Moneen
The Red Tree


4.5
superb

Review

by Boxes Of Cats USER (11 Reviews)
April 12th, 2006 | 33 replies | 9,379 views


Release Date: 2006 | Tracklist


2 of 4 thought this review was well written

With much success in the underground Moneen has risen to the challenge of trying to get themselves known to the general public. After switching labels, now signed under Vagrant I feel Moneen will definately get bigger as they have already done so with their new songs. I will say first off that this album easily tops their 2 prior albums and would be for anyone that likes alternative or punk. These songs are as well shorter in length but still keep up those excessively song names.

The opener "Don't Ever Tell Locke What He Can't Do", has a great built-up intro, key for getting your interest right away. Moneen waste no time getting a little heavy for the start, the song rises up to well-ranged vocals done by Kenny backed by a great guitar riff in the chorus, the vocals get very agressive before the last chorus, and then finish with Kenny. The next one, "If Tragedy's Appealing... Then Disaster's An Addiction" is one of the few that go back similarily to Moneen's punk roots, with modern punk chords done by both guitars and original lyrics, the song never slows down and keeps you going. Track 3, "Bleed And Blister (Version 3)" has a history behind it, the original was released on MySpace and the second version (which is similar to the first but with an added bridge) was featured on The Switcheroo Series with fellow Canadians, Alexisonfire. The third is not much different, simply redone with a different style to it, sped up and no slow bridge.

"The Day No One Needed To Know" and has a darker feel to it, signifying the vocals with grungy guitar in the back and the occasional riff, similar to that of an upcoming track. The next is a soft one. With a little less appealing vocals but at the same time very melodic guitar. The song goes through three stages, each with more of a full sound than the last, and the third being heaviest. Track 6, "The Frightening Reality Of The Fact That We Will All Have To Grow Up And Settle Down One Day" is by far the best on the CD, with a killer guitar riff, backed by solemn-sounding power chords, which is all put together with singing that really shows off Kenny's abilities in singing and writing.

For the last 2 songs we really slow down, track 7 "The Politics in Living and The Shame in Dying", track 8, The East has Stolen What the West May Want" and track 9 "Seasons Fade...Fever's Rage...It's A Slow Decay" being the transition songs, track 7 is overall very similar to track 4, but with a softer chorus, faster paced in parts and less dark. Track 8 is a little heavier but just as slow in parts and builds up multiple times and features a melodic intro. In Track 9 we finally hear the powerful voice of Hippie Chris, backed by somewhat heavy guitar, with kenny singing the softer parts.

And now this is where it completely slows down, as well as loses your interest a little. Track 10, "There Are A Million Reasons For Why This May Not Work...And Just One Good One For Why It Will" is much like track 5, same unappealing singing singing and softer synth guitar. This song as well gets heavier at the end for a closer. We then get to the album closer, "The Song I Swore Never To Sing". This song is my least favourite on the album and not the best closer. It is very soft throughout the whole song with quiet vocals and simply a single piano for isntrumental.

Overall I would give this album 4.5, it changes a lot and there are many songs that are not in any way similar and keep you very interested and rockin' for a good while. Definately a good listen, very glad I bought it, also note that this album is not 25 bucks, like the first 2, and is only 11 at most. A few songs are not done as well and lose your interest, but aside from that, this was an insane album.



Recent reviews by this author
Yellowcard Paper WallsMatthew Good Avalanche
Matthew Good Band The Audio of BeingWeezer Weezer
Weezer The Green AlbumAlexisonfire Watch Out!
user ratings (165)
Chart.
3.9
excellent
other reviews of this album
Spec (3.5)
The album may not be for everyone but it's a solid release none the less that will no doubt, take so...

Aaron (4)
You try to say we can't; well yes I can!...

Jeremy Price (4.5)
...


Comments:Add a Comment 
tom79
April 12th 2006



3347 Comments


Moneens post punk? hmm. Anyway good review. I don't like this band too much, although tons of kids at school seem to.

Digging: Bent Outta Shape - Stray Dog Town

analrightstart
April 13th 2006



96 Comments


you're review was a fairly standard walk through of the album, and for anyone who doesnt know moneen (not many people seem to where i'm from) they wouldnt have a clue what they sounded like from this review. you missed talking about the epic quality of the songs and that the production of this album is incredible.
having said that, this isnt a bad review.

"are we really happy with who we are right now" will always be my favourite moneen cd i think, but this is definately a good listen.



Ganondorf
April 13th 2006



2 Comments


First song title - Lost reference :O

mybrotherthecow
April 13th 2006



79 Comments


you said if you like punk and/or alternative you'd like these guys. I dont agree at all. I like almost all alternative (and a lot of REAL punk) yet i hate this band. They're one of the biggest turds i ever heard.
Nice review.

Rines
April 16th 2006



1 Comments


.moneen.'s one of the best live shows in the league, hands down - I highly question how someone can't appreciate their stage presence, regardless of if you like their music or not. In person they're down to earth, friendly Canadian boys who love the music they make and the fans who dig it. Meanwhile, the guy who claims he likes almost all "alternative music" needn't pigeonhole how totally un-eclectic your tastes assumably are...haha..."I like almost all alternative" - sounds like a billboard for some top 40 station.
P.S. Decent review...keep it up; spread the word

Riley12988
April 19th 2006



109 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Moneen's musicianship can't be faulted, nor can be their sincerity. The only thing holding someone back from liking them is some minor discrimination or some disdain for progression.

I think I'll always like "Are we Really Happy..." better than this. Just kidding, this is definitely a step up.This Message Edited On 04.26.06

Kristamarie__x
April 25th 2006



1 Comments


Great Review!



Riley12988
April 26th 2006



109 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I love how they know exactly the right time to throw in a phrase or mode change to keep the songs interesting. This is excellent songwriting.

Two-Headed Boy
May 1st 2006



4527 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

This is a really good album, but it's nothing too special.

Nice review, definitely an improvement from you're Green Album review.

jaredrl
May 16th 2006



99 Comments


These guys just fucking rock. Serious if you "hate" this band your a serious fag like mybrotherthecow. Just Canadian musicians putting out good music cause the love doing it and are way better then alot of bands out there. I really liked their sophmore but the red tree fucking rocks. First three tracks will blow yourmind.


Patrick
June 24th 2006



1891 Comments


i'm pretty sick of really long song titles. it's just not funny.

Two-Headed Boy
June 24th 2006



4527 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Is it even supposed to be funny? Hm...

thislifeissacrifice
July 16th 2006



67 Comments


I love moneen! been a big fan for a while! From where i'm from their's only only one other person i know that likes moneen! But I love them!

Awesome review but i do not like this album as much as are we realey happy with who we are right now? ! i have to say that is some of their best work!

Ohh yah and for anyone who has are we realey happy with who we are right now? (if you havent noticed) that on the back their are some letters colored differently. It spells out a phrase "we are who we are" responding to the question are we realey happy with who we are right now? : )
Kick @$$ review!This Message Edited On 07.16.06This Message Edited On 07.16.06

P.S jaredrl YOU ROCKK!
This Message Edited On 07.16.06

rpnrwd
July 31st 2006



1 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

To like something or not is a personal opinion. However if you can not appreciate the musicianship and quality moneen puts out your opinion means squat. This album is fantastic and does a brilliant job of progressing their musical talents. "Are we really happy..." was a break through for them and this just follows that with a perfect maturing process. Production quality on this album is superb and I would give "The Red Tree" a 4.5. Good review and to anyone who hasn't yet go out and see these guys live, it is ten times better then listening to the album.

AWilhelmPetter
July 31st 2006



1 Comments


i think this album is supurb. it's a great listen.

thislifeissacrifice
August 21st 2006



67 Comments


Ohh Yes Also On this Cd Their\'s A Secret Track!! On The Very First Song Of You Rewind Past 0 You Will Get A Little Track that Kenny Made One Day At A bus Stop! None Of The Othr Guy\'s In Moneen KNew About it Either!! It Was Ment To Connect The Last Song On \"Are We Realey Happy With Who We Are Right Now?\" With This Cd!! Yeah It\'s CoolThis Message Edited On 08.21.06

stinkypoptart
August 24th 2006



1169 Comments


i didnt know this band was pop punk. sweet review.

thescort
March 29th 2007



2 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

This was a horribly written review. I'm sorry, but it is just plain awful. This statement is not a response to your feelings about the band. I am saying this in response the questionable quality of your prose and of the irrelevence and vagueness of the majority of the review. I do not mean to crush dreams or be mean but a poorly written review does nothing for the reader or the band regardless of whether it is positive or negative.

Mikedrummer
January 16th 2009



276 Comments


i can totally appreciate that these guys are good at what they do, but it's what they do i dont like - their music just has a kind of irritating edge to it. and the drums on this album sound like shit to me (production wise, he is a good drummer though)

MFORCE310
April 2nd 2010



1 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

one of the worst reviews i have ever read in my life. completely subjective.

by the way, my opinion on the album has nothing to do with how i feel towards the review.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2013 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy