The Smith Street Band
Don't Fuck With Our Dreams


4.5
superb

Review

by Subhodeep Dasgupta USER (6 Reviews)
July 11th, 2014 | 53 replies


Release Date: 08/09/2013 | Tracklist

Review Summary: A borderline classic 5-track EP that is bound to make fans out of first-time listeners, and devotees out of fans.

What is Punk? Wikipedia defines Punk Rock as, “fast, hard-edged music, typically with short songs, stripped-down instrumentation, and often political, anti-establishment lyrics.” However, the Punk genre has come under deep scrutiny with many of the big names “selling out”, or forsaking attitude and quality for fame and money; you know, what normal people would do. But I digress. Fact is, despite all the criticism, there is no doubt that Punk Rock has played an important part in shaping the present state of modern music, and continues to be a major force throughout all the drama.

A relatively newer name in the scene is Melbourne, Australia’s The Smith Street Band. In a short career of only 5 years, they have amassed quite the reputation with every album of theirs receiving widespread critical acclaim. Their latest offering, 2013’s Don’t F*** With Our Dreams, was released, then, to massive expectations. But challenges only bring out the best in men, and if this album is anything to go by, the saying has never been truer.


Don’t F*** With Our Dreams is as unabashed and untamed as the album title would suggest. Not one moment is wasted in stating their intents clear, and the eponymous album opener is quite cleverly crafted. What is more respectable, though, is the fact that they are not afraid to surprise. Just when you think you know the direction in which the song is going, they bring one out of left field. And the climactic onslaught is even better for that. They don’t allow the momentum to cease, though, and the opener quite metaphorically leads into one of the highlights of the 5-track EP.

“Ducks Fly Together” is another dose of variety, and holds your attention throughout its 3 and a half minute length. And although one of the lines in the chorus can quite comically be misheard as “I miss your butt”, it’s only one of those instances where the listener is made to question if this was an intentional Easter egg. And it’s this clever songwriting that ultimately becomes the major take-away from this effort.

I mentioned variety before, and that is what amazes me about this EP the most. In just 5 tracks they’ve shown just about everything that they are capable of and it is bound to make fans out of first-time listeners, and devotees out of fans. And when they claim to start something “Bigger Than Us”, you know they’re not bluffing.

If I had to levy a criticism – if we can call it that – at this EP, it’d be that it’s perhaps a bit too accessible. Even when you know that the band is entirely in their element, they never reach the kind of angst that’d be expected of an album with such a name. But – and excuse me if I’m getting overtly philosophical here – it rather seems intentional to me. So, even if it might seem that I’m contradicting myself here, I’m only asking you to read between the lines, and not take the music or the lyrics for their face value. There is lot more depth, a lot more variety, and a lot more finesse than a casual listen might tell you. They don’t want worldwide fame because they thrive in rarity and rawness.


So, to answer the opening question of this review, quite undoubtedly, The Smith Street Band is Punk.


Recommended Tracks: Ducks Fly Together, Bigger Than Us



Recent reviews by this author
Kongos LunaticSeether Isolate and Medicate
Decyfer Down Scarecrow7Lions Born 2 Run
Wolves at the Gate VxV
user ratings (84)
Chart.
4
excellent

Comments:Add a Comment 
Subho
July 11th 2014


106 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Here's the album stream:

http://thesmithstreetband.bandcamp.com/album/dont-fuck-with-our-dreams

Digging: Foo Fighters - Sonic Highways

dimsim3478
July 11th 2014


5308 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5 | Sound Off

it's not that great of an EP when you really think about it but it's an amazing live experience

also http://i.imgur.com/9ncaUs7.png

Digging: Crying - Get Olde Second Wind

Subho
July 11th 2014


106 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

^ LOL

mryrtmrnfoxxxy
July 11th 2014


13396 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

i dont understand these guys

Digging: The Smith Street Band - Throw Me In The River

Atari
Contributing Reviewer
July 11th 2014


20063 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Sweet

Digging: Trophy Eyes - Mend, Move On

wabbit
July 11th 2014


7020 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

BEST BAND

mryrtmrnfoxxxy
July 11th 2014


13396 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

how is this different from ajj or btmi but with worse lyrics @miles

cableguy
July 11th 2014


64 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

they are working on a new album with Jeff Rosenstock at the moment -> some potential there ...

Digging: Heart In Hand - A Beautiful White

Kris.
July 11th 2014


12424 Comments


foxy shut up look at how wrong you are guess im not listening to gbv after all

Feather
July 11th 2014


1443 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

Couldn't have asked for a better review of this. You share the same feelings I do with this release.

... I actually did think the lyrics were "I miss your butt"... what is it supposed to be.

Digging: The Smith Street Band - Throw Me In The River

mryrtmrnfoxxxy
July 11th 2014


13396 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

kris shut up look how you missed a classic mezz reference u idiot

Kris.
July 11th 2014


12424 Comments


oh no i did and now ive made myself look the fool!!!

mryrtmrnfoxxxy
July 11th 2014


13396 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

gbv = fools music so ~everything in its right place~ etc

dimsim3478
July 11th 2014


5308 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5 | Sound Off

... I actually did think the lyrics were "I miss your butt"... what is it supposed to be.

"I miss you but / it feels good this way / let's fall in love / somewhere that you wanna stay" etc.

deathschool
July 11th 2014


9979 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I couldn't get into these guys either for some reason. I didn't hate it, but it just didn't grab me. Imma check this though, and try to relisten to their other albums. Solid review overall man. Could have made less "I" statements, but no biggie. Also I'm excited to hear their upcoming album cuz Rosenstock.

Digging: The Smith Street Band - Throw Me In The River

wabbit
July 11th 2014


7020 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

BEST BAND [2]

Feather
July 11th 2014


1443 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

dimsim thank you so much.. haha. I like the song more now.

Subho
July 12th 2014


106 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

@Feather Haha. I had to Google the lyrics to be sure. Had doubts why someone would write something like that. Haha. And I'm glad you liked it. Since it was requested by you, your approval was important.

@deathschool Thanks for the tip regarding first person statements. Something to keep a note of. Glad you liked it!

Judio!
Contributing Reviewer
July 13th 2014


6480 Comments


Very well-written review, pos'd! Spacing is a little weird though, might want to fix that.

Digging: The Twilight Sad - Fourteen Autumns and Fifteen Winters

Subho
July 14th 2014


106 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Cheers' Jud. It was intentional, but I'll surely keep that in mind



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy