Linkin Park
The Hunting Party


3.5
great

Review

by Ian USER (1 Reviews)
June 14th, 2014 | 13 replies


Release Date: 06/17/2014 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Some missteps and awkward moments can't derail an overall good album.

I can't deny it: I am incredibly biased. I own every Linkin Park CD they have ever produced including their remix and mash up CDs. I just need to get this out of the way.

That being said, when I first listened to the album some things became apparent:

1.) Mike's rapping has severely improved this record and I feel it finally showcases his talent.
2.) Rob Bourdon on the drums has really improved too. Impressive and keeps the energy.
3.) Chester's voice is now supremely hit or miss. His voice is either perfectly suited for the music they're making or I feel he really struggles.

There are some super awkward moments in this CD surrounded by the album I've been wanting them to make for a long time. Thankfully even in the awkward moments, like Chester's chorus in 'Mark The Graves', it's surrounded by good music. There are some tracks I will skip every time I play this CD, like 'War', 'Mark The Graves', and 'Until It's Gone'(I will listen to this sometimes, it's just so damn repetitive.)

But there are songs that really hit the mark. 'Guilty All The Same', 'Keys To The Kingdom', and 'A Line In The Sand' more then make up for the missteps. In fact 'Keys' may just be the heaviest, in your face song they have done since 'One Step Closer'.

When I heard Linkin Park was making a heavier album I honestly didn't know what to expect. Both Mike and Chester had said previously that they didn't want to make another Hybrid Theory or Meteora and they wanted to make something else. This album represents Linkin Park realizing they were quote: "Making the music I want to listen to, not the music I want to be making."


user ratings (672)
Chart.
3.5
great
other reviews of this album
1 of

Comments:Add a Comment 
Jacquibim
Contributing Reviewer
June 14th 2014


15015 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

Ace review dude you should apply for staff

Digging: Kashiwa Daisuke - 9 Songs

tommygun
June 14th 2014


25114 Comments


pos

Digging: Banks - Goddess

Dec0y
June 14th 2014


2 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I don't think I quite have the breadth of musical knowledge to do any kind of relevant reviews for most albums, but I'll pop in every once in a while to chime in with my two cents on albums I feel I can contribute to.

VheissuCrisis
Contributing Reviewer
June 14th 2014


1034 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Dec0y, I had to resist a sarcastic comment about those bullet points, but as you're not a dick I'll be constructive. The review really reads more like a plan.

The three points you open the review with are what you should have built your whole review around, you've got two positives followed by a negative, and fleshing out those points with examples, e.g. on which tracks is Rob's improvement the most obvious, would have made for a good review.

In other words, where you've talked about the songs that really hit the mark, you could combine that with the points you made earlier, by saying that Mike's rapping steals the show on [give example].

If you want to improve and want a pair of eyes on something, don't be afraid to ask.

ScuroFantasma
June 14th 2014


2428 Comments


I'll second what VheissuCrisis said about the review. It's also much too short dude.

This review has potential to be so much better, because you list some good points about the album, you just don't expand on or explain any of them. They're just...there.

You could start by explaining why you skip certain song, and why the ones you listed 'hit the mark' etc.

Just some stuff to think about for next time. Keep reviewing man, just explain your thoughts on the next one .

Digging: Behemoth - The Satanist

WhiteNoise
June 14th 2014


3243 Comments


How can you hate War? I sounds like they've been listening to Minor Threat all day and attempted to try and write a song.

erizen826
June 14th 2014


606 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Ugh. When people refer to albums as CDs I can't take them seriously. Sorry, man.

Minus.
June 14th 2014


2680 Comments


"Ugh. When people refer to albums as CDs I can't take them seriously. Sorry, man."


I cant take people seriously that cant take people seriously for referring to albums as CD's.

But seriously...who gives a shit?

WhiteNoise
June 14th 2014


3243 Comments


Wow do you like come out in a rash if someone mentions viny?

ScuroFantasma
June 15th 2014


2428 Comments


"Ugh. When people refer to albums as CDs I can't take them seriously. Sorry, man."

why? I've seen plenty of reviews where the writer refers to the album as 'a disc'. Doesn't really impact the review much.

DrGonzo1937
June 15th 2014


6489 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

I'm not bothered by it, but to be fair a CD is a format and it would be incorrect to call it as such when it's actually an album/LP. Just saying...

mike197
June 15th 2014


190 Comments


Agree with the rest, you have points to make but they could be fleshed out a little. But it didn't seem fanboyish or anything, which is really all you can ask for from a first review.

As for the album, I've heard like half of it and it's strange, like they're trying too hard to sound heavy. But the songs I heard had some good moments too.

DrGonzo1937
June 15th 2014


6489 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

"they're trying too hard to sound heavy"

Nail right on the head.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy