Chevelle
This Type of Thinking (Could Do Us In)


2.5
average

Review

by Bwgrotha1s USER (23 Reviews)
May 22nd, 2014 | 61 replies | 1,255 views


Release Date: 2004 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Their turn toward making things "harder" is understandable, but a mistake that will hurt them if they can't learn to stimulate some good product from their decision.

6 of 7 thought this review was well written

While their major-label debut "Wonder What's Next" dominated the radio, charts, and hearts of critics, there was an un-deniable fact about Chevelle's successful blockbuster of a record. Its prominent features and signature sound were catchy but not by any means everlasting. In order to avoid the pain and agony of the deadly "Sophomore Slump," the boys would have to show some real growth upon what they did with their debut.
Unfortunately, "This Type of Thinking (Could Do Us In)," the official second major-label release from Chevelle, features almost nothing that wasn't done on "Wonder What's Next."

The best bits of "This Type of Thinking..." are in the album's singles "The Clincher," and "Vitamin R," as well as the track "Still Running," which sounds like it borrowed half of the melody to the title track from "Wonder What's Next." Most of everything else on the record doesn't attempt to come up with a strong hook like that of "The Clincher," or anything on the preceding record. Many songs like "Tug-O-War," and "Emotional Drought," are drowned out with plentiful open drop B strums, while others like "Panic Prone," and "Get Some," provide you with awkward goosebumps from Pete Loeffler's new love for attention, which wasn't featured on "Wonder What's Next," where he served as an equal contender rather than a frontman or leader. Now the production emphasizes Pete and his odd choice of lyrics, which are often repeated excessively and clearly so the listener is fully aware of the fragmented thought he is stressing.

Everything else on the album introduces itself as something to stay and listen to, but ultimately never turns into anything as groovy or addictive as anything on WWN. Everything on this record does manage to be PAR level alt-metal, likely still able to beat out much of Chevelle's competition. Not to mention, cuts like "The Clincher," and "Vitamin R" show that they still retain the gift that helped them write songs like "Family System," and "Wonder What's Next." The problem is that on their debut, Chevelle found a way to make every track memorable and distinguishable, while they only really pulled it off with a few cuts on "This Type of Thinking." The intro to "Emotional Drought," sounds like a less-intense version of the intro to a track that comes much earlier in the record, "Breach Birth," and the song couldn't seem more unnecessary once its bridge commences, which will undoubtedly remind you of the chorus on Tug-O-War.

Their turn toward making things "harder" is understandable, but a mistake that will hurt them if they can't learn to stimulate some good product from their decision. Treading the lines of heavy-metal and alternative-rock on WWN allowed Chevelle to make melodies that fit well in a softer landscape but were blasted through piles of distortion. They keep most riffs rough and hook-less here and it certainly makes things sour. This is an album that feels longer than 11 songs due to its clunkiness and lack of substance. There is always a high risk of dread with the sophomore slump, and the boys prove further down the road that they just needed to develop a sense of direction from here.



Recent reviews by this author
311 TransistorChevelle La Gargola
Chevelle Vena SeraChevelle Wonder What's Next
Mudvayne L.D. 50Sevendust Home
user ratings (1155)
Chart.
3.8
excellent
other reviews of this album
1 of

Comments:Add a Comment 
Kris.
May 22nd 2014



12152 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

second major-label album doesn't make this a sophomore album at all, this is their third album.

and your opinion is wrong.

YakNips
May 22nd 2014



7213 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

burn

Digging: Hit the Pigeon Boy! - It's a Pretty Dark Place to Leave a Piece of Light

Bwgrotha1s
May 22nd 2014



52 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

Right but they're in an awkward spot. There would not be a "Sophomore Slump" superstition if every band went down the same path as Chevelle. This is their Major-label-Sophomore record, solely because you are picky.

Toondude10
May 22nd 2014



3385 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

I agree with a lot in this review, I really did find most of this to be rather mind-numbingly boring. Granted "The Clincher" and "Vitamin R" are good songs but I can't really remember squat on anything else.

Word of advice, don't repeat your summary in your review. It's redundant to do so.

Also, Italicize the albums names.

And about that major-label-sophomore record thing, you're on the right track but it still doesn't make it their "sophomore album." This is technically their third album.

It's a good review otherwise.

Digging: Hey Rosetta! - Seeds

BMDrummer
May 22nd 2014



4188 Comments


Never really given this band a proper listen, should probably change that sometime soon.

Digging: Svffer - Lies We Live

Toondude10
May 22nd 2014



3385 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

They really are a great band. I'd suggest listening to Vena Sera, probably my favorite album by them.

StallionMang
May 22nd 2014



5229 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Disagreed hard with the rating but you made some good points in your review, pos

Digging: TTNG - This Town Needs Guns

Manqaness24
May 22nd 2014



128 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

I completely agree with you. After the fourth track it become forgettable.

Toondude10
May 22nd 2014



3385 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Yet you rated this a 4...

StallionMang
May 22nd 2014



5229 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Um yes, I did

What of it

Toondude10
May 22nd 2014



3385 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

I meant the guy after you.

Toondude10
May 22nd 2014



3385 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Oh yeah, also to the reviewer, one review per day please.

72haha72
May 23rd 2014



436 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

While I don't agree with your rating, I don't completely disagree with your review. This is easily Chevelle's least diverse album. And songs like Emotional Drought and Another Know It All fail to have the replay value that songs like The Clincher, Vitamin R or Still Running have. But I must admit I really love most of Pete's vocal work throughout the album (and most of Chevelle's work tbh). Besides, I really love the chunky, bass-heavy sound of songs like Breach Birth and Tug-O-War.
I believe most of the issues this album has that you mentioned in the review were improved in Vena Sera, their following album. Which is a lot more diverse and more dynamic.
Very good review, even though I don't agree with your rating I understand why you feel that way about this album. I love all of Chevelle's 7 albums, but this is one of my least favourite.

SadAndHolyGlow
May 23rd 2014



1499 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

I totally agree with everything said here. Very well written review, as well.

Digging: Jacobi Wichita - Bonez Malone

mryrtmrnfoxxxy
May 23rd 2014



11879 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

the doctor prescribes a spoonful of bleach to cleanse your impure body

Digging: J Mascis and Friends - J and Friends Sing and Chant for Amma

KILL
May 23rd 2014



70586 Comments


great review

Digging: Gal Costa - Gal Costa

ResidentNihilist
May 23rd 2014



967 Comments


and your opinion is wrong.


kris you're an okay guy but this statement is just retarded.

good review btw.

Kris.
May 23rd 2014



12152 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

nah son nah

KILL
May 23rd 2014



70586 Comments


chevelle bro

chevelle

Kris.
May 23rd 2014



12152 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

ya best band



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2013 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy