Save Us From The Archon
Thereafter


4.0
excellent

Review

by Tony Li USER (36 Reviews)
April 20th, 2014 | 58 replies | 6,995 views


Release Date: 04/20/2014 | Tracklist

Review Summary: The maturation of a youthfully restless sound

9 of 9 thought this review was well written

One thing that will be immediately striking to fans of the band is that Thereafter is notably softer overall than any of the band's previous records. Unlike previous EP Some Things We Carry, Always, Save Us From the Archon has honed the more ambient side of their sound, adding in more relaxed interludes instead of operating at the same constant breakneck pace of their usual fare. Take heed, however, because the highly technical and melodic math shredding is still present in copious amounts; it's just counterbalanced and contrasted effectively by a previously underused soft side of the band.

This expansion of sound allows for an interesting stop-start dynamic, and the style of music the band plays allows for very mercurial time signatures and sudden eruptions of noise; Save Us From the Archon traverses this field very well, and the bombastic eruptions of highly technical instrumental work are all the more effective when buffered with the relaxing moods set by the ambient interludes. New experiments in texture also lend Thereafter a more matured feel than previous works; the first track alone contains a high amount of deviation from the usual "wall of noise" doctrine, throwing in a surprising acoustic guitar buildup as well as a jazz-reminiscent break during the sonic assault portion of the song. The remainder of the album is along the same lines, and the band simply does a lot more with their sound than usually expected of a math rock band, traversing previously uncharted territory with grace. Production-wise, there is a notable decrease in sharpness from the production on Some Things We Carry, Always, but that isn't necessarily a detriment; Thereafter appears to be more professionally produced, with more balance in the mix. It isn't as piercing as the EP mastering, but it panders well to the less technical, structurally-focused side of the music.

Thereafter ends up playing like less of a record and more like a journey; like any other Save Us From the Archon album, it will take time to fully appreciate the small nuances and miniscule details, and there are a lot of musical ideas here thrown in like some sort of orgasmic puree. Addictive to math rock junkies, yet paced calmly enough to invite extended listening, Thereafter is a remarkable example of the evolution of talent.



Recent reviews by this author
How to Dress Well What Is This Heart?Lana Del Rey Ultraviolence
The Amity Affliction Let the Ocean Take MeClosure in Moscow Pink Lemonade
Adestria Gilded HeartsDionaea Still
user ratings (33)
Chart.
3.8
excellent
other reviews of this album
Mike Denison (4)
A stirring tale told through the lens of instrumental acrobatics...

Daniel Davis (4)
The most focused and honest interpretation of SUFTA's sound yet: nothing more, and nothing less....


Comments:Add a Comment 
Azn.
April 20th 2014



5563 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

well that was a fast pos, cheers to whoever it is lol

stream: saveusfromthearchon.bandcamp.com/album/thereafter-2

originally posted on http://thesonicsensory.wordpress.com



Digging: Trophy Scars - Never Born, Never Dead

paradox1216
April 20th 2014



430 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

twas I, good review

Digging: Braid - No Coast

mryrtmrnfoxxxy
April 20th 2014



11926 Comments


recd by reviewer has me in luv already nd i havent even jammed

Digging: Various Artists - In Utero, In Tribute

swordsforhands
April 20th 2014



392 Comments


Didn't even know they had something new coming, was listening to Undergrowth's Jaws the other day. Great band, should listen to this soon. Have a pos.

Digging: Rx Bandits - Gemini, Her Majesty

Calc
April 20th 2014



12005 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

the drums on this are too much, there's no rhyme to them and they don't stop except for the occasional interludy part. pretty much my only gripe.

Digging: Kashiwa Daisuke - April. #02

Azn.
April 20th 2014



5563 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

^^^

that thought had me too, but I found it less of a problem than it was on "Some Things..." because they're much lower in the mix this time around

Calc
April 20th 2014



12005 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

yeah you can really tell their guitarist produced this lol

paradox1216
April 20th 2014



430 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

thankfully the drums sound a lot better in general, they were so fake on the EP

Azn.
April 20th 2014



5563 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

gud shit

it's a shame, I feel like this record will fly under the radar for a lot of people

Diamondize
April 20th 2014



1147 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Didn't know they were going to release something new. Gotta check this.

Digging: Aquilus - Griseus

Cygnatti
April 20th 2014



21349 Comments


how terrible. :x

Digging: The Avalanches - Since I Left You

paradox1216
April 20th 2014



430 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

hopefully our reviews will turn a few people on to them ^_^

Azn.
April 20th 2014



5563 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

yeh, this site has a decent math rock community I think, this totally needs to be more out there

Diamondize
April 20th 2014



1147 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Congrats on the feature. Awesome band.

Toondude10
April 20th 2014



3397 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Congrats on the feature. [2]

I requested it just for the hell of it. Seems interesting, I might give it a listen.

Digging: Hey Rosetta! - Seeds

Toondude10
April 20th 2014



3397 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

It's pretty monotonous since literally almost every track has the same beat and rhythm and ends with an electronic effect but the guitar work is excellent throughout. Sounds like something that should be in an anime or something.

Pretty good album.

Azn.
April 20th 2014



5563 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

whoa, thanks for the feature! appreciate it, y'all

I have a huge soft spot for this band because of their style

paradox1216
April 20th 2014



430 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

congrats on the feature yoooo

SpoonerMcgee
April 20th 2014



57 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

WOA this is some seriously impressive stuff. Very tight musicianship all around, the drums are pretty damn god-like, but I can understand the slight distaste towards its verbosity.

Good review, btw.

ProjectFreak
April 20th 2014



1293 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

hmmmm i really don't like Tera Melos much. But the review itself has convinced me to check it out. good work, pos



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2013 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy