Blank Banshee
Blank Banshee 0


4.5
superb

Review

by SimpleM USER (5 Reviews)
May 13th, 2014 | 17 replies


Release Date: 2012 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Vaporwave or not, this man can make some good-ass music.

Vaporwave. If you've been on the internet long enough and love music you've heard of it before. With acts such as Macintosh Plus, ECO VIRTUAL, and Saint Pepsi, it's become quite a phenomenon. What Vaporwave is exactly is taking mid 80's to late 90's culture and mashing it up into a blender for a take on corporate society goodness. Ever since Macintosh Plus came out with Floral Shoppe, the genre has sparked attention for many listeners and they are asking for more. This is the case of Blank Banshee, but what you need to know is that unlike many other Vaporwave artists, he is actually quite different from the rest of them, and it sure does stand out.

Keep in mind, with many Vaporwave artists, it's become a rule that you have to rely solely on samples from other things, and then compile it together into one track or album. In the case of Blank Banshee while he does borrow some samples from many things, what makes him stand out is that he uses his own beats and instrumentals mostly in this album while blending it together with the familiar sounds that Vaporwave lovers have come to know, and bringing it together into a quite solid and cohesive album. Now people that are "Purists" might call Blank Banshee's work technically not Vaporwave, since he does make most of his music from scratch, and not solely relying on samples alone, but that's why I like him. He blends it so well with the samples he did choose to use, and has that straight chill Vaporwave sound (for the most part), and even if he isn't Vaporwave, you can't deny that the man has some talent for making some chill, funky ass music.

When the first track hits, you take a trip back into some nostalgia with some classic Windows 98 samples that he used for a chill journey, with each track getting better and better. through half of the album, it can go from laid back chill ambient, to taking some trap-like influences, and going back into some classic trip-hop territory. The genre's seem all over the place, but what the genre is really doesn't matter. He has a sound that is just radiant and beautiful. it's the kind of music that you can get high to, relax, and chill.

I say you should check out this album, it's free, and something this good shouldn't be free in my opinion. After you're done listening to it, you'll be screaming like a banshee for more music from him.


user ratings (22)
Chart.
3.6
great

Comments:Add a Comment 
SimpleM
May 12th 2014


29 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

FULL ALBUM STREAM : https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=8oBbJg_PqbU

Brostep
Staff Reviewer
May 12th 2014


3449 Comments


just fyi no need to capitalize vaporwave every time but otherwise nice work, can give more detailed feedback tomorrow if you'd like. album is pree cool but don't really ~get~ vaporwave but may try this again soon

MisterTornado
Contributing Reviewer
May 12th 2014


4507 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

g o o d - a s s m u s i c

Hyperion1001
Staff Reviewer
May 12th 2014


18467 Comments


this isnt really vaporwave its just kind of borrowing some of it's aesthetic

Digging: Recondite - Caldera/DRGN 2

SimpleM
May 12th 2014


29 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

@Brostep Yeah I kinda messed up on that part, my bad but thanks.
@tornado that was intentional to the genre confuzzlement this album gets.

SimpleM
May 12th 2014


29 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

@hyperion Yeah, but many people assume it's vaporwave, triphop, etc. kinda why I wrote this review to clear it up

oltnabrick
May 12th 2014


30797 Comments


This is closer to Contact Lens than anything you have recommended.

Digging: Monte / Magntophonique - Split

PatBateman
May 12th 2014


6 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

good ass-music

Brostep
Staff Reviewer
May 12th 2014


3449 Comments


although I don't know all that much about the term (aside from interacting occasionally with Saint Pepsi on FB) it feels to me like some sort of nebulous blanket/umbrella which just relies on weird usage of "retro sounds" or something so I guess this kind of fits maybe

although I haven't jammed this in a while so I don't remember

Phlegm
May 12th 2014


4626 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

but what you need to know is that unlike many other Vaporwave artists, he is actually quite different from the rest of them, and it sure does stand out! !

Digging: Croatian Amor - Genitalia Garden

MisterTornado
Contributing Reviewer
May 13th 2014


4507 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

this is straight up trap/instrumental hippity hoppity with v-wave hallucinations (AKA ONLY A SECONDARY ON RYM)

sportsboy
May 13th 2014


637 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

i'd just say it's seapunk

good review tho!

MisterTornado
Contributing Reviewer
May 13th 2014


4507 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

seapunk AHCMOENCOMEOIJ93URJOFP9EPSODJFJOFKUCKJSLDKJNOOAKSDF!!!!!





If you'd like to make a call, please hang up and try again.

Brostep
Staff Reviewer
May 13th 2014


3449 Comments


can we make a treatise on post-vaporpunk or proto-seawave or something?

sportsboy
May 13th 2014


637 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

wow tornado i didn't know it was so touchy lmao

MisterTornado
Contributing Reviewer
May 13th 2014


4507 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

VERY serious business!

kingsoby1
Emeritus
May 13th 2014


4950 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

ya mostly trap. great record since i dont really like instrumental trap too much unless it borders more on cloud rap (and now vaporwave)



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy