TTNG
Adventure, Stamina and Anger


4.5
superb

Review

by Erik Meyer USER (1 Reviews)
July 9th, 2014 | 44 replies


Release Date: 2011 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Each entrance an exit.

Let’s talk about facts. Adventure, Stamina & Anger is a 2011 single released by the Oxford, England math-rock group This Town Needs Guns (now TTNG after a 2013 name change). The single is most notable for being the last TTNG release to feature Stu Smith on vocals. Departing to focus on the age-old, noble task of fatherhood, Stu’s departure was on amicable terms. The cover art features a young boy with a bloody cut above his left eye. With his cocked head, pursed lips, and piercing glare, he seems resilient in the face of pain.

After the minutiae of acquiring this release and soaking in the two song, 8:17 runtime, I’ve been introduced. All it takes is the first few notes to ring out from lead guitarist - and the band’s creative leader - Tim Collis’ guitar and I know what I’m in for. Guitar virtuosity via ultra-melodic tapping along with frantic drums from Tim’s brother Chris keeping the pace provide the backdrop for Stu Smith’s heartfelt vocal performance. Jamie Cooper’s bass work does not go unnoticed either, as he helps bolster the instrumentals with his smooth performance sliding around the neck. The comfortability and tightness of the band is evident, and the pristine production shines a bright spotlight on that.

If I had to choose one word to describe this release, I’d say “bittersweet”. In terms of mood, both tracks here paint a melancholic and reflective portrait. The title track is a love letter of sorts to someone or something with whom great memories and harsh times have been shared. “Mnspector Iorse” at surface level details a conflict between the author and a scientist. I can’t help but delve a little further into the lyrics and see the metaphors and allusions to Stu’s exit from the band. There’s a part in the title track where the drums and bass drop out and Stu takes a step back from the microphone to belt out “Sweat drips from quivered lips and tied tongues forgive what we have done.” He continues to repeat that line, but then, from almost outside of the song, he begins to repeat “I will not forget this moment” as if he’s really savoring it. It's his vocal performance that - despite the amazing guitar work of Tim Collis - really brings this single the emotional depth that makes it truly unique and enjoyable.

On a personal level, I keep thinking about how fitting that my introduction to the band - and really, this subgenre of rock music - is Stu Smith’s swan song. As he enters the cusp of fatherhood, I find myself at a similar crossroads. With a blossoming relationship and the pitfalls of entering adulthood, leaving the days of yore behind has been bittersweet, or as Stu would say, “Each entrance an exit”.


user ratings (141)
Chart.
4.1
excellent

Comments:Add a Comment 
Emyay
July 9th 2014


5968 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

welp. here's my entry for " Review A Random Album Game 2014".

first review, wanted to do something kind of different. would be grateful for some feedback. hope you all enjoy

Feather
July 9th 2014


1393 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Really enjoyed your review, enjoyed how you made it personal in the end. I also really enjoyed this short "album". pos.

Digging: The Smith Street Band - Throw Me In The River

mryrtmrnfoxxxy
July 9th 2014


13381 Comments


good review but why did it create another entry on the band page

Digging: The Smith Street Band - Throw Me In The River

Emyay
July 9th 2014


5968 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

idk i really wish it didn't. hopefully someone can fix that lol.

mryrtmrnfoxxxy
July 9th 2014


13381 Comments


you should review more often tbh maybe review some gbv

Betray
July 9th 2014


3745 Comments


Great review. You got decently lucky on your assignment considering this is basically a single haha.

Only a single nitpick. I think one "-" or even a simple comma is more than enough to change a line's tone.



Emyay
July 9th 2014


5968 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

it's supposed to be an "em dash" aka — but the formatting got messed up. i will try to fix it.

Emyay
July 9th 2014


5968 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

damnit just tried to fix it and now its got �� bullshit

mryrtmrnfoxxxy
July 9th 2014


13381 Comments


i think that happens when you copy from word probably jsut retype those words or something

SharkTooth
July 9th 2014


5268 Comments


remove the —, the review template can't process those characters

Emyay
July 9th 2014


5968 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

i guess i could change it to a regular dash but the em dash just looks so much better / professional


SharkTooth
July 9th 2014


5268 Comments


just use characters the template understands as substitutes

Emyay
July 9th 2014


5968 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

well i thought --- was the substitute. thats what it is in word

Judio!
Contributing Reviewer
July 9th 2014


6322 Comments


Sweet review dude, pos'd. Surprised this is only your first, this was a really great read. Sorry you
got assigned such a short album but I'm glad you enjoyed it so much!

Also, sorry you got stuck with those �'s. Always annoying as fuck when that happens.

Digging: maudlin of the Well - Leaving Your Body Map

Emyay
July 9th 2014


5968 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

i can fix it if i figure out how sputnik works as far as em dashes go

thanks for all of the love / pos' too y'all. it was fun writing this

Judio!
Contributing Reviewer
July 9th 2014


6322 Comments


If you edit out the dashes from your review, will it delete all the �'s? If so, that's my advice, they're huge eyesores.

Emyay
July 9th 2014


5968 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

yeah let me just fix it real quick by making them regular dashes and then hopefully i can figure out how to do the larger em dashes later on

Emyay
July 9th 2014


5968 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

temporarily fixed judio. not an eyesore anymore agreed

Judio!
Contributing Reviewer
July 9th 2014


6322 Comments


looks good man :]

TheGreatQ
July 9th 2014


1487 Comments


This review made me want to check this out. Pos'd

Digging: She Wants Revenge - She Wants Revenge



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy