Mimicking Birds
EONS


4.0
excellent

Review

by J. Wagel USER (8 Reviews)
July 6th, 2014 | 49 replies


Release Date: 05/13/2014 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Focused, yet bewildering. Subdued, yet sprawling.

Balancing the qualities of eerie and dreamy, with a rustic touch, Mimicking Birds play a style of folk music with a tint of whimsical alternative rock that could be the offspring of a group like Iron & Wine, and the more restrained aspects of Modest Mouse. As a group they come together to create an inexplicably mystifying aura that is sure to have the listener slowly closing their eyes, humming, and becoming encapsulated.

No aspect of the record has been focalized, and none has been forgotten or overshadowed, giving this piece a profound sense of balance. While this balance is inherently a blessing, subsequently, it is a curse, lending to the sense of deja-vu and at times rendering the music forgettable. Alas, there is a silver-lining, even at its most unadorned times, the record has an atmosphere that is unrivaled. The whirling folksy guitars lay over top of dense layers of ambience, simple rhythmic drums, and often times piano or synthesizer, all crafted to hypnotize and amaze.

While not the most technically proficient, singer Nate Lacy surely contributes to the atmosphere of the album with his subtle maudlin vocals, adding a catchy layer to the ever so persuasive mood captured by this group. The track “Water Under Burned Bridges” serves as a highlight on the album, with a homely feeling of solemn melancholia that brings out the best in the resonating aura, and utilizes Lacy with his most effective vocalization. The overlapping guitars create an eerie vibe that are matched buy dissonant sways in ambience. While the track is prevailingly somber, it manages to be quite alluring with its instrumentals near the tail-end of the track.

This release and band are truly unique with their uncanny ability to create a brooding atmosphere within the folk, and still remain interesting. While not that similar in sound, there is something reminiscent of My Bloody Valentine with the fashion in which the dream-like landscape shines through. The vocals contribute to this comparison quite nicely, although a distinct line cannot be drawn between the two.

Eons serves as a great record from a promising group who have a knack for writing encompassing music, that doesn’t reach too far from its comfort zone, but really doesn’t need to in order to make a captivating slab of music.



Recent reviews by this author
Palm Reader Bad WeatherSilverline Lights Out
Comrades SafekeeperMan Mountain To Call Each Thing by its Right Name
Locktender RodinThe Kindred Life in Lucidity
user ratings (28)
Chart.
3.9
excellent

Comments:Add a Comment 
PitchforkArms
July 6th 2014


1441 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

short and sweet.

how do iron & wine and modest mouse have offspring if they’re dudes?

mryrtmrnfoxxxy
July 6th 2014


13139 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

'closing there eyes' & 'matched buy dissonant'

other than that cool review im glad someone did it!

Digging: Electric Wurms - Musik Die Schwer Zu Twerk

PitchforkArms
July 6th 2014


1441 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

whoops wow thats embarassing lol

and yeah man it needs a review and some more attention, its really solid i'd say this is more like a really low 4 rather than
a 3.5 but whateva. Really glad you showed me this. and it only really needs a short review, people should just go listen

mryrtmrnfoxxxy
July 6th 2014


13139 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Nates vocal melodies really push this over the edge for me, love em

PitchforkArms
July 6th 2014


1441 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

yeah, like i said this is more like a 4, i may just change the rating on here, it reads between a 4 and a 3.5 what'ya think?

silentstar
July 6th 2014


2253 Comments


listen to foxxxxxxxxxxxxxy

mryrtmrnfoxxxy
July 6th 2014


13139 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

yea!

mryrtmrnfoxxxy
July 7th 2014


13139 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

they tweeted your review bud ur famous

PitchforkArms
July 7th 2014


1441 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

hahaha, sweeeeee

ADV123
July 7th 2014


138 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

some chill songs on this one

Thuckabe
July 10th 2014


34 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

This is a grower. I'm not convinced of 4, but man, this album - quickly climbing my 2014 list.
Btw, nice review. Well said; short and sweet.

Digging: Low Roar - 0

Ponton
Emeritus
July 10th 2014


5793 Comments


self titled trumps this but i really dig the first half a lot

reviews good, minus the bolding i guess. summary could use work because you kinda just backward pedal and then forward pedal in that run on.

PitchforkArms
July 10th 2014


1441 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Thanks Pon, appreciate it. I'll re-write the end in a little

mryrtmrnfoxxxy
July 23rd 2014


13139 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

bump

tommygun
July 23rd 2014


24932 Comments


pos cool alb

Digging: Broods - Evergreen

PitchforkArms
July 24th 2014


1441 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

foxy bumpin m/
thanks tommygun, i dig this quite a bit. water under burned bridges is definitely a contender for SOTY

NorthernSkylark
July 24th 2014


3290 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Hey, it has a review

Love this whole album

Digging: Perfume Genius - Too Bright

tommygun
July 24th 2014


24932 Comments


water under burned bridges agreed

also dig memorabilia and the intro of track two

the rest is a homogenous blur in me head even after a dozen spins

good alb to zone out to

PitchforkArms
July 24th 2014


1441 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

yeah i think thats part of the beauty of it though. i don't think its boring, i think it is just kinda puts you in a catatonic trance

NorthernSkylark
July 27th 2014


3290 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

I was so dead-set on this being a 4, but after digging it up again I'm not so sure
Might be a 4.5

This is one of the most coherent aoty, that's for sure



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy