Joyce Manor
Never Hungover Again


4.0
excellent

Review

by Lettuce USER (4 Reviews)
July 22nd, 2014 | 232 replies


Release Date: 07/22/2014 | Tracklist

Review Summary: This album should have been titled, Joyce Manor Learn How to Vary Their Damn Songwriting

Joyce Manor’s self-titled album was a breath of fresh air in the pop punk genre. Its messy and unfocused combination of lo-fi and abrasive punk with catchy pop sensibilities was a direct contrast to the overproduced and polished norm of the genre, and many couldn’t wait to see how they would follow it up. The disappointing follow-up, Of All Things I Will Soon Grow Tired was an absolute failure. It was hardly eleven minutes long but seemed to drone on and on with its repetitive and boring nature. So, it would be completely understandable if you didn’t have the highest of expectations for the newest addition to their catalog. But there was no reason to worry, as Never Hungover Again is one of the best punk albums to come out this year.

One of the best qualities Joyce Manor has always had was their tendency to keeps songs (and albums) short and to the point. There was never a moment where a song felt overly long, or dragged out. That trend continues on Never Hungover Again. The album rushes along at an easy 19 minutes long, and not a single song or idea overstays its welcome. The guitarists do an exceptional job of crafting interesting melodies and riffs to catch your attention, and then falling to the background when necessary while avoiding boring and repetitious rhythms and notes. But it’s lead vocalist Barry Johnson who steals the show. Every line he sings absolutely begs you to scream along at the top of your lungs along with him, and you want to. Whether it’ to your current life, or a time when you were younger and going to basement shows with your friends and sweating and screaming along with the bands playing, Johnson demands that you relate to him. His vocal performance may steal the show, but every song is instrumentally varied, lyrically fascinating, and almost unbearably catchy. If you are a fan of Joyce Manor, or punk in any of its many forms, you owe it to yourself to pick this record up.

Stream it here:
www.npr.org/2014/07/13/329489701/first-listen-joyce-manor-never-hungover-again


user ratings (175)
Chart.
3.8
excellent

Comments:Add a Comment 
Lettuce
July 22nd 2014


121 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Short review for a short album. Highly recommend checking this out.

thelastsignal
July 22nd 2014


1370 Comments


Nice review man, I dig the short reviews and this described the sound perfectly.

MalleusMaleficarum
July 22nd 2014


14344 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Album rules, was hoping for a better closer though

mryrtmrnfoxxxy
July 22nd 2014


13259 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

this was so disappointing

Digging: Weezer - Everything Will Be Alright in the End

MalleusMaleficarum
July 22nd 2014


14344 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

better than their previous album broh

loveisamixtape
July 22nd 2014


6037 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

this is sooooo fucking good

Digging: Free Throw - Those Days Are Gone

mryrtmrnfoxxxy
July 22nd 2014


13259 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

@mal i really dont believe that but i will obv listen a few more times

Electric City
Staff Reviewer
July 22nd 2014


15740 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

album is really good

Digging: Ricky Eat Acid - Three Love Songs

BigPleb
July 22nd 2014


36740 Comments


Sup downer dude.

Kris.
July 22nd 2014


12345 Comments


pretty good, need to listen to it more though

loveisamixtape
July 22nd 2014


6037 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

falling in love again might be the best song by this band yet

MalleusMaleficarum
July 22nd 2014


14344 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

and its funny cuz they said that song was made up of a bunch of diff songs that didnt make the cut

loveisamixtape
July 22nd 2014


6037 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

didn't know that but can def hear it

catalina fight song is also ace

Rhyme
July 22nd 2014


1037 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

growing on me so hard now

end of the summer is my jam

Digging: Flying Lotus - You're Dead!

MalleusMaleficarum
July 22nd 2014


14344 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Christmas Card: "This song was originally supposed to be the last track on the record and sounded a lot more loose and chaotic during practice. We decided the melody came through stronger if we tightened it up.”

Falling in Love Again: "“This song was comprised of scraps from songs that didn’t make the cut and was written a few days before entering the studio. It is the first Joyce Manor song to have keyboard on it thanks to our friend Terrence.”


Kris.
July 22nd 2014


12345 Comments


i changed my mind this is a solid 4

MalleusMaleficarum
July 22nd 2014


14344 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Falling in Love Again

“Easily the song that was re-written the most times on this record. Originally titled ‘Something’s On My Mind’ before it was re-worked with new lyrics.”


Victoria

“Wrote this one after listening to The Strike – ‘Shots Heard Round The World’ on repeat for a few days. Joe Reinhart wrote the guitar lead in the chorus.”

MalleusMaleficarum
July 22nd 2014


14344 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Schley

“First song written for this record that didn’t end up getting scrapped. I originally imagined it as a Mick Jones style Clash sounding song but when we jammed it out it just felt better this way. This song originally had two different guitar solos. Pretty crazy.”

Heart Tattoo

“The first song I’ve ever written that is about one specific thing the whole song. Wrote it in about 20 minutes.”

MalleusMaleficarum
July 22nd 2014


14344 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

The Jerk

“Favorite song on the album. I wrote the rhythm guitar and vocal melody at home and when I got to practice Chase (guitarist) said “I wrote a guitar part”.


In The Army Now

“First song we have ever recorded where chase wrote the music and I wrote the lyrics and vocal melody. Originally this song ended after the first chorus but our friend Zed convinced us to make it longer.”

MalleusMaleficarum
July 22nd 2014


14344 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Catalina Fight Song

“The shortest song on the record and the only one that was fully written before we practiced it. The whole song is two chords.”


Heated Swimming Pool

“Another song that went through a lot of different versions. I think the music on this song is the prettiest thing we have ever done. Really nice way to end the record.”



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy