Mudvayne
L.D. 50


4.5
superb

Review

by TheDepravedPelican USER (9 Reviews)
July 16th, 2014 | 52 replies


Release Date: 2000 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Mudvayne delivers a “lethal dosage” of frenetic, psychotic, pandemonium all loosely wrapped into a “Nu-Metal” shell.

Typically, as you peruse through the genre of nu-metal, you find a lot of similar bands, with similar goals, achieving similar styles and some mainstream success. While Mudvayne is certainly no exception to this (easily the most popularized of the genre, second to only Slipknot), once upon a time, they felt they were “textbook ****ing metal”. The previous quote is cited from Track 11 and Severed not just illustrates the pinnacle of the instruments on the album, but accurately portrays the entire idea behind the whole album lyrically.

While some of the lyrical direction on the album is overly-pursued, there’s a certain hook to the full delivery of the band behind Chad Gray. Whether it be the sudden explosion of angst moments after a sorrowfully beautiful intro on Nothing To Gein, or lesser heard moments such as the epic bridge section to Pharmaecopia with its beautifully layered bass and flowing backbeat. However, that doesn’t mean there aren’t faults with delivery on the album. Certain tracks, such as Under My Skin or Prod, seem to musically make little sense and meander aimlessly throughout.

And while one can certainly find flaws in the songs on an album that is definitely not perfect - there’s still one problem with every single song on L.D. 50. The guitar work is the lowest in the mix, even if Greg Tribbett’s basic riffs are best off that way. He shines very little throughout the album. Here and there he strays away from copy and paste descending/ascending bar chords and open notes, but rarely makes an impact when he doesn’t. One could even argue that, minus “solo” parts where his guitar is necessary, this album would be just as good with only the rest of the band. Even though his style hasn’t changed much over the years, his overall skill as a guitar player really shone through when his next band, Hell Yeah, didn’t have bassist Ryan Martinie and drummer Matt McDonough saving the album. Can’t be too mean, however, as his guitar writing skills admirably set an excellent foundation for the rest of the band.

Summary:
While this album is hands-down the most creative one to come out of the Nu-Metal genre, it does suffer faults with aimless direction and unnecessary/strange transitions (See: Nothing To Gein post-chorus verse). It’s a difficult album to listen to completely in one sit-down, but has well-placed interludes to bring some sort of stability to an otherwise wild, unstable experience. No one song on the album resembles any of the others. Highly recommended to bassist and drumming enthusiasts.

Top Tracks:
1. Severed
2. Death Blooms
3. Nothing To Gein
4. -1
5. (K)now (F)orever
6. Dig



Recent reviews by this author
Fear Factory Soul of a New MachineNegativa Negativa
Raayl ColorlessFinntroll Blodsvept
Pestilence Mallevs MaleficarvmFear Factory Digimortal
user ratings (1264)
Chart.
4
excellent
other reviews of this album
1 of

Comments:Add a Comment 
ScuroFantasma
July 16th 2014


2543 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Pretty good review, although I disagree that the guitarist is useless.

Digging: Kyuss - Blues for the Red Sun

0GuyMan0
July 16th 2014


71 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I always thought Prod was a standout on this album. I'm admittedly a nu-metal sympathizer but LD50 is fucking one of a kind. I can still jam it.

artiswar
July 16th 2014


30 Comments


I never did get why Prod was such a polarizing track.

Deviant.
Staff Reviewer
July 16th 2014


31634 Comments


(easily the most popularized of the genre, second to only Slipknot)


More popular than Korn, Limp Bizkit or Linkin Park? I don't know about that

they felt they were “textbook ****ing metal”


I'm not quite sure if you just appropriated this for your own purposes, but the line is "textbook
fucking mental"

Digging: Theo Parrish - American Intelligence

deathschool
July 16th 2014


10700 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I love that Dev has a soft spot for these guys.

Digging: Pegasuses-XL - Electro Agitators

deathschool
July 16th 2014


10700 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Damn. This review feels like it was super rushed. Also, you talk about more things you dislike than like, so your score is confusing. I won't neg, but try getting into a little more detail.

ReAnimator
July 17th 2014


329 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

I'm not quite sure if you just appropriated this for your own purposes, but the line is "textbook fucking mental" [2]

And also, what deathschool said. Justify your rating a bit; talk about how unhinged Chad sounds during "Internal Primates Forever," the masterful dynamics of "-1," the emotional rawness of "Death Blooms" or how straight up perfect "Severed" is.

(I may or may not love this album.)

Digging: Unearth - Watchers of Rule

Hawks
July 17th 2014


35837 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Death Blooms ftw. m/

SirDrumsalot
July 17th 2014


1605 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Pharmaecopia is where its at nigs.

DrGonzo1937
July 17th 2014


6934 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

I disagree that the guitarist is useless.

Nah, he's useless. Even in the later albums where he "solos", he's still useless.

Digging: Marilyn Manson - The Pale Emperor

ScuroFantasma
July 17th 2014


2543 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

I still think he has a place on the album but he's definitely not the focus or anything.

DrGonzo1937
July 17th 2014


6934 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

He does what he does and it works.

bach
July 17th 2014


13183 Comments


internal primates forever goes hard too

Digging: Mirroring - Foreign Body

SnakeDelilah
July 17th 2014


9256 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

mudvayne sucks but this is fucking good

Digging: Foxing - The Albatross

DrGonzo1937
July 17th 2014


6934 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

This, End of All Things and s/t m/

R6Rider
July 17th 2014


4750 Comments


Nah, he's useless. Even in the later albums where he "solos", he's still useless

He does what he does and it works.

So he's not useless?

You don't have to be great instrumentally to make good songs.



Digging: Harm's Way - Isolation

DrGonzo1937
July 17th 2014


6934 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

By useless I'm referring to anything past End of All Things. However, on this he does what the song needs.

mryrtmrnfoxxxy
July 17th 2014


13467 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

do i

still enjoy this

DrGonzo1937
July 17th 2014


6934 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Yeah man

mryrtmrnfoxxxy
July 17th 2014


13467 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

dig hasnt lost any of its charm



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy