Black Tongue
Born Hanged


1.0
awful

Review

by Andrew W. Gold CONTRIBUTOR (108 Reviews)
May 12th, 2014 | 731 replies


Release Date: 05/08/2014 | Tracklist

Review Summary: A 25-minute exercise in aural excrement.

Over the years I’ve come to discover something I refer to as “the deathcore effect.” Any time a new deathcore album shows any signs of musical progression, innovation, or at the very least, functioning brain activity within the band, another deathcore release comes around and shatters all hope of growth within the genre. For example, this year Carnifex released Die Without Hope: the best sounding album of their career and a step in the right direction for the band. Not a great album by any means but it showed the maturation of a previously terrible band, and that’s always a good thing. A month later, Emmure’s Eternal Enemies came out and made eternal enemies of anyone expecting to hear good music. Later the same month, Whitechapel demonstrated some of the tightest songwriting the subgenre has to offer on Our Endless War – again, nothing spectacular; just a refreshing, heavy as hell album you could bang your head to for about an hour. But lo and behold, the cycle continues as Black Tongue has released what can only be described as a 25-minute exercise in aural excrement – a genre-defining album in the worst sense of the phrase. It’s a culmination of everything wrong with the subgenre, and everything wrong with metal in general, jam-packed into a loathsome half-hour; pouring fuel on the fire to the stereotype that deathcore is a pimple in the asshole of the modern music industry.

Musically, not much has changed since the band’s harrowing debut EP Falsifier. It’s more of the same – more breakdowns, more pig squeals, more distortion, and more heaviness all around. Black Tongue make the most out of Born Hanged’s brief runtime by dragging out every breakdown to a snail’s pace, composing songs out of less than a handful of riffs that seem never-ending. Intro “Foreshadow” is truly a foreshadowing of the grave things to come. The vocalist shouts some incomprehensible nonsense before leading into the album’s first real song, aptly described by its title: “Waste”. The band executes a passable coherent thought on “Blight”, when the guitarists temporarily wake up from their autopilot droning of 3-note chugs and manage to play a riff using more than their index finger. This allows the drummer to lay down some double bass for a few moments before falling back into the brodown-riddled nonsense that comprises the rest of the EP. “Coma” has a pleasantly dense atmosphere halfway through the track that goes hand-in-hand with the plodding breakdown tempo, but it certainly isn’t worth enduring the monotonous trance you’re put into by the rest of the song. Any time the album gains any semblance of momentum, it’s squandered by sheer laziness in songwriting.

Black Tongue is somewhat of a deathcore anomaly in that they’re so wrapped up in the hardcore “fuck this shit” attitude of the scene that they come across as a complete parody of it. The sad part of it is, it’s not funny. Listening to Born Hanged isn’t so much of a listening experience as it is a test of patience: how long can you handle the most balls-heavy drops the genre has to offer? In that sense, Born Hanged truly is a genre-defining album, proving Black Tongue may not only be the worst band in existence, but also a tangible step-by-step tutorial on how precisely not to make music. And for that, Black Tongue, we thank you.



Recent reviews by this author
Periphery Periphery III: Select DifficultyArchitects All Our Gods Have Abandoned Us
Bleeding Skies You Can (Not) DieLudwig van Beethoven Symphony No. 7 in A major, Op. 92
Protest the Hero Pacific MythHans Zimmer and Junkie XL Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice
user ratings (143)
Chart.
2
poor
other reviews of this album
Ignatius M. (3.5)
I don't want to see the sun rise so let it set....


Comments:Add a Comment 
Insurrection
Contributing Reviewer
May 11th 2014


23951 Comments

Album Rating: 1.0

/end rant



thanks jom for helping polish the edges



full stream if anyones interested: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=p46LPqArnXo

Judio!
Contributing Reviewer
May 11th 2014


8223 Comments


Great review, Ins. I had a feeling this would suck but "the worst band in existence" is quite a statement. Will have to check this to confirm, plus my objectivity score could always use a boost.

Insurrection
Contributing Reviewer
May 11th 2014


23951 Comments

Album Rating: 1.0

@judio! i always try to find the positives in any music no matter how shitty, but i had a hell of a hard time coming up with anything positive for this. so yeah, if not the worst then pretty damn close to it!



@futures yea i had to pause it a few times to hold in the vomit but somehow i made it to the end

Insurrection
Contributing Reviewer
May 11th 2014


23951 Comments

Album Rating: 1.0

Bit of an unbelievable hyperbole tbh. The entire genre is marked on an album by album basis what.




its more of a coincidence than anything, obviously its not meant to be taken at face value

FearThyEvil
May 11th 2014


14485 Comments


This band is one of the worst bands I've ever heard.

witchxrapist
May 11th 2014


11105 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

It's like you blatantly missed the point of this EP when you wrote the review.

ConcubinaryCode
May 11th 2014


3287 Comments


These guys turned deathcore? I remembered listening to them a few years back and they were solid sludge/death metal

Insurrection
Contributing Reviewer
May 11th 2014


23951 Comments

Album Rating: 1.0

It's like you blatantly missed the point of this EP when you wrote the review.




if the point was to be really bad then i think i got it



really though, this band just sounds like a worse version of emmure to me. what do you like about it if you dont mind me asking?



These guys turned deathcore? I remembered listening to them a few years back and they were solid sludge/death metal




their first EP was released last year. you sure youre thinking of the same band?

ConcubinaryCode
May 11th 2014


3287 Comments


I wasn't so I looked it up and I got the band mixed up with one called black tusk.

ConcubinaryCode
May 11th 2014


3287 Comments


I wasn't so I looked it up and I got the band mixed up with one called black tusk.

AtomicShane
May 11th 2014


2109 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

shit brings the junz m/

FearThyEvil
May 11th 2014


14485 Comments


Ins, I agree. This band makes emmure almost look good.

Insurrection
Contributing Reviewer
May 11th 2014


23951 Comments

Album Rating: 1.0

key word being almost ;)

witchxrapist
May 11th 2014


11105 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Also you said that Carnifex is a metal tinge to hardcore?



Damn dude you need to like, get off the internet.

erizen826
May 11th 2014


754 Comments

Album Rating: 1.0

My god this EP is unbelievably boring. It's like they didn't even try to make something of note. Love the line about Emmure by the way. Made me lol.

ChapelOvGhouls
May 12th 2014


7 Comments


This isn't music its brosic. Thats why this review fails.

FearThyEvil
May 12th 2014


14485 Comments


"key word being almost ;)"

Haha exactly why I used almost.

brucewayne1411
May 12th 2014


11 Comments


This is one of the greatest song.

Diamondize
May 12th 2014


1367 Comments


i've heard worse

Jacob818Hollows
May 12th 2014


162 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

Great review, man. But I have to disagree. Sure, it's nothing too good, per say. It features overly lengthy songs and focuses exclusively on zeh br00tz chugz. However, I wouldn't say they're the worst band, but fit only a certain mood. Unlike Emmure (who are the "baddest motherfuckers"), Black Tongue doesn't pretend to be skilled. They just create super heavy music, and don't pretend to be anything else, which I found quite fun when in a super awful mood.

Digging: Buzzov-en - ...At A Loss



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2016 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy