Deadmau5
While(1<2)


4.0
excellent

Review

by N. Closen USER (1 Reviews)
June 20th, 2014 | 59 replies | 21,645 views


Release Date: 06/17/2014 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Dark undertones, catchy synths, and Reznor's influence - It's an interesting step for the well-known EDM producer, and, despite a few songs, it probably isn't for die-hard House/electronic fans of his earlier work.

16 of 16 thought this review was well written

Deadmau5's seventh studio album comes with a handful of new ideas and material that surprised many long-time fans. And, although a new release, it is rated significantly higher than most of his other work. To some, his work may sound like somewhat of a tribute act to Trent Reznor and his long-time collection of melancholy piano material. Despite a portion of this album sounding darker and like a "less traditional", deadmau5 album, this new direction is a thrilling listen that gives each listener their own interpretation and appreciation of an apparent new sound and direction.

Zimmerman incorporates some enticing elements into his new work. He kicks off the double album with lead single, "Avaritia", sounding like a lost remnant that could have easily been found on his 2008 work, Random Album Title. With a hook comprised of hard-hitting bass and a mellow intermission, Zimmerman kicks off the album with something familiar. As the album continues, it offers more depth than ever before. I was excited to see that Zimmerman included a couple amped-up versions of his 'all piano' EP, 7. Listeners will also find a handful of tracks that could be based in a downtempo-like genre. Continuing on, many of the tracks will remind listeners of Trent Reznor and Atticus Ross' soundtrack for The Social Network, which won awards around the board and received critical acclaim from the film industry. Reznor fans will find tracks like "Bleed" and "Creep" dark and enticing. Along with the obvious influence, Zimmerman included two remixes of tracks originally recorded by Reznor, "Survivalism" and "Ice Age", the latter being from his side-project How To Destroy Angels. Some may argue that these are the weaker tracks on the album, but they fit the overall theme and add to the "darkness" of the album.

Wedged between these melancholic piano tracks, Deadmau5 delivers to his usual fan-base, as well, with tracks such as "My Pet Coelecanth" (and it's unruly "***" sample), "Infra Turbo Pigcart Racer" (a sprawling 9-minute track, reminding us all that Zimmerman can still produce an excellent EDM track that long-time fans will advocate), "Terrors In My Head", "Phantoms Can't Hang" (another pre-release), "Mercedes", and "Pet". These vintage tracks are tracks where Zimmerman revs his engines and does, what most will consider, his best and briightest work. These tracks time-out at about 64 minutes and the leftover is an exquisite 141 minutes of Reznor-influenced "fan-fiction". Drawing influence from Four Tet, Rockwell, Aphex Twin (his quieter, less compex side), and even Depeche Mode on track, "Errors In My Bread", Zimmerman explores an entirely new sound. Fillers like Coelecanth I/II are still welcome transitional tracks that set up his "larger" work. Still, songs like "Monday" deviate so much from the Deadmau5 that we know, it is hardly recognizable as something Zimmerman would include on the album.

Closer "Seeya" doesn't offer much to the album. I was surprised to see this track at the end, as it is considered catchy enough to be the album's second single, yet still my least favorite. It is a futuristic, funky track featuring Colleen D’Agostino, that disappointed many fans when it was first released.

The arrangement of the songs is interesting to me, as well. Sandwiching a brilliant song like "Mercedes" between the likes of "Superbia" and "Bleed" was a controversial call to some people who already have given the album a good, few listens. This album still flows nicely as a whole and gives fans a whole new taste of a musically refined, yet diversed album, as opposed to his always prevalent club tracks.

Standout tracks include:
"Somewhere Up Here"
"My Pet Coelecanth"
"Errors In My Bread"
"Bleed"
"Troubles In My Head"
"Pets"
"Infra Pigcart Racer"

The rest of the album is just as enjoyable to me and will help concrete the fact that Zimmerman has found a "new creative aura" in his producing. This album is obviously carefully planned and is filled with brilliant moments. Here, he has created an ambient atmostphere, for the first time, that fans of many genres will enjoy.


user ratings (42)
Chart.
3.8
excellent
other reviews of this album
Pekke (4)
And now for something completely different, for deadmau5 offers more depth than ever before....


Comments:Add a Comment 
postrockpaperscissor
June 20th 2014



271 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

This is my first review - Hopefully it is up to community standards.

Digging: Brontide - Artery

ScuroFantasma
June 20th 2014



1112 Comments


Pretty good review, 'specially for a first.

Stuff like this:

"And, although a new release, it is rated significantly higher than most of his other work. It will be interesting to see if these ratings hold true as more people give the album a listen. "

Should probably be left out, it doesn't belong in a review, and you are referencing user ratings from this site, which are absolutely subject to change and could render your statement useless if the ratings drop or something

oh yeah, and overall it was great, so pos for you

Digging: Equilibrium - Erdentempel

postrockpaperscissor
June 20th 2014



271 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

"Stuff like this:

"And, although a new release, it is rated significantly higher than most of his other work. It will be interesting to see if these ratings hold true as more people give the album a listen. "

Should probably be left out, it doesn't belong in a review, and you are referencing user ratings from this site, which are absolutely subject to change and could render your statement useless if the ratings drop or something"

That's an excellent point. I will take that into consideration in the future.

Rowan5215
June 20th 2014



24415 Comments


Yeah this is a pretty sweet first review dude but don't put stuff like this:
"Yet, who am I to judge the small details?"
I mean you're the one reviewing the album so you are the one the reader is relying on to judge the small details

Digging: Dot Hacker - How's Your Process? (Work)

Deviant.
Staff Reviewer
June 20th 2014



30865 Comments


Not a bad review, but you should definitely look at expanding on some of your ideas. I'd also like to see where the Four Tet and Rockwell influences are coming in (did he say that in an interview?).

Also, your intro kinda reads like a conclusion of sorts (to me anyway). Like the comments above, there's just a few things in here that don't really need to be there

Few notes:

Obviously people's tastes change and evolve over the years. Things you hate you grow to love etc. In saying that though:

Hopefully, like the rest of the album, it continues to grow on me.


Don't make mention of this. Granted it's a new release and opinions are still sinking in, but I personally think that referencing the fact that an album is still working its way through you is never good for business

Personally I don't get what the fuss is with this apparent "new sound" everyone keeps going on about. I like the album, but it's basically just Random Album Title 4x4 mixed with Zimmerman's early ambient/idm stuff, back when he was self-releasing his work

Digging: FaltyDL - In The Wild

mryrtmrnfoxxxy
June 20th 2014



11675 Comments


dev is the best

Digging: Tenement - Taking Everything b?/?w Daylight World Plus 2

ArsMoriendi
June 20th 2014



3720 Comments


Pos'd if not only for the fact that this is 100 times better than the other review for this album.

dcalderon
June 20th 2014



289 Comments


This album is like Random Album Title put through synth effects to make it more grandiose. I personally much prefer Random Album Title, and 4X4= 12 for that matter.

ScuroFantasma
June 20th 2014



1112 Comments


Random Album Title = R.A.T.
Coincidence? I think not!

postrockpaperscissor
June 20th 2014



271 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Thanks for the tips, guys.
I'll plan on writing some more reviews this summer when I have time.
I also made some edits. It should read more 'professionally' now.

postrockpaperscissor
June 20th 2014



271 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

When I edited it, it deleted like half of my review. What in the hell??

Speed512
June 21st 2014



128 Comments


ahuehuehuehuehuehue

ScuroFantasma
June 21st 2014



1112 Comments


That sucks dude : (. You should really write your reviews in a Word document or something before you submit them here. It seves the dual prupose of eliminating spelling/grammar mistakes and ensures you won't lose your reviews indefinitely.

Futures
June 21st 2014



7567 Comments


Man that sucks. I always back mine up with Google Docs.

Digging: 68 - In Humor and Sadness

Deviant.
Staff Reviewer
June 21st 2014



30865 Comments


I've edited your review back in, from the google cache that Syndragon provided (cheers for that dude, I had to delete the comment because it stretched the page though, sorry!). In the future, save your reviews to Word or what ever software you use, and copy and paste from there. The submission page here should be used solely for pasting in to, never compose your reviews in it

syndragon
June 21st 2014



4 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

no problem :]

ScuroFantasma
June 21st 2014



1112 Comments


Nice job guys.

postrockpaperscissor
June 21st 2014



271 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Thanks so much! What a relief.

BMDrummer
June 21st 2014



3770 Comments


Nice first review, have a pos :]

Digging: Svffer - Lies We Live

Insurrection
Contributing Reviewer
June 21st 2014



20600 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

definitely hear the NIN influence here. oddly enough the survivalism cover is the worst thing here

good review

Digging: Fallujah - The Flesh Prevails



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2013 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy