Devil You Know
The Beauty of Destruction


3.0
good

Review

by dismember55 USER (6 Reviews)
April 24th, 2014 | 48 replies


Release Date: 04/25/2014 | Tracklist

Review Summary: What do you get when you form a supergroup of renown Metalcore musicians? Apparently a decent album which also lacks major potential

Nuclear Blast seems to be hosting a party of metal supergroups in 2014. As we've seen in the past, supergroups are hit or miss, more often falling into the latter. Devil You Know falls right in-between the two on their debut album, "The Beauty of Destruction."

It was great news for many when word spread Howard Jones would be returning to the music scene with a new band featuring John Sankey on drums (Divine Heresy, Devolved, etc.) and Francesco Artusato of All Shall Perish on guitar. Followers soon found the band streaming on demo version of "Shut it Down," and immediately expectations were high, and many people were on the edge of their seats, looking forward to hear what would come. Would it surpass expectations? Would it be just awful? Or would it be a predictable effort?
When singles "Seven Years Alone" and "A New Beginning" surfaced, those questions were answered bluntly... Yes.

Knowing the where each of the band members have been, and within the genre (metalcore) itself, rarely does the album stray away from a single, immobile comfort zone. Be it the screamed verses and clean choruses of Jones (clean vocals are extremely overproduced on this album... Then again, it's to be expected from Nuclear Blast to be set on overproducing.), the machine gun-like drums of Sankey, or the low tuned also machine gun-like riffs of Artusato.

And that's exactly where "The Beauty of Destruction" suffers. The failure of wanting to break from a comfort zone makes almost the entire album blend together. Upon this, songs seem to lead towards one or two band(s)'s influence(s) (mainly KSE and Sankey's various projects), rather than taking some of each and combining it into one, unique sound. Take both of these factors, and you're left with a lack of potential.

This doesn't mean the album is terrible by any means, as there are still positives to combat the negatives. While still pondering which band will influence which songs more, Devil You Know seems to work as a tightly knitted group very well.
Howard Jones also has improved since we last heard him on a full album (2009's KSE II), regaining some of the force in his voice that we heard when he first joined KSE, and Blood Has Been Shed.

The songs themselves meander back and forth, and in and out of the questions posed earlier. We hear predictability used negatively (A New Beginning and Seven Years Alone for example), predictability used positively (A Mind Insane, Embracing the Torture and Shut it Down), passable tracks (It's Over, My Own and Crawl From the Dark being the least interesting ones here), and the ones that shine above the rest (For the Dead and Broken, I Am the Nothing, and As Bright As the Darkness).

"The Beauty of Destruction" showcases what many debuts are in this age of music: a solid effort that still could have some of its dents hammered out. Hopefully in the future we will see more potential put to use rather than the plodding back and forth in the comfort zone we saw here.

Album Streaming Here: http://www.metalinjection.net/av/full-album-stream/devil-you-knows-new-album-the-beauty-of-destruction-streaming-in-full



Recent reviews by this author
Killer Be Killed Killer Be KilledFear Factory Mechanize
Avenged Sevenfold Hail to the KingTrivium Vengeance Falls
Five Finger Death Punch The Wrong Side of Heaven... Vol. 2
user ratings (53)
Chart.
2.9
good

Comments:Add a Comment 
MaySun91
April 24th 2014


15 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5 | Sound Off

Pos'd. Album is super boring.

Digging: Slipknot - .5: The Gray Chapter

dismember55
April 24th 2014


58 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Thank you.

They could've done so much more with this album

heyadam
April 24th 2014


1715 Comments


Good review. I love Howard's vocals in general, but the music is so generic. They have a couple cool solos, but overall I'm pretty disappointed. I'll probs listen to it a few more times before I rate it, but it looks like a high 2.5 for me

Digging: Aaron West and The Roaring Twenties - We Don't Have Each Other

Toondude10
April 24th 2014


4124 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Not bad, but here are a few things.

Merge the first two paragraphs since they seem to talk about the same thing.

Be it the screamed verses and clean choruses of Jones (clean vocals are extremely overproduced on this album... Then again, it's to be expected from Nuclear Blast to be set on overproducing.),


get rid of the sentence in the parentheses at place it on the fifth paragraph. Rewrite it to something like: "Howard Jones has improved since Killswitch Engage's second self-titled album, but even so his vocals seem overproduced in this album overall, which is a rather nasty habit for Nuclear Blast when producing their albums."

Italicize the albums ( use this: [ i ] no spaces between the brackets [ /i ]) and identify songs with quotation marks.

Elaborate more on the last two paragraphs because they're really vague. What makes the songs good or bad, you can't just say that an album is good or bad and expect people to believe you. Also, restate your arguments in the concluding paragraph rather than just "summing it up."

Get rid of the album stream link in the review as well. We already know where to find it and if you want, put it in the comments.

An alright review, you just need to elaborate more on what you're talking about. I'd read some staff reviews of similar artists to get a better idea.

Digging: Heaven Shall Burn - Veto

TheMoreira
April 24th 2014


7182 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

Good review man, you grasp the essence of the album pretty well, pos'd.

Diamondize
April 24th 2014


1367 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

Fun album, but that's about it.

Toondude10
April 24th 2014


4124 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

A New Beginning is actually pretty good. The rest is just meh...That's all I have to say about it.

TheMoreira
April 24th 2014


7182 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

First 3 tracks and A Mind Insane are interesting, the rest is just meh. That's my take

Futures
April 24th 2014


11680 Comments


Apparently a solid album which also lacks major potential

this makes no sense

Digging: Mock Orange - Nines & Sixes

Nocturnal
April 24th 2014


1329 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

So boring.

ianjulian
April 24th 2014


632 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

supergroups

Digging: Unearth - Watchers of Rule

Thatoneguy335
April 25th 2014


10 Comments


Very boring. Only track I liked at all is Embracing The Torture and that's mostly just due to the fact that I enjoy the chorus, even if it is extremely overproduced.

Diamondize
April 25th 2014


1367 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

Props for having worst band name, album title, and artwork. They should at least be proud of that.

Progger6009
April 25th 2014


1123 Comments


Album has Howard, automatic 2.5 for his performance, but its only .5 music to accompany him. Too bad, hope the get better. Its really been a pretty bad year for core music. Whitechapel's new album is kinda poopy.

Toondude10
April 25th 2014


4124 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Meh, it's only April, give it time. Besides there have been a few good records so far.

Diamondize
April 25th 2014


1367 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

Nah dude, this year's been pretty good so far. There's the new Plebeian Grandstand, Idylls, Lorelei, Gridlink, Locktender, Direwolves, Alaskan. Probably more I'm forgetting. A lot of stuff to look forward to, the new Enabler, This Or The Apocalypse, Aegaeon, Ascariasas, Thy Art Is Murder, and Young And In The Way albums are a few I can think of off the top of my head.

TheMoreira
April 25th 2014


7182 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

Ascariasis are bound to drop something gorgeous.

Diamondize
April 25th 2014


1367 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

Can't wait to 4 it.

ExplosiveOranges
April 25th 2014


3158 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

This was a bit of letdown for me, since I love both KSE and ASP. There was so much potential for this album, but it ended up being just decent. Good review.

Digging: Winterfylleth - The Divination Of Antiquity

Arcade
Contributing Reviewer
April 26th 2014


2908 Comments


I saw these guys opening for A7X and I really hated it. Nobody seemed to be gelling with them and whenever Howard Jones would try and get us to 'start a fucking pit' people would just heckle. Really bad performance

Digging: Botch - We Are the Romans



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy