Trap Them
Blissfucker


2.0
poor

Review

by ryallen USER (5 Reviews)
July 15th, 2014 | 11 replies


Release Date: 06/10/2014 | Tracklist

Review Summary: 25 minutes of material are forced to hold together a 46 minute album, and they cannot.

It’s really unfortunate. There was enough good material here for a good album, but for whatever reason, the guys decided that this material had to cover twice the distance it normally would. In other words, there’s about 25 minutes of material here, and it’s forced to spread itself out over 46, which, in short, ruins everything.

I don’t understand why this went through anyone’s mind as a good idea. Salted Crypts is a long song yes, but it still comes out the other side a good song. That was the only track that this approach worked with. Every other song just lets you down. Older songs like Targets, Saintpeelers, and even longer ones like Mission Convincers and Destructioneer Extraordinaire, never came close to letting go of your interest.

The downfall of this album is exemplified by the song Savage Climbers, which is 7:28, and has the content of what would make a slightly interesting 10 second break in a song off the previous album, Darker Handcraft. It’s one slow riff. For over seven minutes. Nothing happens.

What really baffles me though, is how Kurt Ballou, who can only be described as an elite producer in the metal world, saw the song ideas for this album, and said to himself, “Yeah, this is gonna be good.” I know he’s a loyal guy, and that most of his business is now repeat business. But he’s produced all five of Trap Them’s previous releases. He knows what this band is capable of. He most certainly knows it’s capable of more than this.


user ratings (109)
Chart.
3.4
great
other reviews of this album
NoSons (3.5)
This album saws through everything you have ever known....


Comments:Add a Comment 
RiffOClock
July 15th 2014


1049 Comments


this band sucks in general

zakalwe
July 15th 2014


8256 Comments


Don't be a fucker of bliss

Owantjaaaa
July 15th 2014


3274 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Really boring
The new BWP album was even worse, Kurt what are you doing

Digging: Look What I Did - Atlas Drugged

thelastsignal
July 15th 2014


1370 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

Darker Handcraft is so much better than this. I just don't understand where they were going with this release.

ryallen
July 15th 2014


10 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

Agree. Handcraft was amazing and they should have continued down that road.

botb
July 15th 2014


9689 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

i enjoyed this but it definitely didn't jump out at me like a lot of their stuff has in the past

Artuma
July 15th 2014


13505 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5 | Sound Off

salted crypts is one of their best songs

Digging: Indian Summer - Science 1994

thelastsignal
July 15th 2014


1370 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

Salted Crypts is definitely the best song on here, but the rest of this album feels so monotonous to me.

Trebor.
Contributing Reviewer
July 15th 2014


50458 Comments


"25 minutes of material are forced to hold together a 46 minute album, and they cannot."

This sounds really awkward, drop the bit after the comma

Digging: Viper the Rapper - You'll Cowards Don't Even Smoke Crack

Hawks
July 15th 2014


35838 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Savage Climbers is actually my fav song on this album idk.

razedtotheground
September 3rd 2014


368 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

I thought the Insomniawesome bit at the end of the album was pretty cool


Digging: Electric Wizard - Time to Die



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy