Vinterbris
Solace


4.5
superb

Review

by Philip Whitehead USER (27 Reviews)
June 16th, 2014 | 65 replies


Release Date: 06/16/2014 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Vinterbris seem all too ready to break out in the black metal scene with their sophomore effort.

Vinterbris are hardly new on the scene, their first EP "The Unrested" came out in 2010 to little fanfare and is rather difficult to track down. Since then, however, the band have been picked up by a label, released a promising self titled debut and have been quietly working away at their sophomore effort, "Solace" - an effort which I only found by chance after the phenomenal artwork (made by the one and only Kim Holm) caught my eye whilst surfing through Bandcamp. I hadn't heard much about young acts emerging from Norway for a while and so, noticing these guys came from Bergen, the black metal capital of Norway, I decided to give them a shot. The gamble paid off.

This release is as beautiful and melodic as it is heavy and relentless. The musicianship here is glorious, with some fantastic guitar riffs (and audible bass - a rarity in underground BM) complemented by throat shredding vocal work and tight, if unoriginal, drum work. The integration of acoustic guitars, particularly in opener "Dysphoria" and "Gazing at a Fallen Sky", is flawless and allows for the melody to fully shine through. This isn't just another black metal album full of blastbeats and tremolo riffing. There is some first class musicianship here.

One of the pitfalls here is that it's not long enough - you're left wanting more. Yes all the tracks are generally in the 5-8 minute time range but I can't help feel that a few more tracks to push it towards the 9 or 10 track mark, perhaps closer to an hour than the mere 36 minutes here, would allow for a powerful and more varied full length. Parts of the tracks kinda merge together at times here but as a young band, this can be forgiven as they develop their songwriting further and hopefully push themselves to create a true masterpiece in the near future.

Overall, fans of black metal will love this and should definitely give it a listen. The production is clear and gives all the instruments a chance to be heard, the songwriting is tight and magnificently performed even if there is a lack of variety, and this album is a statement of intent from a band that's all too ready to break out into the global black metal scene.


Recommended Tracks: "Dysphoria" and "Gazing at a Fallen Sky"



Recent reviews by this author
Keistas WitheringSilvia Siffredi Kurrie!
Forever In Grey MephobiaQuinta Travessa Hora da Verdade
Eths Ex Umbra In SolemDevouring Star Demo 2013
user ratings (18)
Chart.
3.9
excellent
other reviews of this album
Pug Gracie (4.5)
A half-full glass of well-written, melodic black metal....


Comments:Add a Comment 
DatsNotDaMetulz
June 16th 2014


1807 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

Whipped this up quickly as a warm up.

DatsNotDaMetulz
June 16th 2014


1807 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

Also album's out today, streaming on Bandcamp obviously: http://nordavindrecords.bandcamp.com/releases

Atari
Contributing Reviewer
June 16th 2014


19911 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

u should space out your paragraphs it will make the review look better.

also: "Solace" - and effort which I only found by chance (AN effort)

sounds cool though, will check



Digging: Dornenreich - Freiheit

DatsNotDaMetulz
June 16th 2014


1807 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

Fixed.

Atari
Contributing Reviewer
June 16th 2014


19911 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Pos'd

DatsNotDaMetulz
June 16th 2014


1807 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

Noticed a couple more booboos to fixed them too. This is an awesome album though so check it. Not enough younger bands in the Norwegian scene are given enough exposure nowadays.

RustCohle
June 16th 2014


14 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

nice review and a very good album that is

NocteDominum
Contributing Reviewer
June 16th 2014


7095 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Had this for months now, it's actually an incredibly solid piece of forward thinking black metal. Even the guy from 1349 was repping the hell out of this.

DatsNotDaMetulz
June 16th 2014


1807 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

Yeah it's an awesome album and these guys are gonna be big players in black metal sooner or later. Can't wait for more.

DatsNotDaMetulz
June 16th 2014


1807 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

My next target to review is actually this EP from some random Brazilian nu-metal/rap metal band I found online. It's not even on the Sputnik db but it's a fun and heavy slab of nu-metal so might give it a 3.5 or something.

zaruyache
June 16th 2014


6838 Comments


Saw this on a blog but didn't click it. I guess I have to now, as your descriptions make this sound pretty interesting. Have a pos.

Digging: Ardour Loom - Demo

Wolfhorde
June 20th 2014


13643 Comments


I'm hearing some Vinterland worship.

Metalstyles
Staff Reviewer
June 20th 2014


8371 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Summary: should be "Vinterbris seem all too ready to..."

DatsNotDaMetulz
June 20th 2014


1807 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

I'll patch it up

NocteDominum
Contributing Reviewer
June 20th 2014


7095 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

This is still pretty awesome.

Edit: can't remember if I did or not but pos'd

DatsNotDaMetulz
June 20th 2014


1807 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

Yeah, it's a fantastic effort imo.

Hawks
June 20th 2014


35838 Comments


I gotta hear this.

PiedradeLuna
June 20th 2014


212 Comments


Well written, you give an informative description of the music and make the band sound interesting enough to warrant a listen. Will check out.

TheCakeIsALie
June 20th 2014


36 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

Reviewed this a while ago. This album is fantastic!

TheCakeIsALie
June 20th 2014


36 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

Great review by the way. Even people who aren't fans of black metal will dig this release.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy