Aaron West and The Roaring Twenties
We Don't Have Each Other


4.5
superb

Review

by Levie Galapon USER (2 Reviews)
July 2nd, 2014 | 117 replies | 17,414 views


Release Date: 07/08/2014 | Tracklist

Review Summary: this album is proof that Aaron West exists.

19 of 19 thought this review was well written

It’s almost ridiculous to think that We Don't Have Each Other is about a fictional character. Dan “Soupy” Campbell creates a visceral tale that gives life to a fictional character in a very real world. To understand the Aaron West character, Soupy would go as far as to write journal entries about Aaron West’s worst year. Undoubtedly, the amount of time, effort, and creativity that went into this album paid off.

Essentially, this album is about the worst year of Aaron West’s life and how he copes with the series of unfortunate events. From dealing with the loss of a loved one (St. Joe Keep’s Us Safe/Divorce and the American South) to dealing with depression and being worn out (The Thunderbird Inn/You Ain't No Saint). The way the story is told is seamless and surprisingly relatable. It is in this relatable factor that gives Aaron West life. For me Aaron West’s story reminds me of those long drives through the American South. You know, when you're on the road at two in the morning just trying to get home. Then you find yourself at some truck stop in a town you never heard of before.

In terms of sound there is little to no hints of The Wonder Years here. The closest Wonder Years song would be The Devil in my Bloodstream or any of their acoustic songs. But even then, here on We Don’t Have Each Other it never becomes too bombastic like the second half of The Devil in my Bloodstream. The whole album is more like The Mountain Goats than The Wonder Years. This is made clear with a The Mountain Goats cover and the lyric “I’m gonna go to Georgia” on Runnin’ Scared.

Soupy stated that this was supposed to be an exercise in better songwriting and guitar playing. However, it is clear that Soupy learned to become a better composer as well. Throughout the album there is a lot of different layers of instruments. The beautiful opener Our Apartment starts with clean electric guitar plucking. Then the song explodes into an eclectic mix of acoustic guitar, drums, and even banjo! Different uses of layering could be heard throughout the album. In a way, Soupy’s experimentation of different instrumentals is similar to that of Sufjan Steven’s compositions. But this ain't no Illinois, different layers of instrumentals, are used here to stress dynamics as compared to Sufjan’s thematic uses.

Due to the incredibly fleshed out character of Aaron West, it is hard to believe, that Aaron West is fictional. The relatable subject matter, infectious melodies, and incredible composition leaves We Don’t Have Each Other as an unforgettable experience. Who knows, maybe in the future it might become a benchmark to the genre. However, if anything, this album is proof that Aaron West exists.


user ratings (150)
Chart.
3.9
excellent
other reviews of this album
YoYoMancuso (3)
We don't have happiness. Or a dad....

Rowan5215 (4.5)
Take the car and run....


Comments:Add a Comment 
dimsim3478
July 2nd 2014



4716 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

oh man i'm going to need time for this one to sink in

Digging: Joyce Manor - Never Hungover Again

Calc
July 2nd 2014



11941 Comments


"this album is proof that Aaron West exists."

my mind is blown

Digging: Kashiwa Daisuke - April. #02

leviegalapon
July 2nd 2014



10 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

@dimsim3478 I thought about that too before writing this. But I had the idea of the review ever since You Ain't No Saint came out a few weeks ago.

leviegalapon
July 2nd 2014



10 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

@calc It's a hyperbole of course, I just wanted a statement that shows how realized the character, story, and concept is
pulled off.


Pajolero
July 2nd 2014



79 Comments


Can't wait to get home from work and listen to this.

Atari
Contributing Reviewer
July 2nd 2014



19397 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

bet this is amazing

Digging: Musk Ox - Woodfall

Atari
Contributing Reviewer
July 2nd 2014



19397 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

I wouldn't doubt it if Soupy used some of his own personal life experiences to shape the story of this "fictional" character.

good review too btw, especially for only your 2nd.

different layers of instrumentals, are used here to stress dynamics as compared to Sufjan’s thematic uses.


no need for a comma after instrumentals here




SnakeDelilah
July 2nd 2014



5304 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

WELL HE POURS ME A COFFEE AND ASKS ME IF IT'S BEEN A LONG NIGHT

Digging: Bob Dylan - Highway 61 Revisited

chug73
July 2nd 2014



907 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Great review for a great album.


Digging: Last Days of Humanity - Putrefaction in Progress

Atari
Contributing Reviewer
July 2nd 2014



19397 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

might be better than the wonder years...

SnakeDelilah
July 2nd 2014



5304 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

5 it atari

Atari
Contributing Reviewer
July 2nd 2014



19397 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

lol i haven't even heard the whole thing yet. I'm blown away so far though. The lyrics are at least on par with TWY (if not better) and the songs themselves are really well constructed

leviegalapon
July 2nd 2014



10 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

@atari thanks man! I'm glad you liked it! Lol back in college I would never get those commas in the right place. And I agree, Soupy most likely did use some of his experiences. I mean on Our Apartment he said two things similar to what he said on Suburbia. He said something about sleeping on a couch alone and having lunch with an ex's sister like on Came Out Swinging and Woke Up Older

thelastsignal
July 2nd 2014



952 Comments


Very nice review, man; pos'd. This sounds awesome, can't wait to listen.

Digging: Mastodon - Once More 'Round the Sun

leviegalapon
July 2nd 2014



10 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

@chug74 thanks man, it really is great!

@thelastsignal thanks for the pos, I really appreciate it! If you haven't heard it yet, im sure you will really enjoy it!

thelastsignal
July 2nd 2014



952 Comments


Yeah, def excited to spin it hopefully later on tonight.

SCREAMorphine
July 2nd 2014



1751 Comments


Good review mate.
I've enjoyed what I've heard of this so far.

leviegalapon
July 3rd 2014



10 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

@screamorphine thanks for the feedback man!

YoYoMancuso
July 3rd 2014



10814 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0 | Sound Off

Glad to hear people are digging this, I'd get it now but I already have it pre-ordered

Rowan5215
July 3rd 2014



24415 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Goddamn I was gonna review this, still will though
"I wouldn't doubt it if Soupy used some of his own personal life experiences to shape the story of this "fictional" character." my thoughts exactly

Digging: Dot Hacker - How's Your Process? (Work)



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2013 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy