Pharoahe Monch
PTSD: Post Traumatic Stress Disorder


4.0
excellent

Review

by benjamin thortenburger USER (13 Reviews)
May 11th, 2014 | 16 replies


Release Date: 04/15/2014 | Tracklist

Review Summary: A huge improvement over W.A.R.

Monch has changed in the 3 years since we last heard him in 'We Are Renegades', and while 'WAR' a decent album, it was a step backwards from his previous releases. With "P.T.S.D.-Post Traumatic Stress Disorder", we aren't exactly getting back to the ways of Desire and Internal Affairs but we are given a welcome change in pace and mood that proves that even Pharoahe is aware enough to realize that his political raps alone can't support a whole album.

"P.T.S.D."' is sort of a continuation of the ideas brought up in "WAR". However, PTSD is a huge improvement over the latter due to an increased diversity in topics, in addition to the anti-establishment themes of WAR, listeners are greeted with a welcome return to battle raps like Bad MF and Damage, which feature Monch at his best.

Pharoahe is an extremely competent rapper who is able to, whether or not it’s on a political song, deliver good lines such as:

"So I, spin the cylinder on my revolver
Then, maybe let it draw blood like Chupacabra
And dissolve into the abyss, without evolving
Instead of revolving around the habitual problem solver
Research like, George Washington Carver"

"Now that's practicing sacrilegious activism
Attack is for battle, and practical rap with wisdom
Actually, it's pragmatic capitalism for actors that crack under pressure and collapse when I get 'em
Monch is medicinal man made medical marijuana
With a phase plasma rifle like I'm searchin' for Sarah Conner"

However, perhaps the greatest improvement that PTSD makes over its predecessor is the production. The production on We Are Renegades, while not exactly bad, wasn't exactly good either. WAR's beats were relatively monotonous in comparison to that of its predecessors, although it is easy to admit that the production on Internal Affairs is pretty much unbeatable. PTSD for the most part brings the production back to the status quo of Monch's albums.

Even with the many improvements over WAR, there are still several major issues that really drag the album down as a whole, the biggest of which is consistency. Great and mediocre tracks switch interchangeably without warning through the course of the album, as the album switches from songs like 'Rapid Eye Movement' to 'Scream' and vice versa. This in turn brings the other problem with PTSD: its sense of direction. WAR may have been consistently average, but it was still a clear, focused effort that knew what it was trying to do. PTSD tries to be many things at once, without much in the form of connecting them together. And as a result it can be easily considered by some to be Monch's weakest effort to date.

PTSD-Post Traumatic Stress Disorder stands as the least consistent thing Pharoahe Monch has ever done. While in some respects it succeeds at putting away some of the doubts and concerns that manifested in fans' minds from the release of WAR, it doesn't exactly put them to rest. The amount of mediocrity that lies within the album ultimately makes it just as disappointing. Even then, PTSD serves as a solid enough introduction for any newcomer to Monch's work, as there are still a couple of tracks that work well.

Recommended tracks:
Rapid Eye Movement
Bad M.F.
Damage
D.R.E.A.M.



Recent reviews by this author
Riff Worship Riff WorshipEcho Tail Mirroring
Funkadelic Free Your Mind...And Your Ass Will FollowThe Machine Calmer Than You Are
Funkadelic FunkadelicNick Oliveri Death Acoustic
user ratings (25)
Chart.
3.7
great
other reviews of this album
LambsBread (4.5)
“They mad cuz they can’t stop me, cuz I said ‘fuck swag, I got moxie.'”...


Comments:Add a Comment 
SharkTooth
May 10th 2014


4388 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

review probably sucks dick, but I just wanted the thing done

Digging: Balkan Beat Box - Nu Med

Hep Kat
May 10th 2014


15351 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

idk dude, the man has lost me

SharkTooth
May 10th 2014


4388 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

I'm liking this less and less every time I hear it tbh
(by yesterday I didn't feel like editing this anymore)

ExcentrifugalForz
May 10th 2014


1732 Comments


I like WAR except production wise.

Tell me Monch did better here.

SharkTooth
May 10th 2014


4388 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

this has a few more memorable songs
(well, a couple, there's also a shitload of mediocre ones to go through)

SharkTooth
May 10th 2014


4388 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Also, there's more variety with those beats
(but then again, consistency is a major issue here)

LambsBread
May 11th 2014


3398 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

whole thing is pretty fuckin awesome idk what you guys are talking about. He shoulda not put The
Recollection Facility Pt 2 in though that is a really corny skit lol. the 3rd one is good though

Digging: Ellay Khule - Holy Scriptures

LambsBread
May 11th 2014


3398 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Also I don't agree that the album doesn't have a sense of direction. It's good science fiction about
current reality kinda like El-P does. It takes him a while to get to that point and set that
atmosphere (actually it probably doesn't happen til the very last track), cuz the first half of the
album is more battle rap stuff, but he even kinda works that in by making his punchlines along the
same themes. The album is basically about how brutal life is and how spectacularly deceptive reality
is and the effect that has on your mind. PTSD



BigPleb
May 11th 2014


36675 Comments


'review probably sucks dick'

yes, yes it does

Digging: Arc Iris - Arc Iris

LambsBread
May 11th 2014


3398 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Every verse is a virtue

SharkTooth
May 11th 2014


4388 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

kinda got sick of listening to it after a while :/
I guess it's from the lack of any recent hip-hop (otherwise) that's interested me,
but I just got sick of the album after spinning it so much

LambsBread
May 11th 2014


3398 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

damn you must have played it a lot. i've spun this like once a day since you showed me it, Losing my
Mind and Scream are the only songs I consider skipping

SharkTooth
May 11th 2014


4388 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Yeah pree much

spookynewghostfriend
May 11th 2014


3757 Comments


" and while 'WAR' a decent album, it was a step backwards from his previous releases."

not english

With "P.T.S.D.-Post Traumatic Stress Disorder", we aren't exactly getting back to the ways of Desire and Internal Affairs but we are given a welcome change in pace and mood that proves that even Pharoahe is aware enough to realize that his political raps alone can't support a whole album.

However, PTSD is a huge improvement over the latter due to an increased diversity in topics, in addition to the anti-establishment themes of WAR, listeners are greeted with a welcome return to battle raps like Bad MF and Damage, which feature Monch at his best.


Run-ons.


" Great and mediocre tracks switch interchangeably without warning through the course of the album,"


Should he give a warning? "Yo this track is shit, watch out"

"'Rapid Eye Movement' to 'Scream' and vice versa. "

So Rapid eye movement is on the album twice?

"And as a result it can be easily "

starting a sentence with and is generally a no-go and definitely doesnt work here


"While in some respects it succeeds at putting away some of the doubts and concerns that manifested in fans' minds from the release of WAR, it doesn't exactly put them to rest."

although it gets rid of some of the worries of listeners, it doesn’t exactly get rid of them.



spookynewghostfriend
May 11th 2014


3757 Comments


pOS'D =P

brucewayne1411
May 12th 2014


11 Comments


This is pretty much better than previous versions.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy