De La Soul
Smell The DA.I.S.Y.


4.5
superb

Review

by White Iverson USER (119 Reviews)
May 6th, 2014 | 17 replies


Release Date: 03/27/2014 | Tracklist

Review Summary: We say "Ain't no Dilla like the one I got"/(No one can do shit better)/His beats held the DNA of hip-hop"

In the past few years, I’ve grown pretty attached to TenDJiz’s mashup De La Soulviet, which pairs classic verses from the Plug trio with jazz music from the Soviet Union. It’s because of this album that my waning interest in De La Soul was renewed, for, after a more than a decade of stagnant releases from the group itself, I had something to breathe life into their classic material as well as some of the more recent stuff which, on its own merits, was blasé at best.

It’s been a few years since De La Soulviet, but I’m content, because De La Soul did one of those BitTorrent things, and now the world has been introduced to Smell The DA.I.S.Y., a new tape full of vibrant material produced entirely by the late, great, and completely irreplaceable J Dilla. There’s a reason why I chose a quote from “Goes With The Word,” De La Soul’s tribute to Dilla on this tape, as the summary for this review. “We say ‘Ain’t no Dilla like the one I got'/(No one can do shit better)/His beats held the DNA of hip-hop/And kept it hot like a thermal sweater/You can’t duplicate it, so just leave it alone/Nah, you can’t duplicate the sound boy/He had the universe’s sound, but the D was his home (Motown)"- I thoroughly believe this to be one of the most powerful and impactful sets of rap lyrics I’ve come across in years. It’s unfortunate that on livemixtapes, a popular hip-hop mixtape hosting site that determines popularity of releases by points garnered by up or down voting, while the latest Young Thug tape easily breaks into the thousands, I can’t even say for sure Smell The DA.I.S.Y. has even broken one hundred. Not hatin’ on Thug, even if he is the jackass in Guwop’s stable (obligatory Free Gucci plug [haha get it, “plug”]).

As for the rest of the tape, it’s smoov as hell, to put it simply. Posdnous, expectedly, has most of the attention-grabbing bars, but Dave and Maseo both hold it down with the poise and finesse of veteran craftsman, innovators in their trade. The production is fabulous- my cousin Paul said, upon hearing this for the first time, “J’s beats off the bench are better than most producers’ first-stringers.” It’s a true statement. There are tough-as-nails bass-driven rompers like “Vocabulary Spills,” relaxing jazz-hop, and even a foray into the experimental on the last two tracks (the Marvin Jaye mashup is righteous). Honestly, though, if you weren’t already hooked by the idea of hearing fresh Dilla beats, this isn’t for you.



Recent reviews by this author
Wati Heru and Kashaka Dystopia FMMercury Girls Demo
G.L.O.S.S. DemoSheer Mag Sheer Mag
FatGyver Talk To StrangersSupercrush I Don't Want to Be Sad Anymore b/w How Does It...
user ratings (12)
Chart.
3.5
great

Comments:Add a Comment 
Hep Kat
May 6th 2014


17757 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

http://tendjiz.bandcamp.com/album/de-la-soulviet



^^^

De La Soulviet stream if anyone's interested



http://www.livemixtapes.com/mixtapes/27107/de-la-soul-smell-the-daisy.html



^^^



link to this tape. I was wrong, it's at 151 :'(

Digging: Leon Bridges - Coming Home

SharkTooth
May 6th 2014


9120 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Yeah, this thing needed a review, glad to know it was by someone who knows what he's doing

Pos'd

Deviant.
Staff Reviewer
May 6th 2014


31936 Comments


Still need to peep this

Digging: ASC - Imagine The Future

Hep Kat
May 6th 2014


17757 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

thank shawktoof



and yea dev you'd dig it, plenty of stuff to love about this one

Pheromone
May 6th 2014


4058 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

Good review. Just not feeling it ya feel?

Hep Kat
May 6th 2014


17757 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

aw

PappyMason
May 6th 2014


2805 Comments


Nice to see a review for this. The tape is pretty enjoyable.

It's also good to see that De La Soul have been pretty active recently. They are legends.

Digging: Global Communication - 76:14

LambsBread
May 6th 2014


5109 Comments


Who is Marvin Jaye?

No offense but besides the last paragaph of this review, its no good. Doesn't tell anything about the
album or group besides J Dilla produced this and its better than their past shit. It's cool to
see a dope group getting reviewed, but De La deserves better.

I don't really care though, thanks for showing me this album.

SharkTooth
May 6th 2014


9120 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Didn't he rec this to you a long time back?

MisterTornado
May 6th 2014


4507 Comments


Saw this and I thought it was some low-key no bullshit techno artist on L.I.E.S. putting out a super
secret debut EP who just happened to name the project De La Soul

zakalwe
May 6th 2014


11294 Comments


Fallin'
JUDGEMENT NIGHT!!!!!

Digging: The Wake - Here Comes Everybody

LordePots
May 6th 2014


16007 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

havent been too interested in de la souls newest work but ill check this for 90's sake

Digging: Erick Sermon - No Pressure

Phlegm
May 6th 2014


7089 Comments


d($_$)b

Digging: ASC - Imagine The Future

LambsBread
May 7th 2014


5109 Comments


Actually for a mixtape review this isn't bad at all, I forgot this isn't an lp and wanted to hear some themes and shit.

Deviant.
Staff Reviewer
May 7th 2014


31936 Comments


And mixtapes aren't allowed to do that?

LambsBread
May 7th 2014


5109 Comments


this isn't as cohesive as their LPs is what I meant

HalfManHalfAmazing
January 13th 2015


1798 Comments


I actually peeped the De La Soulveit stuff, Soviet-era jazz and soul is way more upbeat and happy than i was expecting. lol



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy