Yes
Heaven and Earth


1.0
awful

Review

by The Fripperfold Curiosity USER (45 Reviews)
June 26th, 2014 | 607 replies


Release Date: 07/22/2014 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Say no to Yes.

A new Yes album is something that exists in the year of our lord 2014, and it goes by the name of Heaven & Earth. No hype, despite the band’s efforts, was present. Dread is a more appropriate word for many who just simply hoped it would all end. But, no mercy killing would suffice for this progressive rock dinosaur, opting for a brand-spanking-new album, with another replacement (for Benoit David, the original replacement for long-standing vocalist Jon Anderson) by the name of Jon Davison. The immediate issue with this is that Davison is just a fourth-rate Jon Anderson imitator, and a poor songwriter to boot. How this all came to be is one big mystery to be honest, and Heaven & Earth is really just a victim of not only horrendous songwriting, but atrocious production as well (as done by Roy Baker Thomas, known for his work with Queen). The combination of the band’s sound, and Thomas’ style of sleek production don’t mesh well in the slightest bit.

From the instant it begins, it all seems so bland and uninspired, from the SNES-tier synthesizers by Geoff Downes, or the hesitant playing by Steve Howe. Vocally, the album is sub-par, but it is probably the only positive point of Heaven & Earth. The instrumentation however, is lacking and quite far too restrained, most notably the leisurely playing on In A World of Our Own, or the incredibly droll The Game with lyrics that make even the most novice songwriter look like Bernie Taupin in comparison:

“We all know the rules, the game/Us fools, still we play the same…”

”Through fleeting days and all that greys/It’s times like these as true love stays/I always knew through thick and thin/It’s here that I’d begin again.”

Now, there was never an expectation of an epic on the scale of Close to the Edge or Awaken, nor was there an expectation of songs like Hearts or Shock to the System. However, from the day it was announced, there was the lurking expectation of not only potential (and very likely) disappointment of yet another terrible Yes album, but at least a decent effort of making something worth listening to. Yet, that is not the case, and Yes has gone above and beyond to make the newest atrocity for the progressive rock genre.

Throwing in generic moog solos is not progressive. No Steve Howe, tossing in legato triplets over and over, and over again is not innovative in the slightest bit. None of this tripe, all fifty-two minutes of it, is progressive at all. More akin to a dying breed, latter-era Yes is regressing. While something like Fly From Here worked for reviving an ancient track long forgotten by the band and expanding upon it, and throwing in a few new tracks that filled out the running time, Heaven & Earth just doesn’t work at all. In comparison, Big Generator seems like a progressive rock classic, and if Yes can create something that allows me to say something like that, then it truly must be time to give up on the band.

To say no to Yes.



Recent reviews by this author
Mr. Bungle Bowel Of ChileyThe Enid The Spell
Electric Wurms Musik, Die Schwer Zu TwerkKimono Kult Hiding In The Light
A Slow Descent Dance With Me Upon His Secret OceanThe Flaming Lips 7 Skies H3
user ratings (102)
Chart.
1.8
poor

Comments:Add a Comment 
BMDrummer
June 26th 2014


8632 Comments

Album Rating: 1.0 | Sound Off

Yay it's here, fuck this band. Tbqh though, I sort of lost hope in anything with Steve Howe after I found out he was in Asia

Mort.
June 26th 2014


3760 Comments


nice review frip, posd

Digging: Sianvar - Sianvar

Onirium
June 26th 2014


2145 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

Great review, pos'd. I gave it an "average" ranking because, well, it's shit but it's still above average. After the first seconds of the first track I knew this was going to be absolute crap.

Digging: Magma - Mekank Destruktiw Kommandoh

ExplosiveOranges
June 26th 2014


3134 Comments

Album Rating: 1.5

Summary = Instant pos

Digging: Winterfylleth - The Divination Of Antiquity

MrSirLordGentleman
June 26th 2014


4551 Comments

Album Rating: 1.5 | Sound Off

Pos'd, great review, even tho I thought you were gonna make a 5 review for this

BMDrummer
June 26th 2014


8632 Comments

Album Rating: 1.0 | Sound Off

Yeah, talented and virtuoso no question, but he hasn't been too trustworthy with the bands he's decided to play in

menawati
Contributing Reviewer
June 26th 2014


16056 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

Can imagine it's pretty bad.

Digging: Lo-Pan - Colossus

BMDrummer
June 26th 2014


8632 Comments

Album Rating: 1.0 | Sound Off

I just like to think Yes broke up after Drama, occasionally 90125

OmairSh
June 26th 2014


11547 Comments


Dammit Fripp

Digging: Freak Kitchen - Cooking With Pagans

MrSirLordGentleman
June 26th 2014


4551 Comments

Album Rating: 1.5 | Sound Off

AOTY

OmairSh
June 26th 2014


11547 Comments


Top 5 at least

sonictheplumber
June 26th 2014


4621 Comments

Album Rating: 1.5

band hasnt had a good album since before we were born (excluding martin and jethro) and people are losin their minds with hatred

Onirium
June 26th 2014


2145 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

It's sad because I actually enjoyed Fly From Here. It had a lot of cool moments, and only a very few filler tracks. Life on a Film Set and Madman at the Screen were their best songs since like 25 years. This one, though, has their worst songs since Love Will Find a Way and Shoot High Aim Low...

StallionMang
June 26th 2014


5823 Comments


Good read pos'd, it's a shame I thought this could've had potential

"None of this tripe, all fifty-two minutes of it, is not progressive at all."

Little nitpick typo I noticed

Digging: The Velvet Underground - The Velvet Underground

TheMoonchild
June 26th 2014


490 Comments


They still exist?!

Never been a huge fan, but Tales From Topographic Oceans is a great album.

Onirium
June 26th 2014


2145 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

Of course you're not a fan if you've never jammed Close to the Edge, Fragile, Relayer and The Yes
Album. Honestly, I'd say Tales From Topographic Oceans is very average compared to those

Jethro42
June 26th 2014


12478 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

Good review, Fripp. Chances are zero that I would listen to this.

CaptainDooRight
June 26th 2014


29881 Comments


nice summary pos

Didn't read review tho just being honest

Might later tho

Digging: Impetuous Ritual - Unholy Congregation of Hypocritical Ambivalence

FiveLeavesLeft
June 26th 2014


9838 Comments

Album Rating: 1.5 | Sound Off

Really fantastic and detailed review of this dickcheese of a record, pos

Just give it up, Yes... you haven't been relevant for ages :/

Insurrection
Contributing Reviewer
June 26th 2014


21452 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

band keeps getting better and better

Digging: Aspherium - The Fall of Therenia



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy