Chevelle
La Gargola


3.5
great

Review

by GrimReaper USER (7 Reviews)
July 20th, 2014 | 13 replies


Release Date: 04/01/2014 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Chevelle continues their resurgence back into the hard rock world.

Chevelle has been a leading hard rock force for a while now. But they'd also disappeared into relative obscurity for a little bit and become not so good (Sci-Fi Crimes, which was indeed a crime). Hats Off to the Bull brought them fully back to the land of the living, especially with the firestarter single "Face to the Floor." You won't find that in this particular joint's lead single--"Take Out the Gunman"--but you will find more of that general stuff.

La Gargola gets off to quite the start with arguably the two best songs on the album--"Ouija Board" and "An Island"--which brings to light the fact that this album has been very well produced, and the guitars are at their best on this album. Not even kidding--instrumentally, this could well be their best album ever. Well, at least when it comes to a few certain tracks anyway. "Jawbreaker" is another example of one of those heavy tracks.

"Take Out the Gunman" is a *very* different type of Chevelle song--one that made me initially concerned they were going back to the road of mediocrity. However, it's grown on me and I can say that while I don't think of it as the best song on the album, I can understand while people are enjoying it as much as they are. "Hunter Eats Hunter" tends to drone on a little bit, and thus does not have the same effect as some of the other heavy tracks at all. In other words, the two pre-release singles are probably my two least favorite tracks.

A very interesting song called "One Ocean" comes up next. Chevelle has never been that particularly good at ballads--and they've hardly ever done them either ("Panic Prone" is their most popular, though I never got into it). But here, they pull it off flawlessly and create arguably the best track on the album. This will most likely be the 3rd single--besides, it is rather radio-friendly.

The last four songs on the album aren't quite as noteworthy. "Choking Game" and "The Damned" are both interesting songs, at least; though they sound quite similar to what we've already heard earlier on the album. "The Damned," though, does stick around just a little bit more. "Twinge" pretty much sinks to the ground as an album closer--although that really should be no big surprise, since aside from "Clones," Chevelle's never been really good at album closers.

On this album, Chevelle offers a few of their best songs ever. As a whole, it don't quite quite reach the ranks of Wonder What's Next--though probably nothing ever will, so they should be pretty content with settling for their second best album ever.



Recent reviews by this author
BABYMETAL BabymetalMiss May I Rise of the Lion
Demon Hunter ExtremistOf Mice and Men Restoring Force
Nine Lashes From Water to WarAnberlin Lowborn
user ratings (588)
Chart.
3.9
excellent
other reviews of this album
1 of

Comments:Add a Comment 
KILL
July 20th 2014


71750 Comments

Album Rating: 1.0

nice

Digging: Invisible - El jardin de los presentes

JesusMilosovic
July 20th 2014


372 Comments


3 out of 3? This review is horrible.

KjSwantko
July 20th 2014


9277 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Damn KILL layin' down the law with the 1.

TheSupernatural
July 20th 2014


1177 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

KILL being KILL aka shit personality and taste but hey this site wouldn't be the same without him

Digging: xSPONGEXCOREx - How Tough Are Yah?

KILL
July 20th 2014


71750 Comments

Album Rating: 1.0

5.0 classic
Blue October Argue With A Tree...
Blue October Any Man in America
Lyrically hit and miss, musically here and there, and emotionally overwhelming... if you know Justin's story, this album will blow you away
Brand New Deja Entendu
This is a 3.5 at best if you take the lyrics out of the equation. But the lyrics are where most of the album is at. Both youthful and deep in thought
Brand New Your Favorite Weapon
What can I say? This is one the most fun albums ever. "Is that what you call getaway? Tell me what you got away with / cause I've seen more spine in jellyfish / I've seen more guts in eleven year old kids"
Deftones White Pony
Evans Blue The Pursuit...
This goes right behind The Melody... for my favorite album. It actually has better songs for the most part; however, it is less cohesive as an album. The album gets even more emotional than the previous, but it focuses much more on perception than it does on relationships. Q, My Damsel, Painted, and The Pursuit are songs that I can listen to over and over again.
Glassjaw Worship and Tribute
Joliette Principia
La Dispute Wildlife
Manchester Orchestra Simple Math
Night Verses Lift Your Existence
O'Brother Garden Window
O'brother is a growing musical behemoth, and this album is a perfect example of that.
Parabelle A Summit Borderline/A Drop Oceanic
Protest the Hero Kezia
Radiohead Kid A
Gets better with every listen. From the first 5 notes of Everything in Its Right Place to the final sweeps in Motion Picture Soundtrack, an emotional trek takes place over slowly devolving wasteland imagined through music that only Radiohead could produce.
Radiohead OK Computer
The Menzingers On the Impossible Past
Thrice The Illusion of Safety
Thrice The Artist in the Ambulance
I found Thrice through the title track. Impressive songwriting, impressive instrumentation, very impressive vocals and lyrics. Love the guitar tone on this album, it has a real unique flavor
Thrice Vheissu
This is Thrice's equivalent of Radiohead's Kid A.
Tori Amos Little Earthquakes
I like this album, but there's something more than that to it. It's infectious, it's emotional, and it's so well-done that I have to question why this album doesn't get more attention. So many powerful lyrics throughout the album, matched by Tori Amos' incredible voice and a decent band behind her, make this quite the album.

FearThyEvil
July 20th 2014


12545 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Kill with shit taste made me laugh.

deathschool
July 20th 2014


8066 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Kill's taste is Sputnik law.

Digging: Thumpermonkey - We Bake Our Bread Beneath Her Holy Fire

Mongi123
Contributing Reviewer
July 20th 2014


10218 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

If his taste is sput law then why haven't I been arrested yet?

GrimReaper
July 20th 2014


14 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

LOL same here... I don't even recognize half the bands.

KerfuffleinaHussle
July 20th 2014


764 Comments


Interesting review, partly because your definitons of 'good' and 'popular' seem to be the same.

"As a whole, it don't quite quite reach the ranks of Wonder What's Next" um

GrimReaper
July 20th 2014


14 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Heheh... Oops. Darned typo.
And it is quite nice when what's popular and my opinion of what's good cross paths with regards to Chevelle and their history.

Mongi123
Contributing Reviewer
July 20th 2014


10218 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Yea in terms of critiques, you're still learning how to review since this is only your fifth review.
However, you seem to only say things along the lines of this is song is really good but you never
really explain why. For example:

"Take Out the Gunman" is a *very* different type of Chevelle song--one that made me
initially concerned they were going back to the road of mediocrity. However, it's grown on me and I
can say that while I don't think of it as the best song on the album, I can understand while people
are enjoying it as much as they are.


"Hunter Eats Hunter" tends to drone on a little bit

There are things like this scattered throughout the review man. Plus, who cares if other people are
enjoying or not enjoying the song. Your review is about what YOU think about it. Hope this helps

DrGonzo1937
July 21st 2014


5663 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Great album. A little patchy with the review though.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy