Planning for Burial
Desideratum


4.0
excellent

Review

by krthll1 USER (15 Reviews)
June 4th, 2014 | 20 replies | 1,405 views


Release Date: 05/11/2014 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Thom Wasluck feels pain, and you certainly will also.

Planning For Burial is the solo project from Thom Wasluck. Hailing out of New Jersey, Wasluck makes his debut for famous underground label, The Flenser. This label specializes in bands that are experimental, especially if your music has drone influences. Two of the more interesting albums of this year have been released under the label, White Suns' "Totem" and Have a Nice Life's "The Unnatural World." Can Planning For Burial live up to the expectations of those earlier releases? In a word, absolutely.

Drone is always hard to get used to as a new fan of the genre, being full of repeated guitar lines and drum beats that can crush the world in which the music takes place. Planning For Burial gives the listener no break from these heart-breaking sounds on this album. "Desideratum" is an album all about feeling lonely and is spoken from the perspective of a man in dire need of human contact. The lyrics represent the stalking of a lost lover, the loss of the relationship in question, and how sterile love has become in the digital age. Reading into the lyrics is hard due to the heavy distortion, but luckily the lyrics are easily available.

The opening track, Where You Rest Your Head at Night starts off the record as painful as one would expect. A nasty and repetitive guitar riff kicks off the song, and never lets up. The rhythm just builds on top of the guitars, especially heavy piano in the middle and a drone that builds to the fragile ending. The title track comes next, giving a more hopeful vibe to the droning sound. There is a still lingering sense of danger, but the soundscape evokes more feelings of hope than despair. 29 August 12 starts off with a slow-building drum kick and moves into tortured guitar tones that hit hard. Feedback builds up inside the track, giving a distinct feeling of anger. This is easily the heaviest track on the record, and Planning For Burial's most metal-sounding song yet.

Purple is easily the most interesting track, starting off with the reading of a message of someone trying to connect with the narrator. The vocal delivery is sterile as reading words in a facebook message, while the building synthesizers add some dark texture to the song. Golden really saves the finest work for last though, dropping the brutal 16 minute song as the closer. There are many creepy sounds and an ever building guitar line that drive the track forward. The drums kick in late, adding the feeling of depression which builds to the end where the instrumentation dies suddenly as they came in.

The only negatives that can be said about Desideratum is the odd vocal deliveries and slow-moving nature of the album. The vocals are barely present in the tracks, which works for overall mystery of the album. However, I feel that more clear vocal presences would make for a bit more emotional resonance. Most of the songs convey mood well, but the longer songs need more of a lasting presence vocally. The slow-moving nature of Desideratum is a blessing and a curse, being it's finest and worst trait. If you are in the mood for this type of sound, it feels like therapy. However, it really is an album you cannot just pop on and listen to. Even at 37 minutes, the ride is far from easy to make.

Desideratum is a strong example of what drone albums should be. The vocal delivery is serene, the music is spaced-out and therapeutic, and the tracks hit most of the emotional levels that they should. There are some disappointing elements like vocals that fade away too much and a few tracks may be a bit too slow for their own good. However, fans of Drone will love this depressing album for those flaws.



Recent reviews by this author
Mamaleek He Never Spoke a Mumblin WordJack White Lazaretto
Ben Frost A U R O R AMiss May I Rise of the Lion
Wreck and Reference WantIngrid Michaelson Lights Out
user ratings (15)
Chart.
3.8
excellent

Comments:Add a Comment 
YakNips
June 4th 2014


10661 Comments


this sounds fantastic

Digging: Ritual Mess - Vile Art

TheBarber
June 5th 2014


1963 Comments


YES a review for this! One of my fav recent bands and a true master of gloom, although I'm not too big on some parts of the review: the first paragraph is a bit awkward to read, the track descriptions seem a little stale and very expeditive and when talking about the lyrics you should give examples or what hit you (personally it was Golden that struck me the most for it's absolute attack on the too easy sensation of nostalgia).

btw I really like this phrase: "However, fans of Drone will love this depressing album for those flaws." it's the case for me, those small flaws make it...I dunno, more human

Digging: Animal Collective - Centipede Hz

krthll1
June 5th 2014


87 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Thanks for the feedback! I am trying to work through my process to create better music reviews. I have been trained to write movie reviews for a long time and the styles are very different.

Thane
June 5th 2014


2165 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

aoty contender for me. the flenser are putting out lots of good stuff, the new wreck and reference is super good too.

TheBarber
June 5th 2014


1963 Comments


A pleasure, have only wrote 2 music reviews on this site with another profile and I loved it even though I struggle to be coherent when talking about the actual music, it's something that developps with practice you'll see (or at least I heavily saw between my first and second rev)

Movie reviewing is really interesting too, I'm in Cinema/Theater studies so I've already done a few just to convince my friends to see this or that because it's fab, but you probably know what I mean

TheBarber
June 5th 2014


1963 Comments


Yeah I'm loving pretty much everything the flenser has been putting out so far, haven't jammed wreck and reference yet though

Thane
June 6th 2014


2165 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

it's streaming on pitchfork, and soundcloud i think.

krthll1
June 7th 2014


87 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I have to wait for the vinyl release of Want. Corpse Museum and the other track released this far are outstanding though. Wreck and Reference probably have the most unique sound right now, for better or for worse.

eternium
June 25th 2014


16338 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Why aren't more people talking about this?

krthll1
June 25th 2014


87 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I'm not sure there is a massive crowd for drone, but even then this album deserves more love.

TheBarber
June 25th 2014


1963 Comments


for sure!

Rhyme
July 8th 2014


1014 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

liking this more than leaving

Digging: Banks - Goddess

TheBarber
July 9th 2014


1963 Comments


It's more cohesive in sound and as album, although nothing here beats Verse/Choruse/Verse imo

eternium
July 15th 2014


16338 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

The first album is certainly better but this is still crazy good.

witchxrapist
July 15th 2014


11034 Comments


might be seeing him play at my friend's house soon idk tho cause car problems

krthll1
July 15th 2014


87 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I missed the tour when he swung through my state. Will make sure not to do that next time a tour is announced. Also really want to see White Suns.


deathschool
July 15th 2014


7996 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Great album, and dude was awesome live.

Digging: Thumpermonkey - We Bake Our Bread Beneath Her Holy Fire

eternium
July 15th 2014


16338 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Yeah he was.

krthll1
July 16th 2014


87 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Do his vocals come through better live or are they still slathered with drone to make them cryptic like on the record?

TheBarber
July 23rd 2014


1963 Comments


Where You Rest Your Head At Night is so vulnerable yet so direct and bs free, freakin' love that song



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy