Erlang Kovata
Shattered


4.2
excellent

Review

by Thompson D. Gerhart STAFF
April 25th, 2014 | 9 replies | 2,198 views


Release Date: 04/05/2014 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Playing on your sense of nostalgia without ever treading into the realm of imitation.

There's something distinctly vintage about Shattered. Not in that normal "vintage" sense of "oh, wow, Billy, it sounds like a true successor to [[insert '80s metal band name here]]'s best album!" sense, but in the sense that Shattered earnestly feels like a standout album from the days when thrash was king.

From the sampled wind whooshing that opens the album on "Death of the Sun" to its pit opening verse riff, you get a whiff of balls-out old school Megadeth and Metallica that only leads to more and more close-to-the-roots metal as Shattered progresses. Tensions established by fight riffs mount and explode with the snarling bite of the trio's low-end trade-off and gang vocals, which bring a Bobby Blitz punch to burly chants reminiscent of Mastodon. This right here, folks, is the real deal.

From start to finish, Erlang Kovata put on an impressive display of power and presence, especially for a trio. With several tracks that pass the 5 minute mark without wearing thin, that's saying a lot. In fact, in terms of brevity and hand-chiseled, rough-hewn aggression, Shattered draws a lot of comparison to ...And Justice For All in all of the most positive ways.

It should come as no surprise, then, that Shattered is an album that's heavy from every angle. The group does a fantastic job of keeping their weighty sound anchored down with exceptional bass lines that punch, pummel, and keep you moving while thrashy guitars utilize an '80s high-end fuzz and low-end crunch that damn near incites a riot. The package is wrapped up nicely and neatly by drummer Mike Podhaizer's tight and technical rhythms that beat sense into chaos and chaos into your sense of security around every corner with tasteful solos in songs like "Death of the Sun" and calculated engine starters like the intro to "Burn the City." The entire sound plays on your sense of nostalgia without ever treading into the realm of imitation, stuffing brutality you can stomach down your throat by the fistful.

The solos here are memorable, the chants are easy to get swept up in, and the rhythms here will implant themselves in your brain. Barring a slight production hiccup (the instruments seem to fade out when vocals enter, which can get a little frustrating if you're listening through headphones), everything from the heavy, power metal chants of "Troll" to the raw aggression of "Burn the City" will make you want to grow out your hair, slap on some leather pants and punch your neighbor. What's not to love?



Recent reviews by this author
Rx Bandits Gemini, Her MajestyChris Letchford Lightbox
Hoth OathbreakerMarty Friedman Inferno
Casualties of Cool Casualties of CoolAlthea Eleven
user ratings (1)
4.2
excellent

Comments:Add a Comment 
AtomicWaste
Staff Reviewer
April 25th 2014



1982 Comments

Album Rating: 4.2

The band are streaming the album here on youtube:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=NTXimrLo-WQ

"Death of the Sun" is catchy as all hell.

Digging: Rx Bandits - Gemini, Her Majesty

Voivod
Staff Reviewer
April 25th 2014



5921 Comments


Good review mate, I will check the stream asap.

Digging: Essence Beyond - Carnivalism

PunchforPunch
April 25th 2014



5918 Comments


K-thrash huh

AtomicWaste
Staff Reviewer
April 25th 2014



1982 Comments

Album Rating: 4.2

The band is at least 2 expats, so not really.

menawati
Contributing Reviewer
April 25th 2014



15800 Comments


really enjoyable, production sounds pretty bad on the youtube stream though

Digging: Synaesthesia (UK) - Synaesthesia

NinoKuni
April 25th 2014



198 Comments


"Tensions established by fight riffs mount and explode with the snarling bite of the trio's low-end trade-off and gang vocals"

Tensions mount and explode? I get the expression 'The tension is mounting' (suspense is building) but the exploding bit doesn't make sense in this context because that's like saying 'suspense builds and explodes'. Also, what is a fight riff?

"From start to finish, Erlang Kovata put on an impressive display of power and presence"

Awkward phrasing again. An impressive display of presence just sounds weird. I'd reword it like this maybe: "An impressive display of power and their presence is greatly felt". Even then it seems like a weird thing to note.

AtomicWaste
Staff Reviewer
April 26th 2014



1982 Comments

Album Rating: 4.2

Saying "power and presence" is perfectly acceptable and I think a powerful presence is worth noting. Despite your inclination, it is not awkward phrasing. No, I'm not just trying to be a defensive dick, that's just how it is. Your rephrasing sounds more awkward. Sorry, it's true.

"Tensions mount and explode" indicates that the fight riffs and vocals build up and release tension (in a relatively powerful way). A fight riff is an aggressive riff that may make you want to fight (as you might expect).

I'm sure you mean well (actually, with the Sputnik userbase, I'm not), but this is a shot at being far too nitpicky.

NinoKuni
April 26th 2014



198 Comments


You didn't say it was a 'powerful presence,' that would be different from saying 'power and presence,' but I agree that it's hardly worth arguing over.

The latter thing is equally nitpicky and I gladly concede that, I just thought this was a site with people receptive to constructive criticisms and it's one of those things that stuck out at me. At any rate, when something is too tense I assure you it does not 'explode'.

I do mean well, I assure you. I like your reviews from what I've seen so far, just offering some feedback is all. I'll be downloading this at some point. Been a while since I listened to thrash

TheSpirit
April 26th 2014



17192 Comments


Sorry, but saying "fight riff" is ridiculous. Rest of the review is pretty good.

Digging: vhmnt / blsphm - vhmnt / blsphm



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2013 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy