Starset
Transmissions


3.0
good

Review

by Christopher Geriak USER (41 Reviews)
July 13th, 2014 | 26 replies


Release Date: 07/08/2014 | Tracklist

Review Summary: An overblown, cliched, and utterly flawed record, though the overall product does end up being surprisingly enjoyable.

Pretentious may be a wee bit of an understatement when describing Starset’s debut album Transmissions. In fact, that may be an understatement for the whole band in general. Don’t get me wrong, this record is actually quite enjoyable, but not in a way you’d expect. Starset themselves are based on a fictional sci-fi like story about a secret society and some made-up government organization that’s practically trying to kill every member of the band and their followers. And as for the album, it’s just as cheesy as it gets. And thus a question arises: just how overblown can a simple alternative rock band get?

The whole record is an hour long, with almost every song scoring a time between four to six minutes. The reason why these songs are so long is simply because the ridiculous amounts of Hans Zimmer like orchestrations that are just simply nothing but filler and act more as a distraction. A perfect example is the song ‘Antigravity.’ While the song is technically only around three minutes, the whole two minute orchestration comes in after it and you do nothing but wonder whether or not if it’s really necessary. Even the shorter songs, ‘Halo’ and ‘Point of No Return,’ have this problem and it just continues this awful trend throughout the whole record. But despite this, there is another issue, and that is that the whole album itself isn’t really original enough to make a long-lasting impression. The guitar riffs and drumming are the typical clichéd stuff you’ve heard before while the vocals have that Benjamin Burnely style that does end up getting old after the first listen.

But with that said how is this record still enjoyable? Despite its flaws, the album’s overproduction actually works in the songs favor for the most part. ‘Down with the Fallen’ is actually a decent opener as the instrumental mixture works actually quite well. Songs like ‘Carnivore’ and ‘My Demons’ have the catchy choruses that grab your attention and the vocals are at their best here. And while Rob Graves does have a knack for putting strings in every album that he produces, they actually are a nice element to the overall sound and give the album more of an atmosphere instead of the record just being filled to the brink with electronic attributes.

And you know what, the whole overblown aspect to this album does actually add to the charm of Transmissions. Sure if you’re not used to the whole concept idea, then you’re just going to laugh it off and walk away from this. But in a sense, it’s as if the band wanted this to be some pretentious outburst of a record and they’re okay with that. Perhaps no one really expects some alternative rock band to set the bar rather high in terms of the sound, but it doesn’t make it an absolute monstrosity or anything like that.

Even for an album like this Transmissions is actually an enjoyable record to say the most. While the overall nature of this album goes way more over the edge than it should, it still remains a solid, if passible record. But whether or not it’s worth buying I couldn’t agree to due to its immense flaws, but it is worth listening to give Starset credit. However, if this does end up spawning singles, it’s best to leave out the “Hans Zimmer film score" moments.



Recent reviews by this author
In Flames Siren CharmsThousand Foot Krutch Oxygen: Inhale
In Flames Soundtrack to Your EscapeTheory of a Deadman Savages
Rhapsody of Fire Symphony of Enchanted Lands IIRhapsody of Fire Power of the Dragonflame
user ratings (31)
Chart.
3
good
other reviews of this album
Kars Landman (3.5)
A modern rock band reaching for the stars....


Comments:Add a Comment 
Toondude10
July 13th 2014


4034 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0 | Sound Off

Even though it's such an overblown record, I still really enjoyed this. And 'Carnivore' and 'My Demons' rule with an iron fist. :D

Feedback appreciated as always.

Digging: Queens of the Stone Age - Songs for the Deaf

Green Baron
July 13th 2014


20000 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

"My Demons" finally went Top 10 on the rock charts this week after 30 weeks, lol

Toondude10
July 13th 2014


4034 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0 | Sound Off

Wow, holy crap XD Even though that song is awesome, that's horrible.

mawdicker411
July 13th 2014


52 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Album is amazing, pretty flawless if you ask me! I love the strings between songs too.


Digging: Finch (US) - Back to Oblivion

Green Baron
July 13th 2014


20000 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Horrible that it did so well or horrible that it took so long?

Toondude10
July 13th 2014


4034 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0 | Sound Off

horrible that it took so long

Album is amazing, pretty flawless if you ask me! I love the strings between songs too.


Yet you rated this a 4...seems legit.

pizzamachine
July 13th 2014


12571 Comments


Pretty catchy album but they're no Ra. pos

Betray
July 13th 2014


3224 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Not really into this kind of music but gotta give it credit

catchy

Digging: Scar Symmetry - Pitch Black Progress

TPM731
July 14th 2014


238 Comments


Good job on the review, pos'd.

This actually sounds interesting because of the negative things you said about it.

DreamAgain
July 14th 2014


264 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Album is great.

"whole hans zimmer thing"

uh what? dumb comment. does moving mountains have "filler" in between their tracks?

RadicalEd
July 14th 2014


2660 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

Checked "My Demons" and "Carnivore" both were lame as fuck.

Digging: Perfume Genius - Too Bright

Toondude10
July 14th 2014


4034 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0 | Sound Off

Yay! My first feature!

Beardog
July 14th 2014


311 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5 | Sound Off

Good review, funny how you dislike the 'Hans Zimmer' parts and I like them

Artuma
July 14th 2014


13506 Comments


this seems like something utterly horrible

Digging: Indian Summer - Science 1994

Green Baron
July 14th 2014


20000 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

It should have been quite frankly

Toondude10
July 14th 2014


4034 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0 | Sound Off

Yeah it really should have been. Though I think the overproduction actually gives it the charm to at least make it passable.

VaxXi
July 14th 2014


510 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

The production is outstanding, but execution is highly lacking and the energy is missing in certain
parts but present in others (My Demon's pre-chorus is top notch but its main chorus is highly lacking,
along with its verses)

It is a polarizing album it seems as the userbase here seems separated a bit. I say that for a debut
album this is quite a good one, and I do hope they try to implement more "harder" elements in their
next release.

Edit: the more I think about it, this record sounds like the result of a Linkin Park, Breaking
Benjamin, and Skillet orgy gone wrong. That isn't a good thing.

Toondude10
July 14th 2014


4034 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0 | Sound Off

funny how you dislike the 'Hans Zimmer' parts and I like them


It's not that I don't like them (I honestly do like most of them) it's just that they are ridiculously unnecessary. The record would've been more tolerable/passable if they didn't exist at all.

Green Baron
July 14th 2014


20000 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Or they could be seperate tracks

Green Baron
July 14th 2014


20000 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

but then they'd just be ripping off Tool



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy