Led Zeppelin
Houses of the Holy


5.0
classic

Review

by USER (41 Reviews)
April 14th, 2006 | 40 replies | 8,127 views


Release Date: 1973 | Tracklist


1 of 2 thought this review was well written

By 1973, Led Zeppelin was firmly entrenched as the world's most successful band. Two years prior to this, they unleashed what was viewed by many as THE essential Led Zeppelin album (often referred to as Led Zeppelin IV or Zoso), and the pressure was on for a tremendous follow up. Jimmy Page (guitar), Robert Plant (vocals), John Paul Jones (bass,keyboard,mellotron), and John Bonham (drums/percussion) did not dissapoint.

About the album: The album redefined what Zeppelin was about. Previously, they had dealt almost exclusively with folk, blues, and hard rock. The band had matured as musicians, and decided to tackle other genres as well such as raggae and funk, with blues rock and folk thrown in for good measure.

The songs:

1. The Song Remains the Same- A rich number with numerous guitar overdubs and phenomenal playing by all the band members. Shortly into the song, it goes to a half-time feel, before picking up the pace again for one of Jimmy's finest solos. John Paul and Bonzo keep the rythym going very well indeed, while adding some individual flair of their own. Originally meant to be instrumental. 4/5

2. The Rain Song- The most delicate (and lengthy) song on the album, this number starts of with a lovely chord progression for Jimmy, before Robert comes in for the first verse. By the time John Paul comes in with his gorgeous mellotron line, I was hooked. Bonham makes subtle appearances throughout, before the song turns in a crescendo of volcanic proportions.
5/5

3. Over the Hills and Far Away- The most popular track on the album, this song begins with a folky guitar riff before being joined by overdubs and John Paul. Shortly into the song, it erupts into an impressive rock song, before shifting keys for another splendid solo by Jimmy. A delight from beginning to end.
5/5

4. The Crunge- Perhaps the most experimental tracks on the album, this song is what Jimmy Page described as "A send-up to the godfather of soul, James Brown." Begins with an odd drum beat by Bonzo, then John Paul comes in with a funky bass line, later to be joined by Jimmy with an equally funktastic riff. I can't really decipher what the lyrics are about, a task made even more challenging with Robert's inquiry of "Have you seen the bridge?" A good song, but not the best.
3/5

5. Dancing Days- Begins with all the band members groovin' on a somewhat funky slide riff that continues throughout. Numerous overdubs by Jimmy add character and dynamics, and Bonham is at his subtle best. 4.5/5

6. D'yer Mak'er- pronounced "Jamaica", this is a very raggae-like song that gets rather heavier during the chorus, with splendid playing by all four members. Sometimes labeled as a cheap and unworthy imitation, I actually find it one of the finest songs on the album, with ear drum shattering vocals by Mr. Plant. 5/5

7. No Quarter- A dramatic song, this is the darkest song Zeppelin ever recorded. Everything about this tune exudes mystery and pain. Begins with a mellotron part courtesy of John Paul, Bonzo and Jimmy later join in with a haunting minor chord progression and soft yet forceful drum playing. Quickly changes to one of the most bad ass riffs ever put to tape. A very lyrical two guitar solo appears, but it's John Paul who dominates here with a solo of his own, and no one could have set the mood for this song better than Jonesy. 5/5

8. The Ocean- John Bonham recieved primary writing credits on this hard rocking tune, and it has a fantastic groove. The solo says so much in so little time and Plant is magnificent all throughout. The last minute of the song, the band erupts into a doo-wop feel, With Page keeping the groove going with a sharp, two chord progression, while John Paul's walking bass line provides a melody divine before the song makes it's fantastic end. Awe inspiring. 5/5

Overview:

It may not be the best Zeppelin album to some, but no one can deny the supreme musicianship on display with this album. This was actually the first Zeppelin album to reach number one on the U.S. billboard charts, so it's safe to assume the band delivered the goods once again. Every bit as good (if not better) than Led Zeppelin IV, This album remains among the best albums ever pressed on to vinyl. 4.5/5



Recent reviews by this author
TV on the Radio Young Liars EPHammock Maybe They Will Sing for Us Tomorrow
Russian Circles StationUnwound New Plastic Ideas
Helmet MeantimeStrike Anywhere Dead FM
user ratings (2218)
Chart.
4.3
superb
other reviews of this album
1 of

Comments:Add a Comment 
Zesty Mordant
April 14th 2006



1196 Comments


Wait, if its not the best album by the band, why do you still give it 5 stars?
*looks at name of reviewer*
Nevermind.

Bron-Yr-Aur
April 14th 2006



4405 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

I said it may not be to some. TO SOME. Read it all if your gonna attack me on it.This Message Edited On 04.14.06

Iluvatar
Staff Reviewer
April 14th 2006



16081 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

I just want to say ZING to Zestys post, and then say certain artists do deserve to have more than one album clacc'd...
*looks at The Beatles, Radiohead, and Pink Floyd*

Bron-Yr-Aur
April 14th 2006



4405 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

ZING?
well he certainly showed me by misqouting me.

Zesty Mordant
April 14th 2006



1196 Comments


yeah, 'cause i was actually attacking you...

Bron-Yr-Aur
April 14th 2006



4405 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

well, if you weren't then sorry. sounded pretty snippy to me.

Zesty Mordant
April 14th 2006



1196 Comments


nah im just bein coy, its all good.

pulseczar
April 14th 2006



2385 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Decent review, it really doesn't say anything different from the other three (I really have to redo mine, it's crap from the early days...)

Bron-Yr-Aur
April 14th 2006



4405 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

yeah well. I tried so I'm pleased with it. I seem to have very little approval so if you don't mind, rating it would be greatly appreciated.

Zesty Mordant
April 14th 2006



1196 Comments


Its a pretty good review. The songs are well-described. For the future, try to move away from the track-by-track format and maybe make it a little lengthier.

This album's good too though I haven't listened to it in ages. "The Crunge" however has to be one of the worst songs they've ever recorded. They sound way out of their element.

EDIT: by the way, I'm not the one that negged your review if that's what you're thinking.This Message Edited On 04.14.06

Bron-Yr-Aur
April 14th 2006



4405 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

i wasn't thinking you did, and thanks for the tips. Usually when bands try to do other genres it does turn out ugly. But I thought they did well.

pulseczar
April 14th 2006



2385 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

This is one of the few Zep albums that isn't bland for me. I'd rather they mess around with genres than their boring wanker rock.

John Paul Harrison
April 14th 2006



1014 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

When bands decide to tackle other genres, it's often ugly. In this case, it's just bland.


Well, dear sir, I must agree. However, "bland" is not the word I would select to attach to such an album. I though it was quite witty. Should it be left to me, "Zeppelin" and "bland" should never be uttered the same sentence- enforced with a hefty fine and public castration.


Bron-Yr-Aur
April 14th 2006



4405 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

nice. found the review did you leo?

Zesty Mordant
April 14th 2006



1196 Comments


Well, dear sir, I must agree. However, "bland" is not the word I would select to attach to such an album. I though it was quite witty. Should it be left to me, "Zeppelin" and "bland" should never be uttered the same sentence- enforced with a hefty fine and public castration.

Contrary to popular belief, there are people out there who find Led Zeppelin "not that great" or even "not good at all". This is called being normal.

Bron-Yr-Aur
April 14th 2006



4405 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

that's just his sense of humor man. don't take it too seriously.

Ephemeral
April 14th 2006



144 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

The Rain Song is majestic.
This album is a great listen.



John Paul Harrison
April 14th 2006



1014 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Contrary to popular belief, there are people out there who find Led Zeppelin "not that great"


That is just fine. Be it as it may, I am not in control of the world- therefore, indeed, you do have the right to express this point of view

or even "not good at all".


I simply refuse to acknowledge this. It a complete lie. The only way somebody would even say such a thing is to win an argument, such as this one. (Barring, of course, those who havenít tasted the delight of Led Zeppelin) I have reason to suspect that Jimmy Page intentionally put some sort of addictive subliminal agent within the context of his albums to produce this near-religious effect...but this is all just a little theory of mine.

This is called being normal.


Yes. Yes. This is all good and dandy. In fact, I'd agree- if this were an "ordinary" band. But in fact, this in NOT an ordinary band! As a devout Zeppelinistic-Lennonist, I believe that Led Zeppelin is actually God, manifest in the form of a 70's blues band. You see, Zeppelin is the sonic equivalent of Christ the Saviour. Or so I hold to be true.

But you know, whatever. The Holy Lennon is full of forgiveness. You have your whole life to repent. And I will always be here to help.


Iluvatar
Staff Reviewer
April 14th 2006



16081 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

^ Is probably the funniest poster on the site in foreverlong.

Bron-Yr-Aur
April 15th 2006



4405 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

thats cool leo. Witty and such




You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2013 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy