The Sisters of Mercy
Floodland


4.0
excellent

Review

by manosg USER (30 Reviews)
May 9th, 2014 | 31 replies | 1,266 views


Release Date: 1987 | Tracklist

Review Summary: The Sisters of Mercy sophomore effort finds a band completely changed but still in top form.

11 of 11 thought this review was well written

As with every decade, the ‘80s were an era of musical transformations. Genres such as hard rock and punk slowly declined and were replaced by others including post-punk and gothic rock. Gothic rock was dominated by The Cure, Bauhaus and Joy Division among others that influenced one of the most unique bands of the decade; The Sisters of Mercy.

Led by their iconic vocalist Andrew Eldrich, the Sisters of Mercy released their debut in 1985. First and Last and Always, even though hindered by poor production, left its imprint on gothic rock but at the same time left a band in shambles. Andrew Eldrich parted from the rest of the members and after legal battles with his former bandmates recruited bassist Patricia Morrison and started working on The Sisters of Mercy sophomore effort.

Floodland was released in 1987 and marked only a slight difference in the band’s sound. To begin with, on this album The Sisters of Mercy consist of two members less. Wayne Hussey and Gary Marx left the band leaving all guitar duties on this album to Andrew Eldrich. To make a long story short, Floodland is basically an Eldrich solo album under The Sisters’ moniker whereas First and Last and Always featured contributions by all members but mostly Wayne Hussey and Gary Marx. What’s more, Floodland was recorded with heavy use of sequencers while First and Last and Always featured a more traditional approach. Nevertheless, the two albums share a lot of similarities instrumentally.

The atmosphere is doomy, gloomy and dominated by Eldrich’s characteristic deep baritone voice that communicates despair like only a handful of vocalists. The music can be characterized as a mix of gothic rock and dark wave and those of you who are familiar with Fields of the Nephilim, The Cure and Bauhaus will find various similarities. The drums are handled again by Doktor Avalanche who is none other than The Sisters of Mercy drum machine handled by Andrew Eldrich. However, the difference between Floodland and First and Last and Always lies on lyrics. On this album, Eldrich deals with issues such as personal relationships, society and imperialism. As far as standout tracks are concerned, “Lucretia, My Reflection” is not only the best track of the album but one of the best in The Sisters of Mercy catalogue. “Dominion”, “1959”, “This Corrosion” and “Flood II” are also exceptional songs.

Overall, Floodland may not be as dark, influential or focused as the band’s debut but is still an excellent album with an amazing vocal performance by Andrew Eldrich. Fans of The Cure, Bauhaus or even ‘90s gothic metal will definitely find various elements they enjoy so make sure you give this album a chance.



Recent reviews by this author
Dr. John Dr. John's GumboThin Lizzy Live and Dangerous
Villagers of Ioannina City RizaDio This Is Your Life
Canned Heat Boogie With Canned Heat1000MODS Vultures
user ratings (148)
Chart.
4.1
excellent

Comments:Add a Comment 
manosg
May 9th 2014



5720 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

OK guys, this is a bit outside my comfort zone but the album needed a review hard.

Full album here: http://grooveshark.com/#!/album/Floodland/248120

Any comment is appreciated.

warlordfun
May 9th 2014



383 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Awesome album, and to tell you the truth this review was a surprise! We need more stuff like this!

Digging: Lords Of The Crimson Alliance - Lords Of The Crimson Alliance

warlordfun
May 9th 2014



383 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Have a pos!

TWIGtheWONDERKID
May 9th 2014



693 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

This is a great album, nice review—pos.

Digging: Dylan Howe - Subterranean - New Designs on Bowie's Berlin

manosg
May 9th 2014



5720 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

@warlordfun
Thanks man! It's been years since I listened to The Sisters of Mercy as much as I do lately and even though I enjoy their debut more, this one didn't have a review so I decided to write one about it.

@TWIGtheWONDERKID
Cheers, agreed.

DominionMM1
May 9th 2014



9538 Comments


i'll have to listen to this again. it's been way too long.

Digging: Neurosis - Through Silver in Blood

NeroCorleone80
May 9th 2014



28381 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Awesome album and great review too, pos'd. These guys had a big influence on Paradise Lost.

manosg
May 9th 2014



5720 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Definitely man. You can also listen to their influences on Theatre of Tragedy's Aegis.

NeroCorleone80
May 9th 2014



28381 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I'll have to check that then. Cant believe this didnt have a review until now. I actually slightly prefer it to First and Last

manosg
May 9th 2014



5720 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Aegis is actually an excellent album but it's quite far from the first two albums by Theatre of Tragedy as it's much more gothic than doom.

TheNotrap
May 9th 2014



7981 Comments


I only know one or two singles from the album. The band has interesting songs.

Nice review man.

Hep Kat
May 9th 2014



15000 Comments


Simon Pegg in the world's end

Digging: Merchandise - After The End

RoyalImperialGuard
May 9th 2014



1101 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

First album is better but still rules. Great review/band/etc.

Digging: Seigmen - Total

manosg
May 9th 2014



5720 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

@TheNotrap
Yeah they have very interesting songs. I actually hadn't listened to their albums for quite some time prior to this review but I'm in a gothic/doom mood lately so I'm revisiting stuff.

@RoyalImperialGuard
Agreed man. Andrew Eldrich is an iconic 80s vocalist.

menawati
Contributing Reviewer
May 9th 2014



15789 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

nice rev, nice album, posed

Digging: Synaesthesia (UK) - Synaesthesia

manosg
May 9th 2014



5720 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Cheers man!

Atari
Contributing Reviewer
May 9th 2014



19453 Comments


good stuff as always mansog! : ]

Digging: The Who - Tommy

manosg
May 9th 2014



5720 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Thanks man, appreciate it! This one and especially their debut are excellent albums if you're into a gothic mood. I trust you've listened to "Temple of Love" and "More" by these guys?

Atari
Contributing Reviewer
May 9th 2014



19453 Comments


actually, i don't think i've heard anything by these guys :/

manosg
May 9th 2014



5720 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I think you'll enjoy,

Temple of Love: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=nMz7P3hAMAM

Lucretia, My Reflection: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Gg9buWTwCcI



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2013 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy