Yonin Bayashi
Ishoku-Sokuhatsu


5.0
classic

Review

by zakalwe USER (5 Reviews)
July 5th, 2014 | 65 replies


Release Date: 1974 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Japanese prog that offers you a ticket to the other-side by staring into the eyes of a pipe smoking sloth. Far out.

Evolution and indeed revolution is open to all manner of inventiveness and during the course of the early '70s many a band were taking rock into new un-chartered territory using an amalgamation of styles that was marketed as 'prog.'
The period produced albums that are regarded as timeless pieces of art, the pinnacle of rock and to many have never been bettered. However like all good revolutions things that are of utmost importance pass unnoticed and here, slowly creeping through the desert is a red eyed, pipe smoking mammal that will forever impose itself on your soul if you care to look into its eyes and take the journey.

A burst of mellotron keys starts the album off with a statement of intent that instantly gives way into the second piece 'Sora to Kumo' or Earth and Clouds a tune that holds its Doors influenced sound close to its heart as guitarist and vocalist Katsutoshi Morizono ebbs his way into the groove with a voice that evokes a youth spent in solitary reflection sat under cherry blossom trees and a guitar accompaniment that builds a bridge into wonderment.
This skilled guitar playing infuses the track Omatsuri into a further twelve minute nostalgia trip that soars and again tips its hat to early Floyd and countless others however is entirely its own thing and never fails to captivate. The highlight and title track of the album then follows and it is a blast of psychedelic rock that will have you shaking your head in the belief that mystical mammals are hammering and forging the essence of mind melting prog rock classics.

The album concludes with an ode to a ping-pong ball and despite the ridiculousness of that premise what we have is a piece of instrumental brilliance rounding off a 35minute journey to the other side. Once completed and you are thrown back into reality your only requirement is to press play again in order to experience the wonderment of this essential record a further time and set out on the journey for eternity.


user ratings (19)
Chart.
4.2
excellent

Comments:Add a Comment 
zakalwe
July 5th 2014


9659 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0 | Sound Off

I gave mysirlordgentleman my word I'd get this done, no review could ever do this classic justice especially not the acid addled rantings of an old man like me.

Give this classic a go, the artwork alone demands it.

Digging: Ibeyi - Ibeyi

SCREAM!
July 5th 2014


10657 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Can't ever see myself 5ing this but it's a great record all the same. Glad to have discovered this during Friday's prog tourney

Friday13th
July 5th 2014


3343 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

THE MIGHTY SLOTH STRIKES BACK!

Digging: Daniel Amos - Darn Floor - Big Bite

zakalwe
July 5th 2014


9659 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0 | Sound Off

You can't keep a good sloth down.

mryrtmrnfoxxxy
July 5th 2014


13952 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

nice

Digging: Jeff Rosenstock - We Cool?

manosg
July 5th 2014


7283 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Excellent album and write up man, pos.

Digging: Misfits - Beware

zakalwe
July 5th 2014


9659 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0 | Sound Off

Cool!

zakalwe
July 5th 2014


9659 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0 | Sound Off

Cheers cap.

The review world is not for me dude, I did this one as I said I would when that prog tourney thing was ongoing and it just so happens that this is one of the five'st of all fives.

Jethro42
July 5th 2014


12856 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

The last time I listened to it was during the Friday's prog tourney. I remember how great the title track was, and I need to recheck the whole album. Good review zak.

zakalwe
July 5th 2014


9659 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0 | Sound Off

Appreciated man.

It's a prog tourney reunion!

VheissuCrisis
Staff Reviewer
July 5th 2014


1123 Comments


Album artwork is a 5.

SnakeDelilah
July 5th 2014


10110 Comments


good review




i neg'd haha

Digging: The Menzingers - On the Impossible Past

zakalwe
July 5th 2014


9659 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0 | Sound Off

Sloth will be waiting in your cupboard while you sleep, red eyes glowing.

Night horrors await.

dannyboy89
July 5th 2014


13072 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

Pos'd hard.



Just fix this:



rounding off a 35minute journey to the other side.




35 minute* (should be separate).

MrSirLordGentleman
July 5th 2014


5241 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

Neg'd





Jk dude, awesome review





SLOOOOOOOOOOOOOTH

Digging: Blue Oyster Cult - Imaginos

Friday13th
July 5th 2014


3343 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

You've inspired me to review an album I've been meaning to do since the tournament...stay tuned.

TWIGtheWONDERKID
July 5th 2014


1036 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

This is great--short, but sweet.

Digging: Grand Tour - Heavy on the Beach

Thealwaysopenedmind
July 6th 2014


92 Comments


Thank you zakalwe....all I can say is thank you.

Digging: J. Cole - 2014 Forest Hills Drive

zakalwe
July 6th 2014


9659 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0 | Sound Off

Cool. Nice to see this album is working it's magic, no worries openedmind

MrSirLordGentleman
July 6th 2014


5241 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

Hey zak, if I'm not wrong, this band released more albums, have you jammed them?



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy