Arctic Monkeys
AM


2.5
average

Review

by arismccarthy USER (7 Reviews)
July 7th, 2014 | 27 replies


Release Date: 09/06/2013 | Tracklist

Review Summary: A rather mature comeback from the ever-popular Sheffield band.

With nearly ten years experience under their belt, the Arctic Monkeys clearly know their way around the music industry. Numerous tours, albums and singles only helped their cause. In my hometown of Sheffield, the origin of the band, there was much hype for this specific album.

There are some standouts on the album. "R U Mine?" stands out as one of the most prominent tracks on the album, with a catchy guitar riff that was very memorable. The majority of the tracks on the album were also good. None of them stood out as particularly bad. They all just seem to blend together after a while, as they all seem to have almost identical backing music, with none of the other songs standing out. Even "Do I wanna know?" and "Why'd you only call me when you're high?" seem to have the same sort of general sound and tempo.

This album sounds original, and much more matured than the band's previous work, and it is. The sound is less alt-rock and more psychedelic-rock. The band has changed subtly since their debut, and have stripped back on lots of tracks on the album. Simple percussion and bass help highlight the "less is more" feel, which is a complete curveball when we compare this to the debut.

The problem with this album is the repetition. On first listen, this album is decent. You can't fault it, it's completely different to what we've heard of the band before. When listened to over again, you start to realize that the album is more monotonous. It's incredibly average. The band have changed their music subtly, though have done very little varied songwriting here.

I can't say this is at all a bad album. It is a rather good comeback from the previous album, and has a rather interesting feel to it. However, seeing what the band are capable of, this album feels like a slight let-down.



Recent reviews by this author
Nirvana In UteroParamore All We Know Is Falling
Lana Del Rey Born to DieThe xx xx
Lindsey Stirling Lindsey StirlingLindsey Stirling Shatter Me
user ratings (792)
Chart.
3.6
great
other reviews of this album
1 of

Comments:Add a Comment 
HolidayKirk
Contributing Reviewer
July 7th 2014


1650 Comments


"This is by no means a bad album at all. None of the tracks are bad at all"

"2.0 - Poor"



RadicalEd
July 7th 2014


2743 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

This is by no means a bad review at all.

Oh wait it is.


Futures
July 7th 2014


12040 Comments


lol

Digging: Damien Rice - My Favourite Faded Fantasy

arismccarthy
July 7th 2014


10 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

..yeah I've just noticed how contradictory I am on this review.


ShadowRemains
July 7th 2014


21306 Comments


this review tells me absolutely nothing

TalonsOfFire
July 7th 2014


8979 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Try to avoid using such repetitive language and talk more about the characteristics of the music instead of just repeating how
monotonous it is and then contradicting yourself

Digging: Bloodbath - Grand Morbid Funeral

arismccarthy
July 7th 2014


10 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

I really didn't write much of any use here, is it possible to rewrite reviews?

TalonsOfFire
July 7th 2014


8979 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Yeah just go under "edit reviews" on the bottom left part of your review page

HolidayKirk
Contributing Reviewer
July 7th 2014


1650 Comments


I genuinely applaud your willingness to make repairs.

RiffOClock
July 7th 2014


1051 Comments


this band is awful

Futures
July 7th 2014


12040 Comments


no

MrSirLordGentleman
July 7th 2014


4735 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

no [2]

TalonsOfFire
July 7th 2014


8979 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

[3] no bad albums, suck it is their worst and it's probably a 3.4

mryrtmrnfoxxxy
July 7th 2014


13396 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

good review pos

Digging: The Smith Street Band - Throw Me In The River

Arcade
Contributing Reviewer
July 8th 2014


3170 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

I was just in a record store and overheard somebody looking for the new animal collective album, AM, and they started yelling
at the shopowners and berated them for not having such a popular animal collective album in stock.















.

Digging: Damien Rice - My Favourite Faded Fantasy

Futures
July 8th 2014


12040 Comments


wait wtf lol

Arcade
Contributing Reviewer
July 8th 2014


3170 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

never cringed so hard

Futures
July 8th 2014


12040 Comments


guy must've been drunk or high as fuck

Arcade
Contributing Reviewer
July 8th 2014


3170 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

nah they were like 14, they were saying a whole array of other stupid shit that made me cringe.

punctuated by my lack of money and finding a treasure trove of Swans albums i wanted to buy, it's been a relatively shit day lol

VaxXi
July 8th 2014


703 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

I had a much better day, hit up a record store and scored 9 awesome albums for 40 bucks :3



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy