Copeland
Beneath Medicine Tree


4.0
excellent

Review

by Shikyo USER (5 Reviews)
April 16th, 2006 | 25 replies


Release Date: 2003 | Tracklist


Copeland was the first band that I grew to love. I started listening to them when I was in a time in my life when I was content with everything and I was happy. Listening to Copeland always brings me back to those times and Iím sure that they always will. Every song wrote by Copeland is beautiful and full of emotion. Some of their songs are slow and some of the songs are fast, giving you a variety when you decide to pop in an album by Copeland. To me, Beneath Medicine Tree is the best that Copeland has to offer. There is a large variety within this album but all songs tend to contain images of hospitals and everything that is contained in them. This album was made during a time when the band was going through some hard times but they got out of it and in turn, made a wonderful album.

The Good:
The album starts with the song titled Brightest. It starts with just a piano and Aaron Marshís voice. The melody is written beautifully and Aaronís voice goes well with the piano and eventually a guitar comes into the mix. Itís a nice start to the album, even though there isnít really anything special about it. There actually isnít really anything special about Copeland. They donít reinvent anything, they just write everything out wonderful and they make nice, relaxing music.

The first of Copelandís amazing, classic songs come at track three. This track is titled Priceless and is one of Copelandís ďcute songs", chances are youíve probably heard this song on a burnt CD from someone given to someone that they care about. Priceless is a wonderfully wrote love song everything about it is priceless, like the name suggests.

California is one of Copelandís epic songs. The song lasts around five and a half minutes and every bit of it is amazing. The beginning of the song is acoustic with a track overlaying that. Everything starts out pretty slow. The lyrics are written about how he misses someone that moved to California. Everything starts out really slow with softly sung vocals. Around a third of the way into the song Aaron is helped with backup vocals and it gives the song an even greater feel. Near the end the drums and the electric guitar come in making the song ďthe" epic song on the record, excluding When Finally Set Free.

She Changes Your Mind and There Cannot Be A Close Second come in after California. Youíd think that it would be hard to back up a song like California but Copeland managed to do it. She Changes Your Mind and There Cannot Be A Close Second could easily be compared to Priceless, a song that appeared earlier in the album. Everything is wonderfully wrote and the lyrics are just amazing and chances are, if youíve heard these songs, it was probably from a burnt CD that someone gave to someone else.

When Finally Set Free ends the whole albumÖ and it just ends wonderfully. If you are familiar with underOATHís Theyíre Only Chasing Safety, then youíll probably think that this song sounds a lot like Theyíre Only Chasing Safetyís closing song titled Some Will Seek Forgiveness, Others Escape. The reason is because they were both wrote by Aaron of Copeland. The song starts off with a synth feel and a drum machine in the back. The vocals donít come in until around one and half minutes into the song. The lyrics are very simple but they hit very well and the vocals go along perfectly with the synth. An amazing way to end the album.

The Bad:
Copeland does have many tracks on this album that are wonderful, however there are songs that I just canít get into and they seem to pull the album down a little. They arenít horrible, they just donít show Copeland at their fully potential.

Coffee is one of the song that I just couldnít get into. It starts out very slow and just seems to not go anywhere throughout the whole song. It also tends to get very boring and repetitive. The next track is another one that isnít too great. Walking Downtown, while being better than Coffee, isnít really anything to get too excited about. There are many parts in this song that are great but it just doesnít seem to stick around and the song falls victim to the repetitiveness of the chorus.

I know that in this review there are some songs that I didnít mention. They are the ďaverage" songs of the album and they arenít that great but also, they arenít bad. If you want to get a song that shows what Copeland is all about, I would suggest California or Priceless. When Finally Set Free is an amazing song but itís a ďone of a kind" song on the album as the others arenít loaded with that much synth.

I took a completly different writing approach with this review. Depending on the feedback of the two, is the format that I will stick with.


user ratings (193)
Chart.
3.8
excellent

Comments:Add a Comment 
Iluvatar
Staff Reviewer
April 16th 2006


16089 Comments


Deatiled and well written, it's a nice review. I just can't stand Copeland, though thisis probably their best work. Priceless is a good song.

Zebra
Moderator
April 16th 2006


2647 Comments


This was a great review although I noticed a pretty big grammar mistake. [quote=review]Everyone song wrote by Copeland is beautiful and full of emotion[/quote]
I've never listened to much Copeland, I don't know I just haven't enjoyed the songs that I have heard by them.

Shikyo
April 16th 2006


71 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Thank you for pointing out my grammer mistake, it is fixed now. Have you happened to listen to When Finally Set Free yet?

...also shouldn't Copeland be under Indie Pop? I didn't make the band profile for Copeland but it seems that they would fit better under Indie Pop.

EDIT - I just requested the genre change. Didn't know you could do that until I looked.This Message Edited On 04.16.06

Pyramidman
April 16th 2006


1340 Comments


I found the recommended albums funny, because you put underoath and emery, both are great bands, but i dont think they sound like copeland.
but then again ive only heard one song from them

Shikyo
April 17th 2006


71 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I think that they sound similar, so I am recommending them. Also, in the review I started that Aaron of Copeland worked with underOATH on their album They're Only Chasing Safety. I'm going to modify that list a little though. I had to ask my girlfriend about bands that sounded like them.

(>dragon~guitarist<)
April 24th 2006


243 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Copeland is a good band, however In Motion was a total let down for me though. Kudos on the review, glad to see Copeland getting a review. And yes they would be more suited for Indie Pop.

Shikyo
April 24th 2006


71 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

In Motion was a total letdown. I'm writing a review on that next. I believe there were only two or three songs that I did like from that album. One of them being Love Is A Slow Song.

EDIT - I am going to be writing a review for their Cover EP also. I just need to talk to my girlfriend about it because she's heard all the original version and I want to compare Copeland's versions to theirs. I remember she said that a few of them were really bad covers. On that EP, there were only one or two songs I liked. Hopefully they get it all together and the next album will be all good.This Message Edited On 04.24.06

masada
June 3rd 2006


2733 Comments


"California" is great. I hated it the first time I heard it, but it's grown on me some.

AmodestBeginning
June 10th 2006


20 Comments


im starting to listen to more indie music and im relying and listening to copeland alot now'a days

berlin
December 14th 2006


2 Comments


i disagree with your review. coffee is one of the albums strongest songs. it's the subtleties that can sometimes really pull and album together, and copeland has built a career on being subtle.

this album is a great listen, start to finish. the only blemish (which i have to partly agree with you on) is the track "walking downtown", it seems almost like a cash-grab single that is thrown into this beautiful mix of indie-pop songs. it is too akward to carry any continuity.

steve



berlin
December 14th 2006


2 Comments


i disagree with your review. coffee is one of the albums strongest songs. it's the subtleties that can sometimes really pull and album together, and copeland has built a career on being subtle.

this album is a great listen, start to finish. the only blemish (which i have to partly agree with you on) is the track "walking downtown", it seems almost like a cash-grab single that is thrown into this beautiful mix of indie-pop songs. it is too akward to carry any continuity.

steve



Donkey
November 18th 2007


152 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

A great album which contains many great song. I agree, Coffee is the albums best song reminding me of high school romance and such. California leave me breathless. Brightest is an interesting start to the album but the song is outstanding. Take Care is heart warming. I can't say enough about this album. If you want to get into Copeland, this is the album to start with.

Iamthe Nightstars
December 14th 2007


2315 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I loooooooove "Priceless". I could listen to it forever

qscott777
February 7th 2008


77 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I really like 'When Paula Sparks' and 'When Finally Set Free'...as for the rest of it...it's good...it just isnt spectacular...but it's a solid album.

MediocreAtBest
February 7th 2008


1473 Comments


The only songs I've heard from this are When Paula Speaks and Coffee and I like them. I need to get this since the only Copeland album I have is Eat, Sleep, Repeat.This Message Edited On 02.07.08

nwel20nwel
September 19th 2008


25 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

this is a great album
i'd listen all day to this

helps clear my mind on things

armsraised
May 17th 2009


8 Comments


this review rules. almost as much as the album. nice and succinct, easy to read.

Ubicuo
August 29th 2009


56 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

i saw them play California here in my home state of Florida. it was beautiful, the entire crowd sang along . i used to skate board endlessly to this album in college. it was one of those albums to that i'd listen to & think about a girl that probably wouldn't have entertained the thought of dating me in college. she's now my wife. The tranquility & pop of this album flow gorgeously. Good times...

DeafMetal
March 3rd 2010


8588 Comments


One of the best indie albums ever, in my opinion. Great fucking record. I can't put into words what I think of this album.

AlexTM510
March 3rd 2010


1404 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

this album is disgustingly overrated in my eyes bleh but i understand how people get the nostalgic vibes from it.

YAMS obliterates everything they've done.

Digging: Bent Knee - Shiny Eyed Babies



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy