1000MODS
Vultures


4.0
excellent

Review

by manosg USER (37 Reviews)
May 26th, 2014 | 39 replies


Release Date: 05/30/2014 | Tracklist

Review Summary: A step in the right direction and a fun stoner/psychedelic album.

Is it because metal fans in Greece are suckers for ‘70s rock? Is it because most young guys are introduced to the wonderful world of heavy metal by Black Sabbath? Or is it because the name Kyuss is perceived as legendary and mystical to the ears of 30 plus year olds who are a major part of the stoner scene? Regardless of the answer, the scene in Greece has been extremely active during the last few years and boasts bands such as Nightstalker, Planet of Zeus, Lord 13 and on this occasion 1000mods.

The Greek stoner/psychedelic band was formed in 2006 and since then has released one LP and has toured with the likes of The Grand Astoria, Samsara Blues Experiment, Radio Moscow and Colour Haze among others. Their debut Super Van Vacation was released in 2011 and included well-played stoner rock infused with generous doses psychedelic influences. So generous, that the album consisted of 10 tracks and clocked in 65 minutes. Even though the quality of the music on Super Van Vacation was high, the duration of its tracks made the album drag at some points which also impacted the band’s live performances.

Vultures is 1000mods’ sophomore release and those of you who are familiar with their debut will find one major difference compared to the band’s debut. The album is significantly shorter as it clocks at 38 minutes which is due to the decreased average duration of its tracks as well as having two songs less than its predecessor. In addition, Vultures sounds somewhat darker and less feel-good than Super Van Vacation. However, apart from those two points, Vultures is quite consistent with what 1000mods presented us on their debut; very well performed stoner/psychedelic rock that brings to mind bands such as Nightstalker on their more catchy tunes, Monster Magnet and 35007 on their spacey/trippy moments and Kuyss on their desert influenced/heavier tracks. However, their sound is thicker than that of Nightstalker, less psychedelic than Monster Magnet and less heavy than Kyuss. Their singer’s voice resembles that of Spiritual Beggars’ on Ad Astra and those of you who are into stoner will feel that he sounds quite similar to a lot of his contemporaries. Generally, Vultures is quite an easy listen and certainly easier to get into than Super Van Vacation. Those of you who seek for standout tracks will have no problem enjoying songs such as the heavy “She”, the groovy “Low”, or the Nightstalker-ish title track.

In conclusion, Vultures seems like a step forward compared to the band’s debut as 1000mods followed a similar formula but worked on making their music a bit more fun and easier to play in front of live audiences. The album sounds organic and fuzzy and those of you who enjoyed Super Van Vacation will definitely get a kick out of this one.



Recent reviews by this author
The Paul Butterfield Blues Band Paul Butterfield Blues BandNina Simone Pastel Blues
Nightfall Athenian EchoesTheatre Of Tragedy Aegis
Accept BreakerToots & The Maytals Funky Kingston
user ratings (16)
Chart.
3.7
great

Comments:Add a Comment 
manosg
May 26th 2014


6309 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

New release by the Greek stoners. You can listen to the full album on their bandcamp page: http://1000mods.bandcamp.com/album/vultures

Your comments are appreciated.

Digging: Woody Guthrie - Dust Bowl Ballads

Mad.
May 26th 2014


3999 Comments


Very well written review, will definitely check this but the 2 tracks I heard before weren't that amazing, perhaps they sound better in the album as a whole. The references you made to other bands sound promising, especially Spiritual Beggars' vocalist!

Also great to see The Grand Astoria mentioned, they're absolutely brilliant but few people have heard them. I definitely recommended listening to their most decent 30-minute song from their split EP with Montenegro, very impressive stuff.

InFlamesWeThrash666
May 26th 2014


1343 Comments


I'm in a stoner/psychedelic mood lately so i'm gonna definetely check this. Well written review as well.

Digging: Ne Obliviscaris - Citadel

manosg
May 26th 2014


6309 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

@Mad
Thanks man. Yeah, I remember you having written a review about The Grand Astoria, right? Great band.

@InFlames
Thanks dude. If you're in a stoner mood I think you'll enjoy this one. It's not anything new or innovative but it's certainly well performed stoner/psych.

BMDrummer
May 26th 2014


8877 Comments


This sounds cool, good review too. Pos'd

Voivod
Staff Reviewer
May 26th 2014


6222 Comments


Good review Manos, pos.

Will spin the album soon.

Digging: Seduced (AT) - The Proclamation

manosg
May 26th 2014


6309 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Thanks guys.

Mad.
May 26th 2014


3999 Comments


Just gave this a listen. It's much more varied than I expected which is great, She and the t/t are particularly awesome. Shame it's so short though, and they sound A LOT like Nightstalker, it'd be good if they could be a bit more unique, plus the vocals are too low in the mix to stand out as well as they could.
Nevertheless a pretty great album, gotta give it some more spins

@manos Yeah I reviewed their latest LP which is coincidentally their best, they've got a new one coming out this year (very prolific) which I'll probably review, and I hope will be even better

manosg
May 26th 2014


6309 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Glad you dig it man. Their debut was a bit on the long side so it seems that they intentionally went for a shorter duration on this one. It could have been a bit longer though.

Looking forward to reading your review about The Grand Astoria.

deslad
May 26th 2014


367 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Excellent review manos, pos. I particularly enjoyed The Last Patrol and Dead Rock Commandos that you recommend, so I'll give this one a try as well.

Digging: Willie Dixon - I am the Blues

manosg
May 26th 2014


6309 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Glad you enjoyed them! This one is fuzzier but still excellent.

Mad.
May 26th 2014


3999 Comments


When this is released officially you should ask for a feature, Sputnik needs more stoner/psychedelic love

manosg
May 27th 2014


6309 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Good idea man, I might do that.

insomniac15
Staff Reviewer
May 27th 2014


3459 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Great review, pos. I have to check it out.
We played with these guys last year and some of their songs were too long and got boring towards the end of their set. Happy to hear this is more concise.

Digging: The Ting Tings - Super Critical

ksoflas
May 27th 2014


402 Comments


Fine review, pos'd.

manosg
May 27th 2014


6309 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Thanks man, appreciate the support.

Mad.
May 27th 2014


3999 Comments


I'm thinking the summary would make more sense if it said "A step in the right direction"

just a tiny niggle but it reads better

manosg
May 27th 2014


6309 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

No worries man, I appreciate the input.

Mad.
May 28th 2014


3999 Comments


Greece have some awesome stoner bands, especially Nightstalker and Villagers of Ioannina City. If the economy was run on stoner rock there'd be no problems!

Wish there'd been a good concert when i was in Athens

manosg
May 28th 2014


6309 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

haha, agreed Mad. Greece could be run better my stoners themselves tbh compared to the current or previous governments.

How long did you stay in Greece? Actually, 1000mods and VIC are playing together today!




You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy