Seven That Spells
The Death And Resurrection Of Krautrock: IO


4.0
excellent

Review

by Raul Stanciu STAFF
July 8th, 2014 | 40 replies


Release Date: 07/04/2014 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Grab thy backpack and hitchhike your way through the galaxy.

One of Europe's craziest and coolest bands returns with the second part of a trilogy started three years ago, under the main title of The Death And Resurrection Of Krautrock. The first saga, AUM, started as a shift from the noisy, hellish tunes, which actually involved some complicated musical patterns drowned in a constant wash of feedback, solos among other effects and instruments. With IO, we finally get to the gist of the series, finding what this new direction is all about. The result? This might just be the best record Seven That Spells have put out so far.

The free-form psychedelia receives here a more (audibly) defined structure, whereas the twangy guitar features some mesmerizing Balkan rhythms interspersed with wacky solos and moody passages. The two songs bookending IO, 'In II' and 'Out II' are perfect examples of magnificent, twisted riffs that jump all over the scale. Even though these are constantly repeated, STS have found some of their most charming chords and leads to hypnotize you. Spicing things up, there are slight changes such as spontaneous tempo shifts or sparse keyboards in the background, that are only meant to enhance your listening experience.

The introduction of vocals on the two opuses, 'Io' and 'Burning Blood' is one of the best choices STS could have made. It really boosts the whole adventure, while expanding a rather new and fresh side of the band too. Moreover, the mid-tempo grooves backing the lovely chants create a misty atmosphere that echoes Master Musicians Of Bukkake. You can only imagine yourself crossing the mountains like a nomad in the middle ages. This approach was first used on 'Stara Planina (Slight Return)' off Cosmoerotic Dialogue With Lucifer back in 2008, yet the formula feels more authentic and at home on IO since the band focuses on melodies this time. Also, the addition of somber synthesizers and loose passages help build that thrilling vibe instead of a cathartic one (which wasn't bad at all in the first place!).

Overall, IO makes for an excellent detour from the usual sonic insanity that characterizes their output. The guys still include some those trademark noisy guitars, however, there is a lot more room for grooves that are very interesting and a lot more digestible. So far, this trilogy has become a defining one for Seven That Spells, creating some of their tightest tunes yet. With this newfound inspiration, we can only hope the final part goes even further down this path to create something even bigger and better. Recommended for everybody who's new to the band and especially into psychedelic music.




Recent reviews by this author
Motorpsycho The Motorpnakotic FragmentsJakob Skott Taurus Rising
Brant Bjork Black Power FlowerSiena Root Pioneers
The Ting Tings Super CriticalMark Lanegan Phantom Radio
user ratings (11)
Chart.
3.9
excellent

Comments:Add a Comment 
insomniac15
Staff Reviewer
July 8th 2014


3502 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Awesome album! Great change in direction that truly complements the other records in their discography.

Full stream above or here - http://seventhatspells.bandcamp.com/

Digging: Motorpsycho - The Motorpnakotic Fragments

Mad.
July 8th 2014


4197 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Yay, it's up! Really enjoying this album atm, agreed that the vocals add a lot to it. I guess I'll have to listen to Master Musicians Of Bukkake now as well, and I need to listen to some of this band's other stuff. Shame they haven't yet made a masterpiece though.

insomniac15
Staff Reviewer
July 8th 2014


3502 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Well they've been improvising a lot of the material found on the records and sometimes it's awesome, sometimes it's exhausting. Yet, they have a constant line-up now, so the chemistry should grow. They are great musicians.

Master Musicians Of Bukkake are really cool, especially the live videos I've seen. Same thing though, sometimes it's awesome, sometimes exhausting.



Mad.
July 8th 2014


4197 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Yeah I can imagine, my problem with this is that it can verge on becoming tiresome, like the first riff in the first track. Burning Blood is possibly the best track, apart from the pointless 2 minutes of telephone beeping at the end, not sure why that's there.



insomniac15
Staff Reviewer
July 8th 2014


3502 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I don't mind the riff in the first track haha. I understand you, I like Burning Blood and Io most. These three tracks were played live when i saw them in May and it was so awesome! Maybe that's why I'm biased haha.

Mad.
July 8th 2014


4197 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

It's just cuz the riff's repeated so many times. I imagine they'd be awesome live, lotsa energy, plus they look like funny guys, judging by their facebook page and bio

"hailing from the 23rd century where rock is dead, Seven That Spells returned in time where its still possible to change the tragic course of the boring history."

insomniac15
Staff Reviewer
July 8th 2014


3502 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Yeah the guys (especially Niko Potocnjak the frontman) is really fun! He posts a lot of crazy stuff on Facebook on behalf of the band and himself. Just got the interview, it's cool and to the point haha.

4N4LB34D5
July 8th 2014


327 Comments


damn son. 3 minutes of "Io" was all it took to convince me to buy this album. such gnarly grooves!

Digging: Hark - Crystalline

insomniac15
Staff Reviewer
July 9th 2014


3502 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

That's great to hear! Be sure to check out other albums too!

Mad.
July 9th 2014


4197 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Did they feature your Tim Bowness review again instead of this one? lol

insomniac15
Staff Reviewer
July 9th 2014


3502 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Yeah, well Tim Bowness' record is being released in the US this week. Sputnik takes the dates after the US ones. I asked to switch it, hopefully the mods will agree with me.

ExplosiveOranges
July 9th 2014


3884 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Should probs check this out soon.

Digging: Millicent Waffles - Under Dark Blue Blanket

InbredJed
July 10th 2014


6106 Comments


woooo this looks fuckin cool!

Mad.
July 10th 2014


4197 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

This could well classify as space-rock, which is in every way a good thing.

ADV123
July 10th 2014


180 Comments


Know anywhere I could listen to this for free? These guys sound cool

Mad.
July 10th 2014


4197 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Bandcamp, look at Insomniac's link

ADV123
July 10th 2014


180 Comments


nvm just saw the bandcamp thing at the bottom lol

Mad.
July 10th 2014


4197 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

beginning of Burning Blood is definitely a highlight

djunior
July 10th 2014


833 Comments


This seems pretty cool, will listen. Thanks for bringing it to my attention.

Digging: Kairon; IRSE! - Ujubasajuba

MeatSalad
July 10th 2014


15068 Comments


Harry potter?

Digging: Hey Rosetta! - Into Your Lungs (And Around in Your Heart and on



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy