Tweens
Tweens


3.3
great

Review

by Joseph Viney STAFF
May 6th, 2014 | 21 replies


Release Date: 04/08/2014 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Tweenage angst has paid off well

We all know music is serious biznezz. Or at least that’s what we’re told. Or at least that’s what WE tell YOU.

Allow me to let you in on a little secret, dear readers…my random absences on this site tend to come about when that dam of serious music criticism in my mind is about to break; when I’m tired of treating the aural offerings of another random bunch of people with no shortage of awed reverence.

Maybe I’m out of touch. Maybe I’m old and boring. Maybe I’m there already. But after an enforced LIFE EMERGENCY ARGH absence, I bring good tidings.

Tweens, as the sharper minds among you will have already guessed, don’t exactly make music that Rodin’s Thinker would listen to. Rather, they make music how I like my sex: fast, loud and allowing me to wipe half of it from my memory without any real consequences.

It couldn’t be simpler: three people, a real racket and songs about love n’ other squishy things. It’s a child’s approximation of rock and roll, but that doesn’t mean it counts as anything less. It’s the kind of wilful abandon and immature outlook that made a helluva lotta people fall in love with the Ramones all that time ago.

Indeed, lead single “Be Mean” is the stuff of the school playground. Pull the hair of the one you like and vice versa. By the chorus you want to do that 60s thing where you hold your nose and shimmy to the floor. No mean feat for the more miserable people in this world (i.e. me).

If harking back to teenage ennui is your thing then this might just be the record for you. “Bored In The City” captures that itchy, adolescent ‘kicking around my home town’ feel, and will no doubt soundtrack many a highlights package and some bright and colourful music channel.

They continue to mine that vein with “Girlfriend” (love that basic but addictive riff), “McMicken” and “Don’t Wait Up” (basically “leave me alone, mum” in music form).

That’s not to say Tweens are the perfect crew. “Stoner”, an instrumental, is a stark reminder of their limitations as a musical outfit minus those cutesie-poo vocals (but worth a go for the fact you can sing along with to "We Are The Champions"), while “Want U” is just wretched. Really bad.

So don’t rock up to this one expecting some life-changing epoch. Just roll with the punches. Besides, and let’s be honest here, you won’t ever hear from Tweens again after this. Such is the musical cycle.



Recent reviews by this author
Morrissey World Peace Is None of Your BusinessArchie Bronson Outfit Wild Crush
Manic Street Preachers FuturologySweet Apple The Golden Age of Glitter
Parquet Courts Sunbathing AnimalSKATERS Manhattan
user ratings (8)
Chart.
3.4
great

Comments:Add a Comment 
Aids
Contributing Reviewer
May 6th 2014


24098 Comments


aww haha I like this a lot

nice to have you back

Digging: Mitski - bury me at makeout creek

Aids
Contributing Reviewer
May 6th 2014


24098 Comments


the review, not the album

pretty certain I'd dislike this album

Jom
Staff Reviewer
May 6th 2014


2708 Comments


>> Maybe I’m out of touch. Maybe I’m old and boring.

http://i.imgur.com/IAt9wjT.jpg

Green Baron
May 6th 2014


20325 Comments


tweenage angst is hell

Aids
Contributing Reviewer
May 6th 2014


24098 Comments


- Green Baron

Green Baron
May 6th 2014


20325 Comments


shit I just realized he used that as the summary first, damn I thought I was the first to make that pun

Electric City
Staff Reviewer
May 6th 2014


15743 Comments


viney my god i missed you

TheGreatQ
May 6th 2014


1554 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I previewed this on iTunes and it sounds like it will be getting a high rating from me once I listen to it for real.

Digging: Somos - Temple of Plenty

Metalstyles
Staff Reviewer
May 6th 2014


8391 Comments


Agreed with Aids, good to have you writing again, you have one of the more unique voices on the site. Not sure this would be my thing, but I'll give that "Bored in the City" track a go and see where that leads me.

Irving
Staff Reviewer
May 6th 2014


7321 Comments


JVINEY IN THE HOUSE

SharkTooth
May 6th 2014


6437 Comments


Fantastic review as always Viney

Digging: Astrokraut - Astrokraut

SlMBOLlC
May 8th 2014


5296 Comments


this is actually their band name holy shit

Arcade
Contributing Reviewer
May 8th 2014


3360 Comments


Fuck.

good review/good writer/good music

Digging: Viet Cong - Viet Cong

menawati
Contributing Reviewer
May 10th 2014


16125 Comments


tweenies

menawati
Contributing Reviewer
May 10th 2014


16125 Comments


i hate you, i wish i could write reviews as fun to read as that

Arcade
Contributing Reviewer
May 10th 2014


3360 Comments


Too many paragraphs


have you ever even read a JViney review? It's not a JViney review without 15 sentences and 13 paragraphs

JViney
Staff Reviewer
May 11th 2014


322 Comments

Album Rating: 3.3

I'm an actual journalist by day. Hence the style.

Arcade
Contributing Reviewer
May 11th 2014


3360 Comments


What do you write for? I'd love to read; your reviews here are some of my favourite

JViney
Staff Reviewer
May 12th 2014


322 Comments

Album Rating: 3.3

Thank you for the kind words! I write for my city's local 'papers, but due to start with a website writing about arts, design, literature etc. If you have Twitter my handle is @jjviney and I always link my stuff from there.

Omaha
Staff Reviewer
May 15th 2014


10382 Comments


Viney actually is one of the columnists for MetalSucks

Digging: Thou - Heathen



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy