The Verve
The Verve


4.5
superb

Review

by TheSpaceMan USER (17 Reviews)
April 30th, 2014 | 31 replies


Release Date: 1992 | Tracklist

Review Summary: A debut light-years ahead of their later material

The Verve have gone through many stylistic changes throughout their years, but the unfortunate truth is most will only know the band through their hit single "Bittersweet Symphony". This is, as it turns out, just a weak effort off the even weaker album Urban Hymns. Where The Verve truly blossomed was in their early years, and it’s remarkable that a debut light-years ahead of their later material shows where it all began. This is a classic example of psychedelic rock at its most tranquil and subtle.

Before The Verve were writing infectious Britpop tunes to be played endlessly in department stores across the globe, they were crafting some of the psychedelic scene’s most overlooked gems. This EP’s simplicity isn’t to be laughed at, because it feels a hundred times more mature then any cookie-cutter Britpop single ever could. How the band managed to begin on such a high note with little to no acclaim is made even sadder when you realize they achieved the majority of success with their least innovative work. Songs like the 10 minute closer “Feel” seduce you like a drug binge with a perfect woman; the undeniable beauty and sensual elegance of the moment renders you in a state of blissful content as you go along for the ride. The smooth embrace and soft voices beg to be explored further and further as each new layer is peeled away and left exposed.

The EP is as hazy as the cover art it adorns, and that’s what makes it so incredible. The short collection of songs transcends the thin barrier between psychedelic music and the drugs they stem from, and believe me when I say I am no stranger to either recreations. The mesmerizing bass lines handle most of the rhythm work on the album while tripped out melodies glide across subtle guitar leads and ethereal singing, creating one of the most absorbing and glossy shoegaze efforts of the early 90s. This can be attributed as one of its strongest characteristics, because while My Bloody Valentine’s Loveless was paving the way for the scene with its roaring and chaotic textures, it was this EP that truly showcased the gorgeous and tranquil melodies that the genre was capable of.

Each song is flawless in filling the atmosphere of any setting with a fog of surrealism. The echo and reverb drenched music seeps through the speakers and carries with it the experience of a drug-induced sedation. The band clearly emphasized the effects of the drugs they were on while recording this, and with droning pop they politely beckon the listeners to join in. So whether or not the record is playing in a hot-boxed dorm room, in the swirling hotel walls at the end of an acid trip, or just for a late night drive down a misty highway, its listeners will not be left sober. I highly recommend this short and sweet EP to any fan of psychedelic rock.



Recent reviews by this author
Akara The World BeyondSpiritualized Ladies and Gentlemen We Are Floating in Space
Colour Haze TempelThe Flower Kings Space Revolver
T2 It'll All Work Out in BoomlandThe Paper Kites States
user ratings (68)
Chart.
4.2
excellent

Comments:Add a Comment 
MisterTornado
Contributing Reviewer
April 30th 2014


4507 Comments


This needed some words. The Verve were so fantastic in their early years (this and A Storm in Heaven ~ with a few scattered gems after that)

TheSpaceMan
April 30th 2014


2754 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

I agree, surprised this didnt have a review, I like A Storm in Heaven a bit more then this but they
are both fantastic albums

MisterTornado
Contributing Reviewer
April 30th 2014


4507 Comments


I always wish the mid '90s incarnation of Britpop was more like this

Rowan5215
April 30th 2014


28834 Comments


Short but sweet review
Love this EP would be even better with the full versions of the songs
And I've only heard their first three and A Northern Soul was one of the worst albums I've ever listened to

Digging: Sharon Van Etten - Are We There

TheSpaceMan
April 30th 2014


2754 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

thanks dude, its a short and sweet EP so theres no need in over compensating

you've heard their best then honestly, but they do have some really great hooks in their later britpop-focused era... and I'm sure you've heard bittersweet symphony at least once in your life without realizing it lol

Rowan5215
April 30th 2014


28834 Comments


Oh yeah I've definitely heard Bittersweet Symphony
Its ok but god Ashcroft's voice is so fucking dull and boring in the later albums I can barely listen to him
Having said that, The Drugs Don't Work is a beautiful song so maybe I should check UH

TheSpaceMan
April 30th 2014


2754 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

yeah his voice fits when hes just adding backdrops and distant singing, but he isn't the best frontman which makes their poppy stuff hard to swallow... though his singing in Slide Away might be the catchiest thing ever

Rowan5215
April 30th 2014


28834 Comments


He's fine on this and Storm but on A Northern Soul he was painfully boring, like the album

KILL
April 30th 2014


72280 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

holy shit you rock dude i was gonna review this but u saved me the effort wow good reviews lately wow someone review the colour of spring next and my life is complete

Digging: Throwing Muses - Throwing Muses

ksoflas
April 30th 2014


459 Comments


" The short collection of songs transcends the thin barrier between psychedelic music and the drugs they stem from, and believe me when I say I am no stranger to either recreations".
You said it all with just one sentence.
Great job with the review. Pos'd.

TheSpaceMan
April 30th 2014


2754 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

thanks guys, and KILL you pushed me to get this awhile ago in the Storm in Heaven thread so you basically recruited me to review it

wacknizzle
April 30th 2014


13683 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Sweet Spaceman, bout time this got a review. Ep rules so hard, I jam this and A Storm In Heaven frequently while driving late at night baked as fuck. Pos'd

Digging: Phobocosm - Deprived

TheSpaceMan
April 30th 2014


2754 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

hell yeah, I blast The Sun The Sea at full volume when I'm cruising down backroads after a nice bake

avonbarksdale221
May 1st 2014


8265 Comments


Nice rev spacebro should check this

Rowan5215
May 1st 2014


28834 Comments


Do it barksdale

TheSpaceMan
May 1st 2014


2754 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

cheers man I'm sure you'll dig it

KILL
June 8th 2014


72280 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

a man called sun is so fucking nice

Verm
June 8th 2014


1002 Comments


Tbh haven't checked this, love most of the stuff made my richard so I will give this a chance

KILL
June 8th 2014


72280 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

this is their best shit so

KILL
June 8th 2014


72280 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

damn i gota find the rest

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=1X8XepBbGq0



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy