw!

Digging: Mark Lanegan - Phantom Radio

Voivod
Staff Reviewer
July 24th 2014


6196 Comments

Album Rating: 3.6 | Sound Off

It's a great album and the band is promising, if anything.

I first heard about Electric Citizen at Sub Terra, a monthly column in Metal Hammer Greece, dedicated to retro rock, and the guy who writes it liked them very much.

menawati
Contributing Reviewer
July 24th 2014


16056 Comments


i like the cover it's very tales of the unexpected

insomniac15
Staff Reviewer
July 24th 2014


3441 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Awww, Romania sucks... we don't have any proper rock magazines anymore. Only shitty ones where they praise all the trendy stuff, meh. I want Metal Hammer with retro rock too!

Voivod
Staff Reviewer
July 24th 2014


6196 Comments

Album Rating: 3.6 | Sound Off

^^^Well, I try to look out for the bands mentioned in there and add them here. Some of my retro rock soundoffs are for those bands/albums.

Some of the bands mentioned are:

Agusa
Three Seasons
The Golden Grass
Salem's Pot
Stratus
Captain Crimson
HORNSS

BMDrummer
July 24th 2014


8628 Comments


Revivalist stuff, sounds neat

kingsoby1
Emeritus
July 25th 2014


4950 Comments


occult rock?

emester
July 25th 2014


3905 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Sounds like something i would enjoy

Digging: Falls of Rauros - Believe in No Coming Shore

MrSirLordGentleman
July 25th 2014


4551 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

First song is awesome!


This sounds like a fusion of Sabbath, Coven and Black Widow, the three bands that created obscure rock

insomniac15
Staff Reviewer
July 26th 2014


3441 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

cool stuff

OZZGabriel
July 29th 2014


176 Comments


Sounds like something i would enjoy [2]

greg84
Staff Reviewer
July 30th 2014


7417 Comments


Guess I need to check it out. Cool review Voivod.

Digging: Dope Body - Lifer

Voivod
Staff Reviewer
July 30th 2014


6196 Comments

Album Rating: 3.6 | Sound Off

Thanks man, it's a great album.

emester
July 30th 2014


3905 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Is this the same Ross Dolan that I'm thinking of?

Voivod
Staff Reviewer
July 30th 2014


6196 Comments

Album Rating: 3.6 | Sound Off

No it's not the vocalist from Immolation, when I read the name I thought that too.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy